We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish, modern restaurant, as advertised. Excellent service, good food”
Review of ICI Urban Bistro

ICI Urban Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
ICI Urban Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #412 of 3,342 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Dupont Circle
Cross street: 15th St. & H St.
Transit: Mc Pherson square station (orange & blue line)
Description: Both iCi Urban Bistro and Le Bar are as vibrant and cosmopolitan as the District itself. Located one block from Lafayette Square and the White House, The Smithsonian, and other renowned museums and monuments, the Bistro holds its own among the trendy Washington DC list of "places to be seen". The dynamic space welcomes guests with cool, modern ambiance and exciting innovations on traditional French cuisine. You won’t find a more desirable place for business meetings, special occasions, or dinners with friends. There is even a private dining area that accomodates up to 25 people.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

ICI Urban Bistro is located on the street level of the Hotel Sofitel just off Lafayette Square. It is a short walk from the White House. We had an early Friday evening dinner at the restaurant. There was only one other occupied table when we arrived but the others eventually filled as the night went on. The maitre 'd took our coats and directed us to our table. Both he and the waiter were quite welcoming. The busboys filled our water glasses quickly. They served us with a caprese-like amuse-bouche. We had mushroom fricassee and an asparagus/prosciutto dish as appetizers. There was a "healthy option" called "De-Light by Sofitel" that offered low-cal dishes. We enjoyed our seafood dishes including the sea bass and the linguini as well as our cheese plate and the chocolate cake with sorbet. Service was prompt but not intrusive. All-in-all we had a very pleasant dinner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ImmerWandern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at ICI Urban Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely dining experience with us. We strive to create an environment where our guests can indulge on Chef Loquet's delicious menu selections while enjoying quality service and a tranquil, unintrusive surrounding. The open air patio is open, and the weather is warming up, so come back and join us again soon!

Truly,
Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 77 of 241 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2014

We had dinner twice here while on vacation this week. The first time my husband had the 1895 steak which was very good -cooked perfectly and tender. I had their Chicken Crepes also very good. The second dinner was just superb we started with their French Onion Soup - best one I ever had. The appetizer was prosciutto wrapped asparagus with an egg with a cherry balsamic reduction, absolutely delightful. The entree was salmon on couscous with an onion and cherry sauce very yummy. Then the desert was a very good cherry sorbet with a Sacher torte in a white chocolate bowl.
Excellent meal with excellent service.

Thank TravelingOtter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at ICI Urban Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2014

How nice you were able to join us during Cherry Blossom season! It is such a beautiful time in the city, and Chef Loquet took the opportunity to create a special menu in the spirit of the festivities. Now that it is warming up again, come and join us on our patio to enjoy some of his new selections for spring!

Truly,
Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

The food is excellent, especially the sampler versions, even at noon, when you are in a rush. They used to have a nice patè with salad, but apparently they don´t offer it any longer. The staff is so helpful. Skipping dessert will leave room for a wonderful expresso and petit fours and lingering: none will rush you. Just perfect. A most convenient French restaurant, in DC.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank StellaPilar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at ICI Urban Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience with our Express 30 Minute Lunch! It is a lovely way to sample an appetizer, plat du jour, soup and dessert, all plated in a way that is friendly to your business schedule without comprimising on flavor or having to skip a course. Magnifique!

Truly,
Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

The food quality and service was very good. Price is somewhat expensive but normal for the location. Everything in the area tends to be expensive. The White House is only a few blocks away. Located in the Sofitel Hotel where we stayed which is why we ate here. But it is rated very high for a reason.

Thank Rezboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at ICI Urban Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We certainly enjoy being in the heart of downtown Washington D.C. And now that the patio is open both in iCi Urban Bistro and Le Bar, you can enjoy the same delicious food and libations, while enjoying the open air and getting in some quality people watching as well!

Truly,
Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Enjoyed an early dinner before the theater. Just a delightful dining experience from start to finish where thought and skill went into each aspect---food, service, decor. I started with the waldorf salad, light on calories yet pleasing to the eye and palate; my husband had the french onion soup the best he has had! For my main course, I truly enjoyed the seafood marmite, with a portion just a bit too generous but incredibly delicious; my husband had the salmon with carmelized onions and couscous---just excellent. Our server, attentive, pleasant and professional, suggested that we shared a dessert that brought back fond memories of Asian travel--a litchi themed dessert ice cream on a bed of rose flavored-like pudding. Outstanding!
Really enjoyed this dining experience and do plan to return. One may consider this expensive but the experience is well worth it. Highly recommend this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ArtsyGalBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at ICI Urban Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2014

Thank you for choosing iCI Urban Bistro for your pre-Theatre dining experience. We have shared your comments with our Executive Chef, Franck Loquet and our Pastry Chef, Vincent Bitauld. We hope you will join us again soon now that we have some new lovely additions to the menu.

Truly,
Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ICI Urban Bistro also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to ICI Urban Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing