We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheated, and took the Clog” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Washington

Mount Washington
Ranked #60 of 741 things to do in New Hampshire
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Part of the White Mountains, this is the highest peak in the Northeast.
Algard, Norway
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cheated, and took the Clog”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We didn't hike because the weather was sort if crappy. So we took the Clog up and down. Nice ride. Remember to bring a sweather, it's cold up there. The clouds was low so we didn't see anything. But know that the view is breathtaking :)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Reiselykke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    36
    5
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, ON
Level Contributor
81 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Stunning view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

The drive-up was a white knuckle drive but more than worth the effort! We had a sunny day that was reasonably clear. The admission seemed a bit steep ($26+$8 for an additional adult) but the road was well-maintained and there was a little weather museum at the top, admission also included an audio CD that outlined the history of the mountain and the road. The wind at the summit was intense and the temperature was about 40 degrees F cooler than at the base. There was a bit of a line to take a picture at the summit but that was the only time we had to wait. The weather at the top changed by the minute which was really quite thrilling! We spent about an hour at the summit and about 20 minutes ascending and about the same descending.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Lizzie222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumaguete City, Philippines
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A sight to remember, what a view.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

On a hot July day, 95 degrees, I decided to drive up to the top of Mt. Washington. I should have taken the cog rail, since driving up the winding road did not allow me to see the magnificent sights. Once on the top the temperature was down to 70 degrees, refreshing to say the least. The view was magnificent for a short time and the the clouds came in and I was above them, a great feeling. I can only highly recomend this when in the area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Caphook19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xenia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a Drive!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We did Mt. Washington in August, and the automobile climb to the summit was absolutely gorgeous. The summit itself created us with Tundra conditions at 39 degrees F. This New England landmark is a must see and rivals many of the more prominent peaks in the West in terms of sheer panoramic vista and variety of fauna present as a function of elevation. We loved it though our knuckles were a little white throughout the round trip.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Zechariah65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
247 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Best in clear (rare) weather for sure.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We happened to be in the area on a variable skies day and decided to take the plunge and drive up to the top rather than taking the (expensive) Cog Rail. The is an admission charge (see web page) and you receive a CD with instructions and a bit of history.
The drive up takes about 25 minutes, is fairly steep. narrow and winding with even a small stretch of dirt road, but very doable. Despite the missing guardrails, driving along the outside lane is safe as long as you don't let yourself get distracted by the beauty surrounding you. For that you have several drive outs where you can park, catch your breath and let your transmission rest. If you have a fear of heights you may likely have an issue and I would not recommend this for you. Once we got closer to the top, fog (nothing unusual, even on mostly clear days) got thicker and thicker and visibility was poor at times. Once at the top we were pretty much enveloped in fog with the odd small break to see a bit further. There is plenty of parking and a constant come and go by visitors. Over all we did not see very much, but did see the Cog come up in the fog :). The drive down was nice and the fog soon cleared. We did stop twice to let the brakes cool off and soon exited the area.
An overall good experience and I would only go back in completely clear weather.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank wolf55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Washington also viewed

 

Been to Mount Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing