We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”
Review of Shenandoah Valley

Shenandoah Valley
Ranked #438 of 2,209 things to do in Virginia
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We were there just as the trees were beginning to turn, but it was still a very beautiful park. The rangers were knowledgeable about the trails we had chosen. Every trail we were on was appropriately rated and well-marked. Our very favorite hike was Old Rag Mountain. This was the only misinformation we had. Everything we read said it was 8 miles, but was really 10.5. Not that 2.5 miles mattered after this hike. It's every bit as difficult as advertised, but what a reward at the summit! Worth every step! Other hikes we enjoyed were WhiteOak, Stony Man, Bearface, Dark Hollow Falls and Hawksbill. We will anticipate our return to this beautiful section of our country.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank tlpeck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    17
    1
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Davis, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful green and friendly”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Spent a total of 2 weeks on two separate trips in the Beautiful area of the Shandoah Valley. The people are as charming and as friendly and as lovely as the landscape.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sanmiguelsandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Shenandoah Valley - Skyline Drive - Luray”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We decided to take a July sanity/break, mini-vacation getaway. Seems we need more and more of these lately. Our travels took us to the beautiful Shenandoah Valley of Virginia. If you can take a couple of week days and tack it on to a weekend day, you’ll have a great mini-vacation. The week days were definitely better since there were definitely fewer visitor to the park. We headed down on Wednesday morning and arrived in Front Royal, which is really the Northern most part of Skyline drive. We hit Skyline caverns before starting our trip on Skyline Drive down to Luray. These caverns are interesting and we enjoyed the guided tour. The trip on Skyline Drive was outstanding. We pulled over at each overlook area to appreciate the awesome views. If you have a clear, sunny day you’ll be rewarded with incredible views of the Shenandoah Valley. Wow, this was the most beautiful stretch of road we have ever driven…..but, we haven’t made it out to the Rockies yet. There are plenty of overlooks and even if you stop for only a minute or two, hit them all. There ain’t a bad seat in the house folks. You’ll need a car pass to get into the park, but it was only $10 or $15….can’t remember. That gets you in and out of the park for a full week. The drive down to Luray is very scenic and it’s a nice little town. Be sure to see Luray Caverns which is really awe inspiring. This cavern definitely offers more spectacular formations compared to Skyline Caverns. Don’t miss it. You’ll also enjoy the car and history museum’s included in the ticket price. Our other trips into the park on Skyline drive took us to the big meadows and the visitor center which gives a good insight into the history of the park.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
13 Thank HBandSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Bentonville Virginia, Thompson Hollow Trail”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We were given some advice from a local to hike the Thompson Hollow Trail in Bentonville, VA which is in Shenandoah National Park. Getting to the trail was tough in itself, it was not marked at all, no signs leading to it. We had to ask people along the way. When we finally got there there was a sign saying that a dirt road had access to the trail but it was difficult finding the trail because there were private roads all over saying "no trespassing" We finally found the trail and found the trails to be really pretty. HOWEVER, when we got back to the parking area 2 cars were broken into and one of them was ours. My wife's purse was stolen and we have spent the entire evening trying to cancel all the credit cards. What a disappointment. The lady from our hotel told us that Bentonville is a high crime area, wish we would have spoken to her earlier. So...be wise- stay away from Bentonville!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
14 Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
133 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“What a wonderful experience!”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I promise that the $15 entrance fee to the park will be well worth it. So many sights and we did not get to see them all; even in the rain!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank johnluriejr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shenandoah Valley also viewed

 
Shenandoah National Park, VA
 

Been to Shenandoah Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing