We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local cafe”

Tryst Coffee House and Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Adams Morgan
Smithfield, North Carolina
Level Contributor
164 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Local cafe”
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Lively atmosphere and good coffee and deserts. Free wifi and lots of comfortable seating. Good place for friends to meet and socialize.

Helpful?
Thank xit95i95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    77
    14
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The Bar Has Been Set”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I frequented Tryst just about every other day when I lived in Washington DC for 6 six. When I first went, you could still smoke indoors at restaurants and bars. So I would hole up on one of their tattered grandma sofas for a couple of hours and read and drink coffee. Since then, I kept coming back because there's isn't a better coffee house in DC or just about anywhere. The drinks are excellent. The servers are appropriately rude. No two sofas match. It's ageless, yet somehow always current. I love it and miss it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aaron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Bourbon Pecan and Kentucky Derby pie? Out of this world”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

The 2 pies I've mentioned is a must try. Cozy, chic cofee place compared to your standard Starbucks. Good music.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice neighborhood coffee house”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Stopped here to do some work the first day of a DC trip. Wifi took awhile to log on, but worked relatively well for email and browsing.
I ordered a chai, and it was delicious--great tea, honey, and milk ratio. I also ordered the hummus plate -- plenty of pita, veggies, and hummus for 2-3 people -- and a grilled cheese sandwich (comfort food for sure).
This place does get crowded, and while sitting there I appreciated that the wait staff does not rush you out in any way. At the same time, that means I sat there for 3 hours working and held up a table. It can be tough to find a seat.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LT4_lotr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great cup of coffee”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We ate/ drank here more than once on our trip to DC. The coffee was really good, I had a mocha and it was delicious (I am sorta a coffee snob). Also, we had assorted pastries the few times we went there and they were all really good. I will say that the fruit danish was my favorite. The place is sorta packed so get in close to your neighbor. Most everyone was really nice and once served, the food is really good as well. The only reason I knocked it from a 5 to a 4 is that it can take some time to get either seated or to get your order taken. If your looking for a relaxing day at a coffee house in a funky spot this is your place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tryst Coffee House and Bar also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Tryst Coffee House and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing