We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Nice loop hike around the lake

The state park is easy to find off of I-270 and it costs $3 per person for MD residents. We parked... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
bassaidai88
,
Hagerstown, Maryland
Brilliant "Winter Lights" in more ways than one!

A lot of thought went into arranging several miles of delightful displays. Water related creatures... read more

Reviewed November 29, 2018
GoodVacay
,
Needham, Massachusetts
Read all 32 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Maryland
from $21.03
More Info
from $99.62
More Info
from $139.00
More Info
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveler rating
24
8
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
24
8
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews winter lights holiday music hiking trails are hike playground kayak shore woods dam trees benches
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 32 reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2018

A lot of thought went into arranging several miles of delightful displays. Water related creatures placed around Clopper Lake, some of which reflect on the surface. A mermaid dives in, a sail boat, ducks, . Snowflakes and snowmen. Woodland animals frolic in the woods. The show stopper was the princess kissing a frog, which goes poof! Then the prince appears. Enchanting, especially in this bucolic park setting.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank GoodVacay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2018 via mobile

This park has been a part of our family. I used to bring my kids to the playground when they were small, then we kayaked in the small lake when they grew up a little bit and now I hike around the lake. The hike is quite nice, almost a walk and it takes about an hour. Fall is a great time to do it as the leaves and the trees are beautiful

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank claudiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2018

We attended an all-day meeting at the Lodge at Little Seneca Creek adjacent to the park: it's an attractive log-cabin style meeting room of moderate size, vaulting ceiling and rustic appearance that easily accommodates about 50 participants. We were comfortable and well-fed. It was easy to hear people, and there's a nice deck in back overlooking a clearing and then the woods. Facilities are basic but totally functional. The lake and trail around it are man-made but beautiful. Worth a visit.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank jaseaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2018 via mobile

Spent some time walking the Lake Shore Trail and took the 3pm pontoon tour with Shelby. The park was surprisingly quiet and peaceful for a holiday weekend (even though there were several big groups and a big birthday party). The park was well-groomed, and the tour was a great way to see the lake and learn about the ecology of the park. I will definitely be back with the family! Thanks Shelby!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank lb422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2018

Coming from our home in Phoenix, the amount of green and the amount of water is shocking. WOW! So beautiful. The hiking trails are nicely maintained. Good restrooms, lots of benches in really nice spots, lots of parking, great playground. Just so much fun here. We come to Gaithersburg twice a year and we will be back!

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews