We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax, Relax, Relax”
Review of Keuka Lake

Keuka Lake
Book In Advance
More Info
$117.18*
and up
Keuka Lake Winery Tour
Ranked #1,054 of 4,641 things to do in New York
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the Finger Lakes in Upstate New York.
STATE COLLEGE, United States
Level Contributor
127 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Relax, Relax, Relax”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I was last here in 1968. Except for a lot of new housing, the place is the same. Quite, clean, beautiful. This place is quiet. You hear an occasional speed boat but that is it. We are on the east shore about eight miles south of Penn Yan. Hammondsport is about 10 miles south.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Joseph K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    6
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Lovely town”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stopped at Hammondsport on Keuka Lake on our way around the Finger Lakes area. Great small town to visit and stroll through. They had a Vintage Boat Regatta when we were there and it was fun to see all the amazing old boats racing. Lovely marina area. Small town but very picturesque. Worth a stop.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Diaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Such a beautiful spot. This really is Americas Coolest small town. So much to see and do! Many wineries and restaurants. My wife and I especially enjoy driving around the lake and just admiring the beauty that surrounds it. We always stop at Dr.Franks winery and The Lakeside restaurant for dinner after wine tasting and shopping. A beautiful get away vacation spot. A few hotels and bed and breakfasts. Certainly a must see and must experience!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Shelly_John1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful View, Beautiful Water”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is by far my favorite of the finger lakes. The water is clear and no sea weed to be had. Hammondsport is on the south tip of the lake and is the "Coolest Small Town in America". It has some great restaurants and a cute ice cream parlor. Heron Hill, Bully Hill, and Dr. Frank wineries are all on the west side of the lake. Penn Yan is on the north tip and has a great craft market called "The Windmill". Wonderful place to rent a cottage.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Small but fun”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

It's not a large lake, so it's possible to bike around it, boat around it, and drive around it fairly easily. Also, being fairly shallow, it warms up throughout the summer, making for more pleasant swimming conditions than some other lakes.
Water shoes are a must, though, as the zebra mussels will rip your feet to shreds without them.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mel_Karth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Keuka Lake also viewed

Keuka Park, Finger Lakes
 
Hammondsport, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Keuka Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing