We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around California
from $200.00
More Info
from $199.00
More Info
from $379.00
More Info
from $275.00
More Info
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveler rating
15
3
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
15
3
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mexican border doner pct elevation summit peak hiking passes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 19 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2018

My wife and I hiked a 110 mile portion of the Pacific Crest trail, beginning at Kennedy Meadows, CA and heading north toward Yosemite.

The first part of the trail was quite dry, and you had to be careful to get water when you could find it. After Cottonwood Pass, that became less of an issue.

Much of the trail in this part of California was above 10,000 feet, and it took a while for our midwestern-acclimated bodies to get used to the elevation. After the first week,we were pretty well adapted, and were able to make it over 13,200 foot Forester Pass, and several other passes without too much trouble.

Spectacular scenery, amazing vistas in this section. Plenty of company too, particularly where the trail overlapped the John Muir trail.

Our original plan was to hike about 250 miles to or through Yosemite. Unfortunately I broke my ankle while we were backpacking in Kings Canyon. Hope to make the rest of the trip in the next year or two!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank wi_freq_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2018

Hiked a small area around the Donner Summit - Castle Peak - part of the PCT. Beautiful day - easy hike. Some very nice views across the valleys.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Altius10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2017

Sort of a hidden gem. We accepted from the Whitewater Preserve Park of #10 North of Palm Spring. We have been there a few times and love it. Fairly easy and I think every should try it.

Date of experience: December 2016
1  Thank blacklake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2017

Being from Washington State, the Pacific Crest Trail comes up in lots of conversations off and on. So going to its Southern Terminus was a pretty cool and no cost way to explore on New Years Day. After visiting Tecate, BC, Mexico we drove for about 10 minutes maybe to Campo, California where the PCT Southern Terminus is. Just follow the signs! It maybe takes 5 minutes from the old highway. Its a bit of a spooky area after you see the tons of US Border Patrol Agents all over. We drove right up next to the Wall on the border.

However watch out for the big washout areas in the soft sand on the road. Be very careful if you do not have a truck. You can make it easy just pay attention and park below the small monuments northwest of the border wall. There is a US Border Patrol parking area just to the West of the monuments, do not park there or go over there unless you want a bit of excitement from the US Border Patrol.

Otherwise just walk 3-5 minutes uphill in the sand to the monuments, which have a small barbed wire fence with the road that follows the border wall as you can see in the photos. Its cool and a bit creepy at the same time.

One of my friends was not detoured and walked right up the wall and looked through. No one came but maybe they do at times? Hit and miss.

Enjoy.

Date of experience: January 2017
1  Thank Jeepguy16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2016

My wife and I saw the movie, 'Wild' and she really related to the adventure. We decided recently to do a section near our home in San Diego County so we chose Section #2 - Lake Morena to Mt. Laguna Rec. Area. As we decided to go (in September, just last month) we knew we'd need lots of water so we set off about 8:45 am with 35-40 lb. packs. We skirted the lake area on the east and it did quickly heat up. We reached the bridge (Buckman Springs Rd.) and went under it, and into the meadow leading to Boulder Oaks EQ campgrounds. It got really hot and we found a large oak 1/2 way through the meadow for a nice break from the noon sun. After a rest for the feet we headed over to cross Old Highway 80 and to the Hwy 8 overpass. Stopping there in mid afternoon was nice because after that, the trail headed up and up... We found a great place to camp for the night (3 spots, fairly flat) - for a total of about 8+ miles. The next morning we headed out and decided after a few miles to take a detour down to Cibbets Flats (campground) for a water refill. The water was great and the large trees over the picnic tables was a great place to have lunch. Unfortunately it was quite a grade down to the campground and - back up to the trail. Once back on the trail we - headed up again. We found a couple spots to grab some shade for a brief rest before finally stopping for dinner at a nice tenting spot at about mile 16. We decided to grab the headlamps and finish the 4+ miles to the Burnt Rancheria campground in the Mt. Laguna Rec Area where we had parked our car in advance. On the way up the mountain we ran across a couple of tauranchalas (spelling?) hanging out on the trail, before we hit the semi-flat meadow where by moonlight we could tell we were now in the pines :). The trail was well marked throughout. Through the pines we turned right to parallel Sunrise Highway (could hear slight traffic) for the last mile or so to our turn off. The turnoff was marked with a bunch of signs on a tree (none of which listed our campground) so we turned off to the left (West) and about 400 yards later hit the campground. The hike was hot, to put it mildly, but - we're always up for a challenge, and we had planned for it. We also cut 6 liters of water 50% with Pedialite - great idea. Total, I ended up 7 lbs. lighter when I weighed myself the next morning :) We actually had such a great time, we decided to hit the Southern Terminus and go from there to Lake Morena (Section #1). We're going to do that tomorrow morning (8 Oct 16) Of course, Santa Ana winds and heat just set in for the weekend :) Hooyaa!!!

Date of experience: September 2016
7  Thank sealpct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews