We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty and fun”
Review of The Fruit Loop

The Fruit Loop
Book In Advance
More Info
$200.00*
and up
Small-Group Mount Hood and Columbia River Gorge Tour and Brunch Cruise
Ranked #354 of 2,174 things to do in Oregon
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
234 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
“Tasty and fun”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stopped at four of the places on the Fruit Loop map, and all of them were fun and staffed by friendly, welcoming people. It's a great way to pick up snacks and wine, plus to see what's growing in the beautiful valley.

Stop #3- Gorge White House, which was part wine tasting and part fruit stand. We bought some ripe pears for breakfast (delicious).

Stop #21- Apple Valley Country Store and Bakery- bumbleberry hand pies and huckleberry shakes.

Stop #13- Cascade Alpacas and Foothill Yarns & Fiber- definitely our favorite stop. Very friendly staff/owners, and some of the alpacas had recently given birth, so there were baby alpacas to coo over. They also sell Alpaca yarn here; I'm sure this would be any knitter's dream store.

Stop #28- Cathedral Ridge winery- excellent wine here. You can taste 5 wines for $5, but the fee is waived if you buy a bottle. Favorites were the syrah and pinot gris.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank travelerfromsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    23
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
172 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Fine Wine Tasting”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Have been to a couple wineries on the loop and find the scenery lovely and wines very nice. One that we visited had lovely gardens (Gorge White House) and we enjoy tasting wines while looking out on some of the grapes still on the vine. We have become very fond of Hood River wines.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank GrammaTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful drive, view and delicious fruit”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

A nice drive up the Gorge to Hood River from Portland is always a nice way to spend an hour or so. You can go one better by taking the third exit into Hood River and following signs to Hwy 35 to the Hood River County Fruit Loop.
The immediate visual is Mt. Hood sitting on the horizon in front of you. In your rear view mirror is Mt. Adams, not quite a dominate, but still very clear on a nice day.
There are over 30 stops on the map available online and in most of the stops along the way. Fruit stands, lavender fields and wineries abound.
I wouldn't recommend to much tasting at the wineries unless you have a designated driver.
Fruit is available by the box, by the pound and individually. Don't buy to much at your first stops as we found some variation in price. Not much in quality as all looked very nice.
The loop is short, about 35 miles depending on how you drive it. Parkdale in about the middle is a good stop for a break, lunch or snack. It has a few cafes, pubs and gas. There is a nice park to stretch your legs and let the kids run free. The park has great views of Mt. Hood and is the final stop for the Mt. Hood Railway.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank atherts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“You won't leave empty handed!”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

This is an annual trip for my family, both because the drive is beautiful and because the fruit is outstanding. One of our favorites is Packers, with great jams and jellies and even wonderful baked Mountain Berry Pie (yes, I brought one back with me to San Francisco). We have great jams here in Northern California, but it is harder to find the fruit butters like pear, peach and apple. I ended with two cases of assorted jams, jellies and butters and a number will be tucked away in Christmas boxes for family and friends. oh -- and don't forget to get a milkshake or ice cream one while you're at it. Delicious as well.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank sfwtrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely drive and views”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stopped in at Lavender Valley Farm, and Apple Valley Country Store. Both were superb. The ice cream at the country store was delicious, and the Lavender fields with Mt Hood in the background made for some stunning photos.

Thoroughly recommend stopping at some of the attractions on the fruit loop.

Helpful?
Thank DBPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fruit Loop also viewed

 

Been to The Fruit Loop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing