We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
New Mexico
Open today: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Great revisit

First day wind was blowing 20+ but it was worth it. Guy unloaded two camels and took them over the... read more

Reviewed today
CoupleWithCats
via mobile
Must see!

We drove two hours out of our way to see the white sands and I am so glad that we did. It is one of... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
kdw1815
,
Greenville, South Carolina
via mobile
Read all 3,973 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around New Mexico
from $163.08
More Info
from $68.00
More Info
from $161.03
More Info
from $193.85
More Info
Reviews (3,973)
Filter reviews
3,973 results
Traveler rating
3,268
599
81
13
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
3,268
599
81
13
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sand dunes visitor center gift shop sunset walk full moon white gypsum national monument sunset tour flat trail miles and miles the loop natural wonder visited white sands wear sunscreen lots of water missile testing bring water
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 3,973 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2020 via mobile

This is truly one of the best National Parks in the US. Definitely do the sunset Ranger talk. Best way to learn about geology in amazing setting

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank 692nigelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2020

A National PARK! The last several times we visited, it was only a National Monument. Wow! So, what has changed? Nothing! Not even the signs. They will change over time, though.

Being National Park Junkies, we had to come celebrate the Sand's elevation to a Park. As always, we begin with the Visitor Center and the video (the Parks have such good introductory videos). Good video, small display area, but informative, and great Rangers at the Information Desk. They are such a font of information and so willing to impart it.

We went on the Dune Life Natural Trail. It mainly just goes off into the depths of the dunes with explanatory panels every once in a while. Then took the drive. A must do. The Drive goes even further into the dunes. Finally, we attended a Ranger led Sunset Tour. I love Ranger talks. This one was great. Our Ranger was animated, excited, informative and engaged. What more could we ask. He provided great information about the formation of the dunes, their current status, the plant/animal life and the water (a surprise). And at the end, we got to see the sun set over the western dunes. That was more dramatic than I had expected.

My recommendaton is to spend more time there than you had planned. I'm glad we did.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank MikeB1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2020

I had been to this site in the 1970's but wanted to visit again. It is a mostly self guided tour/drive. The formation is very unique and certainly worth a stop. It can be seen quickly or one could spend some time. Some families were sand sledding and there are picnic areas. The visitor area is quite informative. This year when driving by, it was quite windy and from a distance, the sand in the air looked like fog - quite a site! If in the area, certainly worth a stop.

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank oiobafblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2020 via mobile

If you're traveling through New Mexico and this isn't too far out of the way, I would recommend making a stop. Be sure to check the official website for the hours and to ensure there aren't closures due to missile testing nearby. It was easy to get to and we had service to be able to route us there. Service is spotty once you enter, so don't rely on service in the dunes. You'll get a map at check in and the roads and stops are well marked. We visited in December and it was chilly, so be sure to bundle up. It surprisingly was not crowded even though it was the week before Christmas. Upon arrival, we paid the entrance fee and drove to the back of the park. Many people bring items to sled down the dunes. We didn't give it a try, but it looked fun. We parked in the back, the furthest you can drive in, and began to walk out to the dunes where people hadn't ventured to. Most people stayed close to the parking area (where there are also restrooms and picnic tables) so we didn't need to walk far to get to a remote area. We could just see dunes as far as we looked in every direction. It was a really pretty sight. We had our dogs and they had a good time running around in the dunes. Dogs are to remain leashed at all times, but I will say, we didn't come across anyone (or anything) else in the areas we were exploring. We spent about two hours from the time we got to the park, walked the dunes, had our lunch we brought, and leaving the dunes. Just from hiking around we weren't covered in sand like I thought we would be. We just shook the sand off our shoes and wiped the dogs off and we were fine. The pictures look like we were in snow, but it was just all the sand!

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank MeganCTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2020

It's hard not to stop staring and looking around at this landscape of pure white dunes stretching off into the distance. We ended up visiting twice in the same day. Once in the early afternoon where the kids got to sled down the dunes and meander around enjoying the scenery, and then again at sunset. I loved standing on top of a dune watching tine ever changing shadows ans the sun disappeared behind the mountains. One thing to keep in mind though..you WILL be bringing home plenty of that fine white sand with you because it gets in your shoes and sticks to everything. It's worth it though because this place is beautiful. We visited on New Years Day so the temperature was in the upper 40's and heat was not an issue.

Date of experience: January 2020
1  Thank coolclavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews