We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reserve your time!”

The National Archives Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$40.00*
and up
Taste of DC Segway Tour
Ranked #28 of 442 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Repository where the most important historical documents of the United States are held, such as the original Declaration of Independence, Bill of Rights, Constitution and the 1297 version of the Magna Carta.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Reserve your time!”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

What's not to love about getting to see such important documents like the Declaration and Constitution? It was truly amazing to look at all the history and read letters from our nation's early leaders. Our biggest advice that you really should follow is to go online and book a reserved time. There is a fee of a few dollars but it is beyond worth it. We booked the earliest time and were able to enjoy about ten minutes alone in the rotunda before the first bus load of middle schoolers flooded in. There is a separate entrance for those with reserved times and we did not have to wait in line at all. It made our day!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,560 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,632
    651
    219
    44
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
306 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Our country's history”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

You have to stop here and see the Declaration of Independence. The ink may be fading, even though it is hermetically sealed, but it is the power of what the document stands for, that makes the difference.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank GaDawg44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A MUST see for any American!”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

When I entered this building I couldn't believe how overwhelmed with emotion I became. I started crying just seeing these documents and knowing what they represent to millions. It totally threw me off guard but the documents represent freedom and I was so amazed that they are still here and we are allowed to see them. I didn't see the lengthy lines others talked about but I went in September. The room did have low lighting but that's to help preserve them and I liked it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank OlgaMissouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Had to do it but hard to see”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Didn't reserve a booking but the line was fairly short (10 minute wait to get into the building) then it was 15 minutes before you could view the documents in a very dingy light - not conductive to reading the very faded documents that had extremely fine print. The instructions of NOT seeing the documents in an order was ignored by most and those of us who did flit from one document to another were given evil eyes by those who did the circuit shuffle.
For a non- American it was interesting to see but I didn't need to try and read all in the dark. The paintings and the explanations around the ceiling were a more of a highlight.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Noshtalgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearl City, Hawaii
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“So Dark”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Could barely make out the Constitution document. Once again, its the history of our country there in front of you that makes it real.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lori O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The National Archives Museum also viewed

 

Been to The National Archives Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing