We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views can't be matched”

Pacific Coast Highway
Book In Advance
More Info
$99.00*
and up
Monterey & Carmel Explorer with optional Aquarium
More Info
$45.00*
and up
Malibu Stars' Homes Tour
More Info
$59.99*
and up
Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour by Hop-On Hop-Off Bus
Ranked #36 of 8,866 things to do in California
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Running along the northern California coast, this highway has some of the best views of any in the United States.
Wallingford, Connecticut, United States
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Views can't be matched”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This was definitely the best drive in a car I have ever taken! We had done 17 mile drive prior to this and it paled in comparison. Skip that to do this! We drove from Carmel to Big Sur and it was breath-taking!!!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Mia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,188
    154
    30
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
322 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Simply stunning!”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Whilst stayiong in Santa Barbara, we took 2 trips up and down this road to Malibu and Santa Monica. Its simply stunning! It hugs the coast from just south east of Oxnard to where we turned inland to head for Hollywood. You just never tire of the views, watching the surfers out catching a wave before they go to work! A real sense of a living coast.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank m4xwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Brought tears to my eyes”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Driving along the PCH is magnificent! The views are so stunning and breathtaking it actually brought tears to my eyes. I was in a rental with my mom, sister and daughter and we are all from the East Coast so we had a great time driving and stopping at different spots along the way. The only drawback is I was the driver, so I would suggest to someone else that you go on a bus or tour so you can really soak in the views.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank MHolmes73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Living on the Edge”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

What an incredible trip from San Francisco to San Diego. It was hard not stopping at all the Vista Points to take pictures. Every turn was another delightful view. Had the most fun driving all the turns and twists. Big Sur was my favorite but don't ask the back seat passenger what she thought, she got car sick. Couldn't believe all the agriculture too. If you can find the restaurant that sells fried artichoke hearts and green tomatoes. Great finds for fresh fruits and veggies. If I did it again would skip PCH from LA down, can't really see the ocean and a lot of lights.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
586 reviews
287 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
“Not a bad little drive”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Took the family on a great drive. The kids were a little tired of driving but we did get out and see some great places along the way.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pixtonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pacific Coast Highway also viewed

California, United States
California, United States
 
Huntington Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Pacific Coast Highway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing