We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relatively small park, but well worth the time”

Snow Canyon State Park
Ranked #45 of 1,077 things to do in Utah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Murray, Utah
Level Contributor
238 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“A relatively small park, but well worth the time”
Reviewed March 20, 2012

We have been to many national parks. This state park is small in compaison. But it is nicely maintained park. There are many paved trials and dirt hiking trails. Very convenient for families with small kids. There are a number of hiking trails that are suitable for families. The landscape is great. We have enjoyed our trip there.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank yyyzzz_utah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    78
    16
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Payson, Utah
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fun and beautiful!”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We've been to snow canyon twice now we hiked the short trails and the long petrified sand dunes trail it was so much fun we have very little kids and they were able to do most of it themselves they had a blast running on the rocks in playing with the small round rocks we love the views here it's just gorgeous top rated hiking trails we love it!

Helpful?
Thank Shep6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
148 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Best petrified sand dunes hike ever!”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

This is a surprisingly diverse park for its size. The petrified sand dunes hike offered gorgeous views of the surrounding mountains and lava fields. The cinder cone hike offered outstanding views, the drive was spectacular. I only wish we had our bikes along, because the paved trail traversed the whole park and looked like a great family activity. Great park.

Helpful?
6 Thank TeresaB25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bountiful, Utah
Level Contributor
112 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Place with So Much to Discover”
Reviewed February 6, 2012

We spent half a day here as a family discovering the park. We paid $6 admission, and there was a ranger manning the station, but when we left we noticed there were no rangers on site and it was the "honor system" to pay when you enter.

Our first stop was the sand dunes - toward the south entrance. The sand is so fine and soft and such a unique color. We took off our shoes and the kids had a fun time frolicking, "base jumping" off the top of the hills, and "making sand angels". We saw several animal tracks that we debated over what kind of animal that it might be, and we discovered that the rock canyon walls surrounding the site provide an awesome ECHO when you sing or shout something.

Our second stop was to hike the "Petrified Sand Dune Trail". This is a unique hike because the "trail" crosses a very uneven and fascinating rocky hill of petrified sandstone. Several trail markers had fallen down and we took some extra time to prop them up again with rocks. The trail is pretty strenuous - especially if you keep going and decend the steep cliff because eventually you have to climb back up again. We eventually lost the trail, so we just turned around and came back. But, we LOVED the scenery and there were so many opportunities for great photos. We also enjoyed having the entire place to ourselves. We only saw 3 other people the entire time. The weather was perfect for spending time here, and everywhere you turned you would see another color or another fascinating rock formation!

We were impressed that all of the restrooms we used were well stocked with toilet paper, soap and handtowels and they actually had flushing toilets.There is no food for sale inside the park,. Bringing a picnic and plenty of drinking water is a good idea. There is a small visitor center, but we did not go inside. There are paved trail options for bikes / strollers and many off-road rustic type hikes. A ranger can provide a trail guide.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
9 Thank Hollyday66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
Level Contributor
144 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“a nice diversion - how good is very subjective.”
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Easy trail and beautiful views!!! no guide needed. small entrance fee into the park area. Make the trip/walk as short or as long as you like. We chose to climb peaks but there is no need to. Some young adults might like to explore some caves (flashlights needed and I am not sure how far they go since I did not even venture down to them.) Great with kids or alone!!!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
6 Thank Travel4Joy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snow Canyon State Park also viewed

 
St. George, UT
 

Been to Snow Canyon State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing