We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Out of the way but worth it”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Jefferson Memorial

Jefferson Memorial
Book In Advance
More Info
$40.00*
and up
Washington DC Monuments Bike Tour
Ranked #12 of 428 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A 19-foot bronze statue of perhaps the most esteemed founding father sits beneath a columned rotunda in the style of the Roman Pantheon.
Norwalk, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
150 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Out of the way but worth it”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

It's a little out of the way from the rest of the memorials on the mall but the statue of Jefferson is very impressive. The engraved readings are worth reading and being reminded of what our country was found on.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,835 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,304
    1,315
    197
    13
    6
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Yet another of the beautifully done memorials. We spent time here whilst combining walking and a hop on hop off bus.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank gellis1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
144 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A Hike”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

It is out by itself so you'll have a little hike around a lake to it, but you will get some great views. We went to it after visiting the Bureau of Engraving and Printing since they are close to each other. Beautiful memorial to see.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Siteseer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“TJ Just Rocks!”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

OK, I'm partial to Mr. Jefferson. As a local I've been here many, many times and enjoy it most when it's just me there, alone with TJ. I hope you will visit and see what I'm talking about. Also, if you come in the Spring you might be lucky enough to walk around the Tidal Basin that surrounds the memorial. The Basin is lined with the famous cherry trees, a gift to the US from the Emporor of Japan. Truly beautiful! And you can rent a paddle boat and piddle around in the water for an enjoyable day!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelEscapee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hard to find but worth it”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Probably the least visited memorial because is so hard to find it. From Arlington Memorial bridge as you go towards the Lincoln Memorial make right turn and another one. Follow the road close to the water and park between the Potomac River and the Tidal Basin. Walk half a mile to the Jefferson Memorial (after small bridge on your left). The front of the memorial is facing the Tidal Basin.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LeoQuin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jefferson Memorial also viewed

 

Been to Jefferson Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing