We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Some really nice views

Not 100% coastal views but worth taking if you are looking to stop at different towns along the... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
glutengirl25
,
North Chicago, Illinois
Vacationland!

Route One is not like Ireland's spectacular coastal route, the Wild Atlantic Way. Far from it, but... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
NHjo
,
Saco, Maine
Read all 331 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Maine
from $79.00
More Info
from $30.00
More Info
from $95.00
More Info
from $19.99
More Info
Reviews (331)
Filter reviews
331 results
Traveler rating
201
86
28
10
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
201
86
28
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bar harbor beautiful drive ll bean fort knox acadia national park heading north antique shops fall foliage off route take your time new england great scenery towns and villages great shopping lobster flagship store freeport
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 331 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2018

Went to LL Bean to hopefully make a purchase, after checking with another store with the same item that I was looking for. The service in the shoe department was excellent, even though they were very busy. I tried on the boots, walked around for a few minutes. I was told to walk around some more, "You want to make sure that you are really comfortable with your boots", the salesman said. The boots had a better quality and yes they were a little bit more expensive, but they were made in MAINE, the other store they were made in, you got it, CHINA. thank you, L.L. Bean!! P.S. It was a 5-1/2 hour drive, so I stayed overnight and enjoyed the trip.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Fearless307257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2018

U.S. rt. 1 is the more scenic and commercial route to take when travelling up or down the ME coast. Rather than whizzing by on an Interstate, it enables you to drive through and pause at the many charming towns for shopping, historical landmarks and food. It is a must if you go to ME, and want to experience the authentic atmosphere of the area.

Date of experience: October 2018
2  Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2018

We visited the L. L. Bean Flagship Store and the outlet store in Freeport, ME two weeks ago. We have been there several times before. Things have not changed. The staff was extremely helpful and very cordial... and the merchandise was of the highest quality. I have worn L. L. Bean products for years and never have been disappointed. Shopping here is indeed a jtreat.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank rfknauer103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2018

LL Bean cant miss stopping here its what this town is famous for..more than one store lots of outlets and tonns of sho

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank shelly80884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2018

I drove yesterday from Boston to Bar Harbor On Coastal Highway US 1 mostly. The drive was spectacular. It was raining all through from Salem to Bar harbor because of Hurricane Michael. Even in rain the drive was never tedious. The beauty of the fall foliage on US 1 was so captivating that the entire drive looked easy. On the way You will have many spectacular Scenic locations such as Fort Knox and Observatory. I will cherish the drive for my entire life.

Drive in Fall especially in October 1st or 2nd week to see the spectacular views.

Date of experience: October 2018
5  Thank sandeep A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews