We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must see”

The National Archives Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$125.00*
and up
Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved...
Ranked #28 of 430 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Repository where the most important historical documents of the United States are held, such as the original Declaration of Independence, Bill of Rights, Constitution and the 1297 version of the Magna Carta.
Irvine, California
2 reviews
“Must see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

I can't say enough about The National Archives. To see the Constitution and the Declaration of Independence was such a privilege. The other exhibits were amazing as well. I wish I could have spent more time there. It is a must see in DC.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank 111Kelly111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,573
    630
    210
    43
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pikeville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“If you want to know America....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

I was visiting D.C. for the third time in May. My friend and I were walking down the street and we seen a building that looked as if it would be something we would be interested in touring. We quickly learned this was The United States National Archives. The National Archive has quickly became my favorite D.C. attraction. On my next visit I plan on devoting an entire day to the National Archives. If you can only see the Constitution then it's worth visiting.

However there is so much more to see. The exhibits are as diverse as Richard Nixon's FBI application to Al Capone's draft card. As my title says, if you want to learn America, visit The United States National Archives.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
111 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Part of Our History”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

We, along with our children, wanted to take time to see important parts of History that helped to shape our country. The tour is free and worth the time. There are a lot of good exhibits. Our main reason for stopping here was to see our country's Declaration of Independence, the Constitution, and the Bill of Rights. Such an awesome piece of history for us to see with our children. We spent about a little over an hour touring this building. You can take a guided tour, but we didn't. We felt we saw all we needed and the exhibits were self-explanatory and easy to follow.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 6edith7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
385 reviews
128 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
“Three major historical documents”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

Doesn’t sound like a very interesting tourist site, yet there’s always a lineup of people. No, they’re not all browsing their genealogy. The interest is primarily in three documents: one of the original copies of the Magna Carta, the Declaration of Independence and the Constitution. There are other major documents on display as well, plus exhibits

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lucky_Eddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
386 reviews
116 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Check for special exhibits”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

A few days before our arrival in Washington, I read about "Making their mark: stories through signatures," a collection of signatures that tell our story. We waited in line for about 30 minutes with dozens of school students from Wisconsin and Florida, part of the Washington visitor experience. From John Hancock to John Wilkes Booth to Johnny Cash, we found the solemn and the whimsical. It is a great expression of life in America these few hundred years. Children accompanied by adults providing interpretation will appreciate. On view through early January 2015. I hope to revisit as I really enjoyed it.

Easily accessible by Metro and bus.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nancy2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The National Archives Museum also viewed

 

Been to The National Archives Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing