We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A spectacularly unique vacation”
Review of Wild Horse Safaris

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nevada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wild Horse Safaris
Ranked #23 of 150 Specialty Lodging in Nevada
GreenLeadersBronze level
Staten Island, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A spectacularly unique vacation”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We spent 5 days with Jerry at the Brass Ring Ranch over the July 4th week. Jerry was a warm and welcoming host who was so incredibly knowledgeable about the area, its history, and whatever other random questions we threw at him. He left the schedule completely up to us, so we were able to do as little or as much as we wanted.

Accommodations: Reading about how remote the ranch was, and that it was completely off the grid, we weren't quite sure what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised to find an absolutely lovely log cabin with all the modern comforts of home. Our room was beautifully decorated with a comfortable king size bed and a private bathroom right across the hall.

Animals: We are animal lovers, so the highlight of the trip was being able to spend time with the menagerie of 4-legged creatures who share the ranch with Jerry. Every one of them is friendly, with their own unique personalities. From Bonnet the dog who greeted us every morning with a tongue-bath and enthusiastic tail wagging show, to Mei the cat who thought she was a dog and would lie in the middle of the hallway hoping for a belly rub, to the 5 horses and 2 donkeys who eagerly gathered for apple treats whenever we went to the corral.

Activities: We got the opportunity to spend an entire morning on a horseback riding trip up into the canyon. The horses hadn't been ridden in a while, so were a bit "barn sour" at first, but once we got out of view of the ranch they perked right up and we had a great ride. Jake was so sweet and patient despite my being pretty much a beginner rider, and Captain was so spirited and well-matched for my New Yorker husband. The views on the ride were like none we've ever seen before, with the terrain changing at every turn.

Jerry also took us out hiking. We got to see his abandoned silver mine, petroglyphs, amazing views, and magical forest clearings. And every night we ended with a trip down to the hot mineral water springs for a soak under the stars, serenaded by cows.

We also spent a day in Belmont, the ghost town 40 miles away, participating in the July 4th festivities. There was a cute parade, a fun auction, and lots of activity at the 2 bars in town. The locals were so incredibly warm and friendly. And be sure to visit the two shops in town - Sticks & Stones, and Susie's Attic - for a unique souvenir of the trip.

It was a truly wonderful experience, and we would love to go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
17
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bridgeton, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Jerry and Rebecca are very hospitable and really nice people. You can do as much or as little as you like at the Brass Ring - if you want to enjoy the peace and quiet the scenery is breathtaking or if you want to hike there is plenty of area to explore. Food is good and the beds are comfy. We enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate to go back the next time we get to Nevada.
The Husbands - New Jersey

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Myopinion53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2009

We spent four days with Jerry and Rebecca at the Horse & Fly Ranch. This stay was near the start of our month long road trip around the South Western States. The ranch is very remote, by UK standards, and nestles at the mouth of a canyon within the truly wonderful Monitor mountain valley. With the nearest town at least 40 miles away, eating out in the normal sense is not possible. However every day Rebecca provided really good breakfasts and evening meals for us. We did ‘eat out’ on the first night, around a campfire several miles further up the canyon and under a clear star filled sky !

We could have just relaxed during our stay, certainly a pleasant option, but we took up Jerry’s kind and enthusiastic offer to explore the Monitor and adjacent valleys. Without his expert local knowledge of their wildlife and history, travelling alone we would have missed so much. During our days we went on a day hike into the canyon up to 10,000 feet, and many shorter hikes to old mine workings, petroglyphs and homesteads abandoned long ago. We drove and hiked for two days in the valleys, back roads and hills and never passed another vehicle or living soul. Just fleeting encounters with wild horses, antelope … just wonderful.

At the end of the day, there is always a visit to the nearby (six miles) natural hot springs to soak away the muscle aches from the day’s climbing, hiking or horse riding. A visit to the Horse & Fly Ranch would not be complete without a horse ride. This was our very first close encounter with equines; namely Jake and Joe. They proved to be exceedingly tolerant of our total inexperience at mounting, moving off and stopping !

We were lucky enough with the weather conditions to take an evening balloon flight which took us high across the valley floor towards the next valley, with twilight changing into moonlight and then almost complete darkness. For the flight we were joined by their nearest neighbours from ranches 20 or so miles away. In the few days we were there we seemed to met many of the handful of valley residents; such a wonderful community. Some evenings Rebecca would play her guitar and sing to us; she is very talented.

We were of course sad to leave, but such was the impression our stay made on us that another day did not pass on our holiday without recount of some memorable and amusing ‘Jerry & Rebecca’ Horse & Fly Ranch story or experience. We would most certainly want to return !

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rheuuowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verdi, NV
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2009

We are a group of three couples who travel throughout Nevada and stay at ranches, bed and breakfasts, and occasionally motels. We like to explore the Nevada mountains on ATV while enjoying the hospitality of Nevada ranches. Jerry and Rebecca of the Horse and Fly are by far the most accomodating and friendly hosts we have met. The food is superb and home cooked. Our lunches were packed each day as we left for the mountains. We enjoyed Rebecca's guitar and singing at night as well as trips to the natural hot springs. Jerry took us on a tour of his silver mine and provided detailed directions each day on areas to explore. They built their new home over the last few years and it is beautifiul. We plan on returning...

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATVVerdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2009

We started our honeymoon at the Horse - N- Fly Ranch. Our first stop after the reception was at Belmont to listen to the Peavin Pickers. Rebecca and Jerry were the best at meeting our needs. I did not realize how much we needed the peace and quiet to rest after the planning of our wedding and this was the perfect place to do so. We loved the little stone cabin, but opted to stay in the main bedroom with the bathroom right across the hall. Everything was clean and just perfect. We both were born and raised in Nevada and have lived in different parts of the state our entire lives, but this place is like a peice of heaven. We watched the hummingbirds and other wildlife and enjoyed walking down by the pond. Sometime my husband and I will go back and stay when we can enjoy the pond and canoeing, Pott's hot springs which is a short drive away, balloon riding, and horseback riding. We did drive up Ike's Canyon and it is so beautiful.

Rebecca and Jerry produce most of their own power from water and solar sources. That is another thing that makes this place so special. There are no noisy generators to take away from the beauty of the place. We highly recommend this as a remote place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Palominopair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2009

We brought our computer savy and electronic game playing six year old granddaughters here to "escape" city life. On the way out (about 4 hours driving) they kept asking "are we there yet?." I had a map atlas along and they knew when we got to edge of page "4" we were almost there. Once there, we chose to stay in the old stone cabin that had no electricity - lights and heat powered by propane that has to be shut down at night. It was cozy and we all slept well, even at 7,000 feet. The bathroom is only a short way to the house with a private entrance, and it features a rain-type shower. A trip in the dark reveals more stars than I knew existed. In these times when there is so much talk about energy independence, the ranch actually produces most of it's own through solar and water. Three days was about right for the kids, they were sad to leave - not just the place, but our warm-hearted hosts as well.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MovieStar22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2009

We are just back from a 17 day tour of Utah, Arizona and Nevada, and have seen some amazing sights, not least Monument Valley which, I think, is unlike any other place in the world. However, we managed to leave the best place to stay until last. After a long, but suprisingly easy drive from Bryce Canyon over to Tonopah, we met Jerry at Belmont ghost town and he lead us up the 40 odd miles of gravel road to his home, the Horse and Fly ranch. We were given a great welcome by everyone from Jerry and Rebecca, to Bon and Chase the dogs as well as the goats and horses.

We didn't have much time to breathe on the first night, having a delicious dinner, then heading straight out for a moonlit balloon flight (apparently we are some of the few in the world to experience this treat) and then over to the potts ranch hot tub to toast our first balloon flight. The remaining two days on the ranch continued to live up to this standard and we enjoyed endless hospitality, good conversation, great horseriding and met some of the neighbours (if you can call them that, given that there are only a few homesteads in a 30 mile radius!)

I could go on and on about how much we enjoyed our time here, but the best epithet would probably be to say that by the time we left, we didn't feel as if we had stayed with hosts, but with friends. We'll be back one day I'm sure.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slblogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nevada hotels
114.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Fallon
165.9 mi away
Nugget Casino Resort
Nugget Casino Resort
#2 of 17 in Sparks
3,080 reviews
153.3 mi away
Pine Tree Inn and Bakery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
168.9 mi away
Circus Circus Hotel and Casino-Reno
143.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Gold Country Inn
147.9 mi away
Death Valley Inn
Death Valley Inn
#4 of 6 in Beatty
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Horse Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Horse Safaris

Property: Wild Horse Safaris
Address: Ike's Canyon, Central Nevada, NV 89000
Location: United States > Nevada
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 150 Specialty Lodging in Nevada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide a family-friendly destination vacation, or an unforgettable 'stop-over' in the heart of Cowboy Country. Immerse yourself in a pristine, natural setting. History, wild horses, gold mines, ghost towns, 12,000' peaks, alpine meadows, swimming, porch setting, star gazing, elk, hiking, hot air ballooning, horseback riding, antelope, hot springs, fossils, gems and lots of clean, pure fresh mountain air. Meals prepared to your preferences. No lines, no strangers; just authentic friendly hospitality. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing