We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Donner Lake is a great family must see!”
Review of Donner Lake

Ranked #2,508 of 8,808 things to do in California
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 3 miles long with 7.5 miles of shoreline, located at 5,900 feet.
Carmichael, California
Level Contributor
130 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Donner Lake is a great family must see!”
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

One of my favorite spots in Northern California. The lake is gorgeous! The private beach is inexpensive and well worth the money. There's access to kayak and paddle board rentals. The sandy area is great for kids or laying in the sun. Picnic area is awesome for a large group. We had 30 people and the grill was large enough to feed all of us in a short amount of time.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Treslw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    20
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Colton, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Leisurely hike along a beautiful lake”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

While staying in Tahoe, we took a day trip up to the Truckee area. We brought a picnic lunch to eat after we "hiked" along the lakeview trail. Well, it turned out to be a leisurely "stroll" along the lake. Lake Donner is an absolutely beautiful body of water in an area rich with history. There were educational postings along the trail. You can also rent kayaks and stand - up paddle boards along the shore. This is a state park area, so there is a day-use fee at the entrance gate. This fee is waived if you happen to be camping at any of the other local state parks.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

I can't say enough good things about Donner Lake. Tahoe gets so busy in the summer and Donner is no exception but the views and clear lake make up for it. It can get crowded but there is so much shore line you won't have a problem finding a spot. The water will be cold, just FYI. There is a paved path that follows along the river that's a great activity for kids - nice little nature walk. There's also a camp ground (have not camped there yet). The museum is ok. I learned all about the Donner Party in school (who hasn't) so I was expecting a pretty good museum but there wasn't much to it. I guess if you know nothing about them it would be educational but for me it was a let down. Stick to the lake, bring a picnic, stick your toes in the fresh water and relax. Fabulous spot.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank merhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
118 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Awesome Lake Donner”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

When in the area, we love to drive to the Summit of Lake Donner. The view is awesome and the lake is beautiful; you will want lots of pictures. We went the first of June and did need a jacket at the summit as it was quite windy and there was a chill in the air. Really did not mind as the view is really awesome. If you are in the Truckee or South Tahoe area, take time to drive to the summit of Donner lake.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank msj57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kmclifford
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Took the drive from South Lake Tahoe up to Donner Lake/Donner Summit. You will not be disappointed if you do the same. The lake is surrounded by mountains and is a beautiful blue color. Excellent pictures and lots of rich history.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank kmclifford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Donner Lake also viewed

 
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Donner Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing