We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the Great Falls Overlook” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of C&O Canal Historical Park

C&O Canal Historical Park
Ranked #297 of 1,183 things to do in Maryland
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The C&O Canal was proclaimed a national monument in 1961 and named a national historical park in 1971.
Framingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
306 reviews
112 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
“Loved the Great Falls Overlook”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

The C&O historical aspects of the park were ok. But the real standout was the view of the Great Falls. Much more powerful and scenic than I expected. The Billy Goat trail, a challenging scramble over rocks along the river, was a fun take in as well.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank NewMexBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    11
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh,NC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Be amazed at the power and beauty of the Falls and Canal.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

If you are in Washington, DC, take the short drive to the C & O canal. The old tavern and canal boat remind you of days gone by; but the walks to the Falls are absolutely beautiful. You cross small islands and see the rush of water escaping around the Potomac; but the main Falls will show the power of water. Along the way are a few good restaurants to visit. Fees are seasonal.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank ted3020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, MD
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Falls MD - a Beautilful, Scenic Place to Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

As this is one of my favorite places, I visit several times a year. Take a walk along the C&O Canal and enjoy beautiful views of the Potomac River. Take the walk to Olmsted Island for your best view of the river. It is just a short walk from the parking lot. The park tends to get very crowded on weekends so if you can, go early in the day or on week days. Check it out on a nice winter day!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Rockvilleguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous Bike Ride”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

A sturdy bike is all you need to explore this gem of American history. As you ride along the Potomac on a canal path you get to explore history and nature all rolled into one. Pick up a Canal Map at the Visitor center in Cumberland and ride any section of over 200 miles of path.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank bikerchik59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, OH
Level Contributor
150 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Crowded, but still fun”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2011

It was way too crowded when we were there. We went on a Saturday afternoon and it was a nice day, but there were far to many people there. It costs money to go in and we didn't stay long so I didn't feel that I got my money's worth. If you have a lot of time to spare, it is probably worth it.

Visited November 2010
Helpful?
Thank Nina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed C&O Canal Historical Park also viewed

 

Been to C&O Canal Historical Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing