We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Beautiful drive

I love just driving across this Route from Greenfield over to Williamstown. It is a beautiful drive... read more

Reviewed September 1, 2018
AndiW-CT
,
New Britain, Connecticut
Stunning landscape along this highway.

Drove this highway from Greenfield to Williamstown one afternoon on our way back to Canada. So much... read more

Reviewed July 1, 2018
Dwight6790
,
Rockwood, Canada
Read all 69 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Massachusetts
from $71.00
More Info
from $79.00
More Info
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveler rating
39
13
6
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
39
13
6
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fall foliage north adams beautiful drive highest point new england take your time bridge of flowers mount greylock hair pin hairpin turns french king greenfield mountains curve route scenic peak
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 58 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After visiting Walden Pond yesterday, we drove directly west to Mohawk Trail (Route 2 MA) which we read to be a wonderful route in MA to view the foliage. Yet we were a bit disappointed because there wasn't much view along this route except that near the town Greenfield, partly because the species of the trees along the highway are not like those in northern New Hampshire, mainly maples and red oaks. Anyway, we were compensated by wonderful scenery along another route where we were surrounded by beautiful views of trees, delicate towns and farms: NH-119. What a nice scenic drive!

Thank adabbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2018

I love just driving across this Route from Greenfield over to Williamstown. It is a beautiful drive and always relaxes me and puts me in a good mood. I also love to stop off at the Bridge of Flowers along the way.

Thank AndiW-CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2018

Drove this highway from Greenfield to Williamstown one afternoon on our way back to Canada. So much to see. beautiful rivers and falls, covered bridges, quant towns, hairpin turns, high mountains with very long steep hills, Bridge of Flowers and the famous hairpin turn. Would be even more stunning with the fall foliage. Not for those who suffer motion sickness or are afraid of steep curvy roads.

Thank Dwight6790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2018

Got out at the hairpin turn to take in the view. Don't let the name scare you; there is plenty of room for the turn.. The Bridge of Flowers is not to be missed even if you're not a big flower person. You have to get out on the bridge (can't see anything from the car).

Thank RobertColumbus_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2017

We drove the Mohawk Trail (Rt 2) in northern Massachusetts from Williamstown to Rt 63 to get a glimpse of fall foliage and we weren't disappointed even though the foliage wasn't at its peak. It was raining, which muted the colors even more but we still enjoyed the drive and would gladly do it again.

2  Thank loves2travel49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2017

The route is a "must do" drive in the autumn (Fall). Expect a lot of traffic at peak times of the year but everyone seemed patient when we went through on our driving holiday. Great colours and foliage. It's winding nature adds to the effect of "what are we going to see round the next corner". However, there are no "scenic photo stops" it pretty much runs in a valley.

1  Thank Ali921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2017

Drove along rte. 2 (Mohawk Trail) from rte. 495 to rte. 7 past North Adams, MA on Oct. 11th, 2017. There was not yet much color in southern VT but there was a fair amount in the Berkshires. There were numerous vista's along the way with plenty of color. Stopped at a couple of antique shops and had lunch at the Golden Eagle restaurant on the hairpin turn just before North Adams (restaurant reviewed separately). Leisurely trip had us at the turn in a bit over 3 hours. Almost no traffic! Beautiful drive. Once at rte.7 we headed nOrth to Bennington, VT.

1  Thank retired01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2017

The Mohawk Trail is a pretty drive. We like to travel it when we go to New England. We like to get on US 2 from I-495 in Massachusetts and stay on it to Albany, NY. When the fall foliage peaks, it is a beautiful drive. We like to stop at Deerfield to see the historic community.

1  Thank Susie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2017 via mobile

The drive was good but not that much scenic. I will recommend to go on this during fall . There are several points to stop on this trail and I would like to give info on that. We started from french king bridge and ends it all the way to end and then reached mount greylock which is very near to famous hair pin turn .

1- French king Bridge -- I liked this bridge.There is parking available as well at the starting from where you can easily walk. You can take amazing pics and its really scenic . You will get some goose bumps while seeing down to the river.Must to stop.

2- Poet's seat tower
Scenic spot with parking available right at the tower . You can get some amazing views of the city from the tower.

3- Bridge of flowers and potholes
This is also good but only for flower lovers . Also if you visited any tulip festival then you may skip this.
Potholes are also normal .
Ample parking

4-Hail to the sunrise park
The views are very good . You get a clear view of the mountain from here which gives you a chance to click some wonderful pics. There is a statue as well which is a symbol of this park.
Parking is right infront of this and there is also restraunt+pub near to the parking .

5-Whitecomb summit retreat -
Skip this if you are heading to mount greylock else you can stop for some time . Not many views apart from 1 statue.

6-Hairpin turn -
Dont know why it is famous as this kind of turns are very normal if you drive on mountains. May be some history attached to this. We didnt stop here so cant say about views.

7-Mount greylock
Although not on mohawk trail but you must go here if you are ending mohawk trail on west end.
Highest point of massachussets with amazing views. Drive is easy to average . We drive through notch road which is around 9 miles .

6  Thank Anshul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2017

Had an awesome ride down the trail! stopped at the hair pin curve for lunch with friends, can't wait for the next ride.

1  Thank bk1911mark4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews