We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must do trip! Hit the highway and take your camera.”

Pacific Coast Highway
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$45.00*
and up
Malibu Stars' Homes Tour
Ranked #34 of 8,808 things to do in California
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Running along the northern California coast, this highway has some of the best views of any in the United States.
AUSTRALIA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Must do trip! Hit the highway and take your camera.”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Started in LA ,picked up hire car and drove straight to Santa Monica. From there
travelled up the coast ending in San Fran.
Many great locations along the way for stop overs where
Santa Barbara, Cambria and Monterey.
Must do stops to see Hearst Castle and the seeing the hundreds of seals on the beach where a highlight.
You can even cut over to Camarillo (before SB) to the huge discount outlets on your way and pick up a bargain.
Big Sur coastline as everyone says is fantastic!
Although I am not used to driving on the right-side , I would recomend this trip to everyone, but allow 3-4 days!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
13 Thank SAM_D_AUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,181
    154
    30
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester UK
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Some of the best free views in the world”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We started in San Francisco and traveled down highway 1 to LA. Firstly in order to get the best of the many, many vista points and stopping opportunities you need to allow plenty of time for this trip (at least 2-3 days). Unless the fog has rolled in (which it does sometimes) you will see breathtaking scenery and have the opportunity to walk on many beautiful deserted sandy beaches.
There are also many opportunities to explore little roadside galleries and friendly welcoming towns. Driving the pacific coast highway is an incredible experience the Big Sur coastline cannot be expressed in words & pictures don't really do it justice either!
Curve after curve of beautiful vistas, each worthy of it's own photo shoot...if you go to California it should be a must.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
16 Thank NicolaWhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldton, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Breath taking....Postcard pretty...Loved it!!!”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Totally beautiful, amazing scenery, photographers dream. we did a rushed trip unfortunately at the end of our honeymoon. had no idea how long it would take to drive as we were stopping to take photos around every corner. Our drive began at San Francisco back to LA. we had a hire car which was very comfortable. It was so pretty and so much too see we really regret not having the time to do it slowly and thoroughly. Loved the waterfall at Julia Pfeiffer park....awesome! Stayed overnight in a bungalow in Big Sur. Very expensive really but nice on honeymoon surrounded by redwoods. Totally recommend and would love to go back and do it all again! heading south towards LA the traffic was terrible and pretty stressful to drive through.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
12 Thank Aussiehoneymooners12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meridian, ms
Level Contributor
190 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Excellent views and curvy road”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We drove pch from San Francisco to Los Angeles. We stopped in Santa Cruz to see the boardwalk. Also stopped in Monterey and drove the 17 mile drive at Pebble Beach. The cost to drive the 17 mile loop is $9.75. it's an ok drive, not sure I believe it's worth almost $10. We ended up stopping in big sur for the night and staying at big sur lodge. There was a nice little waterfall to hike to at the lodge. The next morning we drove the rest of the way with a stop at mcway falls and right past the lighthouse to watch th elephant seals. Beautiful drive!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
10 Thank asnow815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Missouri
Level Contributor
103 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“What a nice drive.”
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Lovely drive up or down the coast. Plenty to see, stop and take photos. Very winding road especially more up in Big Sur. Make sure you are not tired before you do this drive. You need to constantly pay attention to the road. Well worth the drive. Especially all the way up to Santa Cruz.

Helpful?
13 Thank DSArchitect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pacific Coast Highway also viewed

California, United States
California, United States
 
Huntington Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Pacific Coast Highway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing