We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If for no other reason than to see the documents.”

The National Archives Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$125.00*
and up
Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved...
Ranked #28 of 428 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Repository where the most important historical documents of the United States are held, such as the original Declaration of Independence, Bill of Rights, Constitution and the 1297 version of the Magna Carta.
St. Pete Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
114 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“If for no other reason than to see the documents.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

The lines are long. The security is tight. The documents are faded and kept in extremely low light. However, having said all of that, this is the location of the actual documents that created our government and our country. The concepts placed onto these pages had not been written down in such a manner prior to this. So, even through all of the problems and grips, it is worth every second of it to see the founding documents.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,569
    629
    210
    43
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneaoplis, MN
Level Contributor
129 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Must see!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

The documents here are unparalleled. An original Magna Carta, The Declaration of Independence, The Constitution, The Emancipation Proclamation, and on and on. Research your family history here, too. And right now they have an amazing exhibit of about the Cuban Missile Crisis, with many hand written papers from JFK and RFK. Truly worth the time.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank davismama2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
“Renovated since last time, confusing at times but great info”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

I really like the national archives to see the original documents of when our country was formed. The front area had been renovated since last time I came and it was somewhat confusing on how to get to those documents. However the path to get to them is filled with a lot of cool information about our countries history and how the archives help us keep a record of that history.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
605 reviews
229 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“Always something to learn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

With its rotating exhibits, the National Archives always has something new to show people. The building of course also houses some of the Nation's most important documents, the Decleration of Independance, and the Bill of Rights. There can be very long lines in the summer, so get there early and get in early. I worked nearby and would be able to walk in during lunch with no line and nobody there in the rotunda, but I doubt many people can do that. This is an important stop to see a real piece of American history, the actual documents which made this country what it is today.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GoodFood88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branchville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
244 reviews
128 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A Must See!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

It's amazing to see the original documents that started this country and made it what it is today. Security took about 5 minutes, but well worth it. We enjoyed quietly admiring all three pieces of history. The gift shop is actually one of the best out of any of the other attractions.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Woohoo451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The National Archives Museum also viewed

 

Been to The National Archives Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing