We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ONE OF LIFE'S GREAT TRAVEL EXPERIENCES”
Review of Coast Starlight

Coast Starlight
Ranked #1,054 of 8,707 things to do in California
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This Amtrak route goes from Seattle, WA., to Los Angeles.
North Saanich, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“ONE OF LIFE'S GREAT TRAVEL EXPERIENCES”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

My wife and I boarded the Coast Starlight at Seattle for the 32 hour journey to Santa Barbara in mid-February with no particular expectations save for the fact we didn't have to drive and flying is something we go great lengths to avoid. From the minute we arrived at King Street Station to the end of the trip - on time by the way - can only be described as the most pleasant journey we have ever taken in terms of relaxation, service and the overall quality of the experience in the nearly 44 years we have been together,

We opted for a bedroom and our car attendant was one of those truly wonderful people you hear about but seldom meet. Much could also be said about the Parlor Car attendant and believe me, the afternoon wine tasting is great. The cuisine in the Dining Car which is included in the train fare was very good in all respects - appetizer, main course and dessert.

What didn't we like about the experience? Absolutely nothing as it was great and so far exceeded any expectations either of us might have had that we're planning on doing this trip again next February. All I can say is that it a genteel means of travel and an experience not to be missed.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
11 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    174
    74
    34
    31
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Great experience”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Travelled from San Francisco to Seattle overnight on a tour to Alaska. It was an experience not to be missed. The food was great, the staff helpful and friendly, and the seating in the dining car, whereby you were put with perfect strangers meant we met and enjoyed the company of several Americans and learned quite a bit about American life. The "roomettes" were as we had been warned on the small side, but this added to the whole travel experience. I would, given the opportunuty, travel on this train again...there's nothing like it here in the UK, because the country is so much smaller.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
6 Thank johnsyl-wakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
77 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Best train on Amtrak's line”
Reviewed February 1, 2012

This train is stellar, runs Los Angeles to Portland/Seattle. Fantastic scenery so bring your camera. You can read all about the train on the Amtrak website. For first class travelers (sleepers) your food is included. They run wine&cheese events where you can actually "win" a bottle of wine. Usually you are supplied what I call a goodie bag with a small bottle of champagne and two plastic wine glasses. There is a special Parlor Car unique to this train. Coach is not bad also--same scenery of course but you have to bring or buy food in diner or cafe car.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
11 Thank mwh31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brightwood, Oregon
Level Contributor
80 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Fun Experience”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We planned a long train trip for Jan 2012 from Portland,OR ,Sacramento Ca,Chicago,Ill,Toronto,CA,Vanc BC and back to Portland. It was wonderful. The first leg was Portland to Sacramento via the Coast Starlight Amtrak train. Left PDX as 2:30pm in the sleeper car bedroom for two. Lunch was really good as were all the meals on this trip. By Eugene it was getting dark for the night. We awoke in Sacramento,CA at 5:30am and were in the station by 6am.
Our train the California Zephyre left the station at 11am so we went to the local Denny's for breakfast and to kill some time. It was a Saturday morning and many businesses were closed at this time. I will write about our next train trip on the Zephyer section of this website.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
9 Thank rose in woods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
258 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Way to Travel”
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Amtrak's Coast Starlight train runs between Los Angeles and Seattle and serves multiple stops along the way. We have taken it several times between Lacey Washington and Sacramento before changing trains and heading on to Bakersfield Ca. In a day when travel either by air or by car on the freeway is filled with stress and frustration, train travel provides relaxation, value and peace of mind.

We book a roomette for the overnight trip. The "Parlour Car", unique to the Coast Starlight, is the jewel of the train. It's perfect for taking in the magnificent scenery, meeting fellow travelers, enjoying a glass of wine etc or a nice tasty meal. The Dining Car is another option. The food has never disappointed and on-board service has generally been up to expectation or better.

The luxury of a bygone era lives on in this experience. We have another trip planned for April and can hardly wait.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
11 Thank Cashman777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coast Starlight also viewed

California, United States
United States, North America
 
California, United States
 

Been to Coast Starlight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing