We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous lake, breathtaking” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Winnipesaukee

Lake Winnipesaukee
Book In Advance
More Info
$510.00*
and up
Scenic White Mountains Helicopter Tour
Ranked #99 of 741 things to do in New Hampshire
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the most popular lakes in New Hampshire due to its many tourist facilities and attractions.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Gorgeous lake, breathtaking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

So many cool little towns to wander thru around this lake. The lake has some fantastic views is a nice drive. We stopped at Weirs Beach and there was plenty to do here from the scenic railroad to arcades.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank RHBeatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    18
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
221 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Stunning Lake with amazing mountain views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

In July, We drove around the lake and took in all the scenic vistas. We especially enjoyed the North Eastern views across the lake with mountains as a back drop. There were many activities, restaurants and shopping experiences. Too many to list, can't wait to return.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank ocean0808cruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
98 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Lake of the Great Spirit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

I've been vacationing at Lake Winnepesaukee since I was three. So sixty years later, it is still the high point of my year when I can float on my back and stare up at the pine trees against the blue sky. There are very populated sides of the lake, from center harbor to Meredith and then on to the weirs. Less so on the Alton Bay - Tuftonboro side. But if you can find a way to get out on the water and see the islands, it's worth it. The water is cold but crystal clear and there are many public beaches which will give you that lake experience. I ve done the mt Washington and ridden the mail boat, which is more intimate but with less amenities and you actually stop at the island Post Offices. If you're brave rent a sea doo and buy a bizer's lake map and go out in search of a beach or small reef to dive off of. you can attend St john's church at the top of Bear Island - a small stone church built around an observation tower In 1927 - it's run by islanders and dogs are welcome!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful lake!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

NH is a funny state- very free and independent. Has some "interesting" areas with bikers and rednecks, but also some beautiful parts. I spent many childhood summers in Moultonborough along the shores of Lake Winnipesaukee. We stayed in Suissvale, which is now a private community. Love love love the lake, perfect for swimming, canoing, kayaking, boating, waterskiing, or just sunning yourself along the beaches. This is a fabulous place to visit for a day, the weekend, or a week.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
8 Thank youthinkpeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Beautiful Lake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

It was lovely cloudy day when we went there and it was so beautiful! Cruising on Winnipesaukee Belle is the best way to enjoy the lake. Worth to visit!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank TheSusilos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Winnipesaukee also viewed

 

Been to Lake Winnipesaukee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing