We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Stop”

Bureau of Engraving and Printing
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Washington DC Legend Daytime Comprehensive Tour
Ranked #54 of 430 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Headquartered in D.C., this is where money is printed.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
147 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Nice Stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Glad we did this but IMO there is no reason to return. My 10yo daughter enjoyed this stop. Very educational. The guide did a great job. The workers were also engaging. The little museum where you wait for the tour is also interesting. It's as good as seeing money being printed can be.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BinkyandJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    254
    132
    49
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
302 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Interesting place to see”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

If you want to see a lot of cash, go here. It gives you a new understanding of what it takes to produce a green back. Too bad you cannot get samples! Enjoy watching and understanding the process.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank GaDawg44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpha Ohio
Level Contributor
125 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Much ado about next to nothing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

First a 10 minute film and then you are walked around a hall that circles the work area... and no work was being done when we were there. You can't seem much and while the guide did a nice job, this is not a "must see"

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank McBible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
144 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Watch The Money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

If you want to see big sheets of money being printed go there. The tour doesn't take long and if you are there before 10 am you can probably get in and out fairly quick. It's one of the places that open early, 9 am. You can't take pictures inside.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Siteseer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“"Chump change"”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

So, I dragged my GF to this, because I love how stuff is made. Well If you're ok with seeing people stand around not working and you're ok with a "guided tour" and your tour guide has the worst voice ever for a tour guide, this just might be your place. If I had to hear the " Chump change" one more time I think I would have lost it. The tour takes about 45 min. They do not tell you that you need to get tickets around the block until you are on the other side of the block so you get to walk around and around just to get inside. Also, it is dirty inside. I would skip this and spend more time in another attraction around DC. There are like 100 better ones.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bureau of Engraving and Printing also viewed

 

Been to Bureau of Engraving and Printing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing