We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as pleasant in the new location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Froggy Bottom Pub - CLOSED

Froggy Bottom Pub
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Dupont Circle
Indiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not as pleasant in the new location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We've eaten at the old location (on Pennsylvania Ave) several times and always enjoyed the experience. Our first visit to the new location wasn't so positive. The service was slow throughout--a long time to order, a long time for drinks to arrive, and a particularly long time for food to arrive. In addition, the restaurant and bar now are part of one large room, separately by a half wall. The noise from the bar was overpowering; we could hear each other only with great difficulty. There was a large group at the bar and that no doubt contributed to the noise level. I would go back but if the next experience was the same, I'd scratch this from my list of "go-to" restaurants in the DC area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RVK50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    26
    10
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Service was terrible!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We were seated, waitress took our drink order. Never saw waitress again. 2 tables next to us had drinks delivered to their tables and orders taken! We decided to leave! Don't recommend at all!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“College pub or very young professionals hang out”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled upon froggy bottom around the corner from our hotel in search of a drink after our long Friday night drive to visit dc.

I ordered wine and they informed me that they carry only one bottle of white, red, and pink so you get what they have in that night. Fortunately for me their white was chardonnay.

It was small in size but had a cozy, casual atmosphere. It was decorated uniquely I.e. wall of foreign currency signed and left by those who have visited. There is a food menu and late night menu but we didn't order. Good background music, one pool table and about 5 booths, a bar, and long table booth. We sat at the bar and chatted a bit with the friendly bartender.

Crowd was young professionals and college students.

Hubby got a pitcher of froggy bottom lager for $8.50. My wine was $6.

We were very happy with our find!!

Helpful?
2 Thank Hayley724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great crab cake sandwich”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

We just got in from our drive from North Carolina to dc and were hungry. We ate here because of the location to our hotel. It was good. We both had the crab cake sandwich, which was very good. It wasn't terribly busy in there, which made me hesitant, but it was just fine. The decor is weird, but the waitress was friendly enough and for a decent meal, it was just fine.

Helpful?
Thank chivohn819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
201 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“The best pitcher in DC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

I used to go to this place. The chicken tenders are really good. The Froggy Bottom beer is excellent (it's a brown beer). The service is really good also. The happy hour is the best of Foggy Bottom because you pay $7.5 for a pitcher (five beers!) Its a great place for student budget!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Viajeroconbuengusto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Froggy Bottom Pub also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing