We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Pacific Coast Highway
from $45.00
More Info
from $895.00
More Info
from $94.00
More Info
Reviews (1,520)
Filter reviews
1,150 results
Traveler rating
976
136
30
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
976
136
30
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hearst castle san simeon elephant seals big sur pismo beach bixby bridge beautiful drive carmel by the sea take your time bucket list great road breathtaking scenery cannery row paso robles along highway speed limit half moon bay
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,150 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Great time driving a rented convertible from enterprise on pch. Stopped at Getty Villa for lunch. Low traffic in middle of the day. Speeds between 35 and 55 mph. Moderate police activity and other drivers generally kept the speed limit. Road was open whole way with one or two construction areas bring speed to 35 for a tenth of a mile. Great views of Pacific Ocean, surfers and mansions. Parks along way to stop for protracted views. Pepperdine University has green lawns and clean architecture. Many restaurants if desire to dine.

Thank WandringJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago

We spent a night in Monterey before we traveled up to San Francisco and spent the morning in Pebble Beach. For those who don’t know there is a 17 mile planned drive round the coast which takes into account a variety of stop off points (views, beaches, rugged coastline, wildlife), which costs $10 per person. Stunning place and a must do if you are out there. Photos attached.

Thank Allister16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago

We spent a full day driving from Carmel to San Luis Obispo and we are so glad we did. The drive is the most scenic drive I have ever done, and was a pleasure to do in our rental car so we could take it at our own pace. It's difficult not to pull over for photos every five minutes! Along the drive we particularly enjoyed: McWay Falls (this is the only walk from Julia Pfeiffer Burns State Park that is currently open); the view of Big Creek Bridge from Big Creek Cove vista point; and the elephant seal viewing point close to San Simeon.

Ensure you bring plenty of water and a full tank. We bought a picnic lunch and were able to eat this overlooking the coast which I'd highly recommend! Even in November the weather was good enough for shorts and t-shirt.

Thank mcglassa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Road is now open all the way spectacular views and drive we did it in 5-1/2 hours lots of vista points and places to pull over along the way. Ragged Point is a great stop as well as the Elephant Seals north of San Simieon

Thank michaelvY2913MQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Best road trip in the world. San Fran down to LA is the way to do it. Easy driving. Sensational views. Plenty of refreshment stops & scenic lookouts. A must do....

Thank MikeA4058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

We did this drive end of October/ begging of November. This is a fantastic time to go because there is no fog and the weather is fabulous! Make sure to pull over at all the stops along the side of the road for breathtaking views.
We took a week to do this trip so e. Old stop places along the way. You do not want to rush the trip and miss out on all the drive has to offer.

Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Do not, under any circumstances, miss taking the drive down Highway 1 from Monterey to Big Sur! This is one of the most spectacular pieces of shoreline in the United States! There are multiple spots to safely pull off the road and either hike the area or take photos. Just please be sure to respect the natural beauty of this place and carry out your trash. It is distressing to see that some people just refuse to take responsibility for the "leave no trace" policy. By the way, stop in at Rocky Point Restaurant and sit outside on the patio with a cocktail and snack. The view is breathtaking!

1  Thank Pamela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Simply the most beautiful road me and my partner have ever driven on, Driving from crescent city to L.A. before we took this road trip down route 101 and route 1 we made some time to plan things to see along the Pacific coast highway. Personally I would say it's not particularly nessercery as the majority of places are sing posted with pull off's every half mile and every single stop you make will be different and beautiful in its own way.

Hope this helped and Have the drive of a life time!!

Thank tomjthomson5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Wife and I flew into Seattle ,WA Sept 29. Drove to coast and drove down Hwy 101 thru OR coast until we reached PCH in CA. We have driven the entire length of the PCH. An amazing trip there are so many areas that are just breathtakingly beautiful. Really worth taking the time to do. Then drove across Nation home to SC. Awesome trip start to finish but the Pacific Coast Highway will always be a major highlight. Just Beautiful.

Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We drove up Highway 1, stayed in the Monterey area for 3 nights, and then drove back down it again. We were very fortunate - in that the rock fall that had closed the road had only been cleared for traffic a few days earlier.
If you have the choice - the drive South is preferred since it affords the best views and the view points are all on that side.
A World Class Memorable Road Trip - especially in good weather.

Thank BobandJosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews