We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“French Style in the middle of the White House .........”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of ICI Urban Bistro

ICI Urban Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
ICI Urban Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #310 of 3,196 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Dupont Circle
Cross street: 15th St. & H St.
Transit: Mc Pherson square station (orange & blue line)
Description: Both iCi Urban Bistro and Le Bar are as vibrant and cosmopolitan as the District itself. Located one block from Lafayette Square and the White House, The Smithsonian, and other renowned museums and monuments, the Bistro holds its own among the trendy Washington DC list of "places to be seen". The dynamic space welcomes guests with cool, modern ambiance and exciting innovations on traditional French cuisine. You won’t find a more desirable place for business meetings, special occasions, or dinners with friends. There is even a private dining area that accomodates up to 25 people.
Washington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“French Style in the middle of the White House .........”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Elegant place and amazing food. If you like good manners, charming and french style food, THIS WILL BE THE PLACE. I went with my husband many times and we celebrated our aniversary there. Is so romatic! And if you tell them that is your aniversary or birthday they will do something special for you....

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at ICI Urban Bistro, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
We do love special occasions!! Thank you for your loyalty and for choosing iCi to celebrate your anniversary. We pride ourselves in being a petite piece of Paris tucked in downtown Washington D.C. We look forward to your next holiday, and to welcoming you back again.

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    69
    19
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent food, patchy service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Ate here several times when staying at the hotel, both for breakfast and dinner.

Menu was impressive and varied, and everything we had was superb. Wine list was comprehensive and reasonably priced.

Only slight negatives were that whilst some staff were attentive and professional, others were difficult to keep track of and would disappear when you wanted service.

Oh, and don't order the Parisien breakfast as you get the basket of pastries regardless of what you order. In effect you're paying $20 for some fresh fruit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Maritchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at ICI Urban Bistro, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We take our guests opinions seriously, and strive to maintain the high level of service our guests have come to expect. I am glad you were able to try the restaurant for different meals to experience a range of Chef Loquet's menus. We do, indeed, include the basket of French breads and pastries with a breakfast entrée order, but some guests enjoy the fresh fruit juice, choice of hot tea or coffee and side of seasonal fruit that is included in the Parisien. We have something for every taste!

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Never disappoints”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

We have come here 3 years in a row the Marathon weekend and this gem is always able to accommodate us. The food, service and quiet ambience are great. There was a spa/low calorie menu, too. I had the off menu special of pan seared halibut over fall vegetables that included celeriac, radish, turnip, squash - so delicious!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank manhattan24nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at ICI Urban Bistro, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
We are always so proud of our marathon runners! Thank you for your loyalty to Sofitel D.C. You mentioned two of my favorite things! The De-Light menu is a fabulous menu option in our restaurant and In Room Dining. As you noticed, the dishes are designed by our Executive Chef, Franck Loquet, to create calorie conscious options without sacrificing flavor. And the plat du jour of fish is always a treat, because Chef uses only the freshest ingredients, many of which are sourced locally and purchased at our neighboring farmer's market. I hope your marathon was a success and we look forward to welcoming you back next year!

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stamford, ct
Level Contributor
378 reviews
257 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Decadent breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

This is a French restaurant, and thus French pastries, French cafe filtre, and relaxed French ambiance abound. Breakfast was very good--our friend had the plate of smoked fishes, my husband had the ewgg white omelet and I the Parisien, because nobody told me that the French pastries come with any entree you order--so we were literally swimming in croissants!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank reginalampert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at ICI Urban Bistro, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Too many croissants and pastries sounds to me like a great problem to have!! I am happy to know you were able to indulge in our delicious breakfast in iCi. It is a fabulous way to enjoy a fresh a la carte breakfast, with choices for every palette. I hope you will be back soon, we will have the croissants warm and ready for you!

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great scene and great food from a great chef.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

It was a pleasure to eat there. We had great and excellent food, Service was excellent. Everything in the menu is appealing. Many items are not on the menu. Hard to decide! They also provide a tasting even for wine by the glass, in the case you dislike it (that is really enjoyable).

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Streetadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at ICI Urban Bistro, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
I couldn't agree with you more! As if the menu does not have enough delicious options, Chef Loquet creates daily dishes according to the most fresh and seasonal ingredients available, and it makes choosing the most difficult part of the meal! You will have to come back and see us again soon to try something new. Chef has just launched our new fall menu and it is magnifique!

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ICI Urban Bistro also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to ICI Urban Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing