We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riding the Black Hills of South Dakota is the most amazing experience you can get. Just breath taking!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Black Hills

Black Hills
Book In Advance
More Info
$84.40*
and up
Mount Rushmore and More Tour
Ranked #110 of 450 things to do in South Dakota
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This storied mountain range was named because of its dark, dense forest terrain.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Riding the Black Hills of South Dakota is the most amazing experience you can get. Just breath taking!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Nature with all of its glory fills this area with sweeping mountains, lush woodlands, rivers and beautiful skies. It's as if time has never touched this place. A definite place to see!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Freedomangelbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    14
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome! !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Beautiful scenery. Mount rushmore is amazing!Custer Park was also very beautiful to drive thru, Crazy Horse was also a very spectacular site. I would highly recommend anybody to go visit this part of the country.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Connie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilliard, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I visited the Black Hills in SD in July 2013. I flew up to Minneapolis and drove their with my family who visits there every year. I didn't know that this trip would be one of my favorites over all. We stayed in a cabin just outside of Deadwood, SD which was a great place for us because we went there just to go ATVing in the hills. Where we stayed we would hop on te 4wheelers and drive down te road to one the entrance points to start riding. Espically being from flat Florida this was an experience. You deal with all sorts of terrain. Climbing over rock beds, wooden bridges and just miles and miles of trails. Driving threw creeks and findin new places. Before you knew it you was on top of one of Gods beautiful creations. We woul drive and have lunch some place along the way. One day we found this opening to a lake and we found this huge cliff to jump off into the water. We were only about 45 minutes from Mt. Rushmore so we had to go visit that. So it's a great location to go on vacation and relax. See some beautiful sights an enjoy life.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank dillon_sheffield00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valrico, Florida
Level Contributor
109 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Spend extra time here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

For starters, the free admission is worth the extra time to get in the area. There are amazing spots to see, picnic, etc. There are no telling what animals you may see (we saw hundreds of Buffalo), and there are plenty of scenic spots to drive through. Make sure to drive the byways if you are there. It is really neat driving through a tunnel with Mt Rushmore at the end of it!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plum Coulee
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

This place is amazing. Everybody need to spend at least one week here. So much to do and see. The views are awesome and the hikes are amazing. You get to see lots of cool animals roam around and the towns are right out of the wild west.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank masteranglerpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Hills also viewed

 

Been to Black Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing