We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fishing the Offshore Canyons off Montauk NY”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Long Island

Ranked #1,904 of 4,557 things to do in New York
Attraction details
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fishing the Offshore Canyons off Montauk NY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

I would recommend Indian Cove Restaurant & Marina * 258 Montauk Hwy. Hampton Bays NY 11946
which was a clean marina with nice facilities which was also close to the fishing grounds, coming out of the inlet, we were only 60 miles to "The Dip" and another 40 miles to the 100 square.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Happy Day C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    6
    4
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

I come to long island all the time I grew up here and everytime I come back I always feel at home. There is plenty to do and the city is a train ride away. Its quiet on the island so id your not into the hustle and bussle long islands the place to be.

Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, USA
Level Contributor
100 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“So much to do...so much to see!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

Long Island...from The city to Montauk....vacation, sightseeing, eating...anf you never have to set foot in the hamptons with the crowds.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Long beach is a perfect get away from the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

We went to Long Beach, Long Island for the very first time and were not sure what to expect. The beach is looooong, with a wooden boardwalk all the way along it. It is very clean, it is very well kept and the sand is all soft. There are no sunbeds for rental as far as we could see, just one restaurant at the very end of the beach, so sun chairs and picnic bags are recommended to bring. Also, the bathrooms and showers on the beach are far apart, so choose your spot on the beach accordingly if you come with children.
There is a fee to get to the beach, with special entrance points from the boardwalk. Train packages with the fee included are available at Penn Station. The train ride was just over one hour and it was a great break from the city with sun, sand and swimming. Next time we will bring picnic bags and our kids, they will love it.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank manoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
185 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A reminder of how rude people can be”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

My visit to New York City and Long Island reminded me of how rude people can be, from the Newark Liberty Airport Express bus driver to those working at One Woman and Lenz wineries. On the contrary, I had a surprisingly nice experience from one of the employees at Europa Cafe on 5th Avenue in Manhattan.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynnbrownstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Long Island also viewed

Old Westbury, Long Island
 

Been to Long Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing