We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“US Constitution”

The National Archives Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$125.00*
and up
Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved...
Ranked #28 of 430 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Repository where the most important historical documents of the United States are held, such as the original Declaration of Independence, Bill of Rights, Constitution and the 1297 version of the Magna Carta.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“US Constitution”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Great place to see many official documents of the US! It is a well put together museum, and we enjoyed our visit to see the US Constitution as well as the Bill of Rights. The Magna Carta was on display somewhere else when we visited so we were unable to see it this time around. Definitely worth the quick stop in!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jasonlauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,472 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,575
    630
    210
    43
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stop here to see the Declaration of Independence, Bill of Rights, and Constitution! All in the same room, free to get into and it amazing to see! Don't touch the glass that encases the documents and of course no cameras. When we went in November it closed at 5:30, last one admitted at 5. National Archives are also in the building. Didn't have much time to see them however. We had four small children with us and luckly the line to see the documents was not very long. We went in the evening right before it closed. If you have children with you at peak times it may be a little difficult, as there is not much else to see/or do for little ones in the room.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank brynn1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
191 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Glad They are Preserving History We can See”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

The volunteers and employees are very helpful. I looked up documents from World War II - encounter reports from dogfights with the Germans. Fascinating and incredible to be able to see the original documents and photos. I could live there and never get bored. I especially enjoyed the branch in College Park, Maryland. I would make reservations if going into DC.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adventurer2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We only had enough time to look/view the declaration of independence, constitution and bill of rights but that alone was fantastic! To see the originals and the importance these three played in our history is mind blowing. The guards there are all happy to answer questions, so feel free to brush up on their history! Even if you just go in for a few minutes to view these three pieces, you won't leave disappointed. Next time, I hope to look into the research side and gather some history of my family!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ultraviolet56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Magnificent renovation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Just go to the archives and lose yourself in American history--the documentation is one of a kind, the stories are historical and inspiring and you'll learn something, too!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank itsmyturnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The National Archives Museum also viewed

 

Been to The National Archives Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing