We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive huge poplar trees”

Ranked #403 of 2,534 things to do in North Carolina
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Impressive 3800-acre wilderness that was once the unchartered hunting ground of the Cherokee Indians.
Sugar Hill, Georgia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Impressive huge poplar trees”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

A nice tribute to Joyce Kilmer for his poem "Trees". We drove into the park from via Robbinsville, NC. Park is located just off the beginning of the Cherohala Skyway on the eastern end of the skyway. We had no problems locating the road to the forest, but we had picked up a map in Tellico Plains a few days earlier and had a good idea of the location. The forest is a 2 mile loop through the forest, with lots of opportunities to see the huge poplar trees. It was just awesome standing next to these huge trees and thinking what it was like when they were first introduced to the area some 450 years ago. Amazing views and photo opportunities. The walking trails were fairly level, we did have to cross over a few trees that had fallen, but really not many obstacles. The area has had alot of rain this summer, so some of the trail was alittle muddy in areas. The park has a nice picnic area along the stream, I think a total of 3 picnic tables w/grills. There are no restaurants close by, so we had packed a picnic to enjoy after our hike. There is a bathroom if you need one, but no running water.

These were the biggest trees I have ever seen, so I was quite impressed and thankful we stopped to see them before they are gone.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank LilyPlatteCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    21
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Mild hike with beautiful giant trees”
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

I was sent to this park with the promise of giant trees and I was not disappointed. At the bottom of the trail it starts off with normal sized trees and by mid way they get bigger. It's a scenic park and a fun hike so I would suggest it for anyone with any outdoors keenness.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amber T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Finding Joyce Kilmer Memorial Forest”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

A bit difficult to find when coming from Route 129. Must continue past Horse Cave Campground and at the stop sign, go directly across the road. The initial signage when you cross the road is Jenkins Meadow Trailhead. We almost turned back. Continue on the same road to the Memorial Forest where there is a good exhibit about Kilmer. Picnic tables and a restroom are available. The hemlocks are now gone, many other large trees have fallen but there are still a number of huge poplar trees. Not the virgin forest we expected but a pleasant two mile hike with bridges by a mountain stream.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaboinkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
1,073 reviews
403 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 461 helpful votes
“The last stand of eastern virgin forest, but...”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This was our second visit. The last one was some 25 years ago. It seemed as though there are fewer large trees - even the one at the Joyce Kilmer Memorial Plaque was a skag - the top half was gone, and the tree was dead. I understand there was some sort of infestation a few years ago, and the national forest service dynamited many trees. We saw many laying on the ground. But it is a good hike to see nature in this lovely part of northwestern North Carolina.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
380 reviews
181 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Huge trees, rare beauty”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Hard to find but worth seeking out, this forest has trees with huge bases, some over 450 years old. There s only a small sign so look carefully so you can find this preserve dedicated to
Joyce Kilmer, poet, and soldier who died during WW1, famous for his poem "Trees". "I think that I shall never see a poem a lovey as a tree..." Look at the huge waterfalls from the TVA dams build using the Deression!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CherylandBrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joyce Kilmer Memorial Forest also viewed

Robbinsville, North Carolina Mountains
Great Smoky Mountains National Park, NC
 
Robbinsville, North Carolina Mountains
Robbinsville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Joyce Kilmer Memorial Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing