We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go for the show”
Review of Kona Village Luau

Kona Village Luau
Ranked #2,781 of 1,476 things to do in Hawaii
Attraction details
St. Albert
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Go for the show”
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Sadly the Kona Village was damaged in the tsunami that hit the Big Island from Japan in spring 2011 and is closed until further notice. (as of Aug 2011).

This is reputed to be the best luau on the island. The setting is very nice. To get good seats you need to get there early and do not sit at the back in the raised section, I doubt you will see much from there.

Once it starts to get dark, the evening starts, you see the ovens used for cooking and the process is explained to you. This is very interesting. Shortly after that the food is served. The food is Ok, no complaints but nothing special. The pork and turkey are very tender and moist but lacking in flavour. The other foods and desserts are pretty standard buffet fare.

The show is the good part. We saw the show featuring dances from all the polynesian islands and thoroughly enjoyed it. The fire dance is the spectacular ending to the show and is impressive.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    11
    0
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Kona Village Luau is cancelled due to the Tsunami”
Reviewed March 24, 2011

Kona Village Resort to Close Following Significant Structural and Property Damage Due to Tsunami. We had reservations for the second week of April 2011 to attend the Luau. The property just called to tell us that everything is cancelled for several months. Check their website for updates.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
6 Thank ShadestnNashville_TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Kona Village Luau - THE very best we've been to.”
Reviewed February 24, 2011

We attended the Wednesday night Hula Mana luau and rated it as the best we'd ever been to. We've been to several public and private luaus on every island, even one with Don Ho as the entertainment a few years back, and this one was tops. We both liked the setting, how they were organized, that they presented real flower leis for the ladies' hair, had taro chips and water on the table when we sat down, had a great mistress of ceremonies, the imu ceremony, had the keiki (children) perform on stage, good mai tai, great food, especially the imu (pork), nice selection of desserts and coffee, and their fabulous show.

Seating is first come, first serve. We arrived at 4:45 and there were about 15 people in front of us. Check in was smooth and the surroundings were stunning. With a rain forest atmosphere, thatched roofed buildings, and a lagoon surrounding the stage, it set the tone of ancient Hawaii. There are two levels of seating to choose from. We were hosted in, asked where we wanted to sit, and chose the lower level aisle near the smaller of the two stages. It was perfect! From that vantage point we could see both stages and take pictures and videos easily and get in and out of our chairs without being crowded.

The pre-show taro demonstration and talk were appropriate for their intention to make this a history lesson evening. The pre-show music, while we sipped our mai tai and ate taro chips, was delightful. We were then invited to the imu ceremony several steps down a pathway. The mistress of ceremonies did a fantastic job of explaining the process. The pig was unearthed and the smell was heavenly. Back to our table for more entertainment and a chance to order another cocktail (only the first one comes with your ticket) and chatting with table mates. An orderly process occurred for the short walk over to the banquet area. The food was well presented and plentiful. After a half hour, we were invited for dessert and coffee. Finally, the entertainment.

It was presented as a history lesson from the ancient times to the present. The women dancers were particularly good. Some of the men were not as well trained, but the overall effect was wonderful. The fire knife dancer was phenomenal!!! He was quick, accurate, perfect in all his tosses, and acrobatic in his performance. Previously, my favorite had been a young man from the Polynesian Cultural Center we'd seen a year ago, but this performer was head and shoulders above even him.

The show ended with a modern version of hula performed with a recently written song. Beautifully done and orchestrated ending to a fabulous evening.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank Bips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dreadful...”
Reviewed February 11, 2011

I'm writing this honest review to stop people from wasting their hard earned money and valuable vacation time.
My wife and I live in Kona and we went to the Kona Village Luau for an early Valentine's Day treat for one another. It was terrible. The food is bad and the show is deplorable. We were so upset. I'd rather watch a showing of Midnight Express in a Turkish prison then attend this luau again.

Seriously, this place must give kick-backs to tour books and their ilk. I have read other reviews and can't understand why this luau is held in such high regard. Seriously, it's mind boggling that anyone would think it's good.
SAVE YOUR MONEY AND DON'T GO!!!

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
6 Thank Jojoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An experience you should enjoy while in Kona.”
Reviewed February 9, 2011

The food was very good for a buffet. The Kalua pork was a neat twist and very good. The hotel luau grounds are nice. A great MC. As far as price, dinner + show + a drink (in Hawaii where prices are inflated typically)=worth it!

Helpful?
1 Thank chellytyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kona Village Luau also viewed

 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kohala Coast, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kona Village Luau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing