We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ahhh-eeeeee!”

Middle Fork of the Salmon River
Ranked #16 of 596 things to do in Idaho
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The 105-mile stretch of the Salmon River cuts through a highly inaccessible and untamed part of Idaho's rugged countryside.
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ahhh-eeeeee!”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Recommended highly for anyone who has ever had to meet a deadline, ever wished they could see the stars brighter at night (or ever slept under the stars) nor have caught a native trout in pristine, sparkling waters. Great adventure, awsome guides. Smiles all around.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    6
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Freeland, Washington
Level Contributor
106 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A life-changing adventure”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We just got home from a 6 day/5 night white water rafting trip on the Middle Fork of the Salmon River (the River of No Return.) Our group of 20 was treated to the exceptional guidance of Far and Away Adventures. Their expert handling of a bunch of relatively inexperienced paddlers, the gourmet three-meals a day, the comfort of the large, comfortable tents (that were waiting for us each day as we came off the river assure that we will be back for more and would not go with any other guides; in fact we'd love to have the same crew. Their treatment of this very special wilderness area enhanced our appreciation of the Frank Church Wilderness Area, they were knowledgable of history, geology, safety of the various river crafts made the trip awe-inspiring and unforgettable. We were treated to several short hikes including hot springs, gorgeous waterfalls and ancient petroglyphs. Can't say enough but if you are looking for guides to take you on the adventure of a life time, talk to Far and Away Adventures out of Ketchum, Idaho.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CSSD_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“Special Lifetime Experience”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We were fortunate to have taken the Middle Fork of the Salmon River trip (5 days, 6 nights) with Canyons River Company. Staff are professionals who obviously love what they do! Every logistical and organizational aspect of the trip was first class -- from the initial contact to schedule the trip to the entire river experience. Safety was always top priority and our very diverse trip group ranged from age 8 to mid-70's. Unbelievable scenery, truly an opportunity to disconnect and focus on the experience. Really good mix of time on the river balanced with hiking and hot springs stops. Truly a privilege and special lifetime experience. Thank you, Canyons River team, for helping to create such wonderful memories.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trish P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
2 reviews
“Middle Fork River Expeditions guided raft trip”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Middle Fork River Expeditions is a super company. Knowledgeable, skilled, hard working, cheerful crew. Comfortable gear,delicious provisions, plenty of wildlife sightings. Beautiful hikes and variety of water craft (kayaks, stand up paddle board, fishing drift boat, paddle raft, oar raft. Our group combined the Middle Fork and the Main Salmon River for 10 days of splendid adventures and delighting in nature. Our guides made sure we had a truly outstanding experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Afah2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Rocky Mountain River Tours”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We organized a small group (10) of middle-aged men for a river run on the Main Salmon. We chose RMRT, formerly Sawtooth Adventure Company, after some research. While we knew we would have a blast, the service and the guides far exceeded our expectations. They emphasized safety at all times, but they also adjusted to our abilities and appetite for adventure. Their hospitality was outstanding, the food and drink was stupendous, and the campsite accomodations were very comfortable (i.e. they did most of the work). I would highly recommend RMRT. Of course, these trips aren't for everyone. The canyon is rather difficult to access (which provides huge benefits), you need to be o.k. with the discomforts of camping, and the hazards we encountered included a rattlesnake and lots of poison ivy. Of course, unplanned swimming in rapids is not unlikely.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kyle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Middle Fork of the Salmon River also viewed

 

Been to Middle Fork of the Salmon River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing