We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Rock Canyon State Park Ricardo Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in California
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Red Rock Canyon State Park Ricardo Campground
Save
You added Red Rock Canyon State Park Ricardo Campground to your Saves list
Ranked #788 of 1,631 Specialty Lodging in California
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

My boyfriend and I stumbled across this place on our way to Death Valley in an RV trip. We needed a place to stop between Paso Robles and Death Valley, and this was on the map. Never heard of it before, but we took a chance.

We are both so glad we stopped here! It became the hidden gem of the trip - a place we want to return. It's a state campground, so there's no hookups for RVs, but there are plenty of beautiful spots that could accommodate the 30ft. vehicle. The place is surrounded by stunning rock foundations and hiking around produces some gorgeous views. Facilities are nice and well kept. I'll definitely be returning here in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank mskellieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Noida, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

We went there on our way to Las Vegas from SF. Absolutely stunning and worth visiting. Especially if you appreciate scenic beauty. Would recommend it strongly.. The various rock formations are fabulous. Only a small detour from SF-Vegas highway.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaktiagoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Each tent place has a table with shade. Which is great because it can get very, very hot (and dry!).
Large tent places, so you do really have your pricacy there!
Toilets and water available.
No showers.
Great for mountain biking on nearby trails.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank namumaschm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

The scenery is really perfect! Its quiet, you have a lot of space.
Will be back!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coralreeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these California hotels
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Reso...
#1 of 4 in Death Valley National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 4,748 reviews
The Wayfarer
#8 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whispering Pines Resort
#7 of 7 in June Lake
3.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
LAX Area
Embassy Suites by Hilton LAX North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Rock Canyon State Park Ricardo Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Rock Canyon State Park Ricardo Campground

Property: Red Rock Canyon State Park Ricardo Campground
Address: Abott Drive, Red Rock Canyon State Park, CA
Location: United States > California
Hotel Style:
Ranked #788 of 1,631 Specialty Lodging in California
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This campsite is primative with no hot water or trailer hook-ups. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Red Rock Canyon State Park Ricardo Campground Hotel California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing