We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of my favorite memorials”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jefferson Memorial

Jefferson Memorial
Book In Advance
More Info
$40.00*
and up
Washington DC Monuments Bike Tour
Ranked #12 of 428 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A 19-foot bronze statue of perhaps the most esteemed founding father sits beneath a columned rotunda in the style of the Roman Pantheon.
Woodbridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of my favorite memorials”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

This memorial is right on the Tidal Basin which gives you a chance to see some really nice views of the city. I love this memorial especially at nigh. During the day it is surrounded by cherry blossom trees and is beautiful.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank diavix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,835 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,304
    1,315
    197
    13
    6
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
91 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Interesting memorial”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

The memorial was interesting, and an impressive building to view (and quite beautiful on the approach). The museum inside was enjoyable. Overall it was worth a visit, but probably not the main highlight of our trip.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Familyof4nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“The views!”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Such a great memorial that Roosevelt helped build. The views from every angle are beautiful. It is a huge monument. IF you are walkign I would suggest renting bicycles (capital bikes is what we chose) so you can get to and from all the monuments in 3-4 hours. this Memorial is further away from all the others, and if you were going to walk, it would be at least a half hour from the mall, each way.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank colleend24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stop on run”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

This memorial is still a spectacular spot to visit, especially while on a run, considering it's right on the water and in close proximity of the Roosevelt and MLK memorial.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank uabericm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
1,377 reviews
935 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 428 helpful votes
“Nice monument”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

This is a very impressive monument that really tells you nothing about either the man or the time he was in. Other that to just see it it seemed like a waist of time to me.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Emil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jefferson Memorial also viewed

 

Been to Jefferson Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing