We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Salton Sea
from $169.00
More Info
from $105.00
More Info
Reviews (346)
Filter reviews
346 results
Traveler rating
87
135
71
33
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
87
135
71
33
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews palm springs bombay beach recreation area salton city sea state largest lake salvation mountain ski inn visitor center feet below sea level slab city wildlife refuge state park joshua tree day trip fascinating place coachella valley
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 346 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2019

This area of California is like a world away from the rest of the state. We did a one-day, round the sea tour of the Salton Sea in late June. We satopped into numerous places including the state vistorrs' center and the Bombay Beach community. Our favourite stop was Bombay Beach which was both sad (broken dreams, lost investments, etc.) and exhilerating (amazing graffitti art, creative residents, off the grid thinking). I got out of the car to tour some of the abandoned commercial buildings now overtaken by nature and paint artists- I would highly recommend you do the same! Of note- the east side is far less "modern" than the west, so I'd say the east is better!

Date of experience: June 2019
3  Thank Wanderer36738834938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2019

Definitely worth the 1/2 hour drive from the Coachella Valley to see the Salton Sea. Looking at the map it’s hard to appreciate how large the “Sea” is. It’s really a lake but the term sea is more appropriate. Interesting juxtaposition between the sometimes extreme high temperatures and the vast expanse of water. Apparently efforts are taking place to detoxify the water. I wish someone like Elon Musk would spend some resources on reclaiming the area. If the lake could be cleaned up this could be one of the best lake recreation areas in the US. Lots of camp sites in the government campground. Don’t forget to visit the Park Ranger station for info on the lake.

Date of experience: July 2018
2  Thank robynd955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2019

By chance, we visited the area during the "superbloom" and encountered the beauty of the area. There was no odors that we detected and camped at the visitors area. Nice hiking and the history is well documented. The visitors building has a very nice historical display and there is even a mapped tour of the area.

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank JudybLasVegas_NV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2019

It was really interesting. The area is quiet, relaxing, and beautiful. It is in the desert, so it is also hot and bright sun.The ground is barnacles! We were day visitors, but the camp area looked real nice. This was my second visit, so I would go again.

Date of experience: April 2019
2  Thank paulsO5544WW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2019

Beautiful incredible sea in the middle of the desert, at some points 35 miles across. Some sad sights there like Bombay Beach where you can witness the death of this gem.

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank bosuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews