We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hard to believe trees can be so big!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Calaveras Big Trees State Park

Calaveras Big Trees State Park
Ranked #122 of 8,579 things to do in California
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home of the giant sequoias called "Tree Giants," and a great place for family camping. Park entrance is located near Arnold, California.
Silicon Valley, CA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hard to believe trees can be so big!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Was staying in Angels Camp and going to Murphys for the Ironstone Concourse...some great cars there for the public to view on Sunday!

Had some extra time and made the trip to Big Trees State Park. Unfortunately most everything was closed up as part of the government's shut down to save (yeah, right!!!) money. However we did take a mile or so walk through the big trees.

As a lifelong Californian I'd not thought about the Big Tree Park and figured it might be worth visiting.

Well, it is a MUST SEE!!!!

It's amazing that trees could get so large and still stand. I just hope that they are able to continue to be protected.

We didn't have a lot of time but a mile + walk through the forest was fine for seeing some amazing trees.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travelerzz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    61
    8
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great trails, fun with kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Easy north trail, could push a stroller if you need to, lots of trees to see, climb on and through, and great picnic sites.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mbfeldt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Humbling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

We live about 4 hours away from the Big Trees, so we have made several day trips there. It's a favorite spot to take visitors to Northern California. The trees are amazing! You can walk across the stump of the Big One & read about it nearby. There are hikes both short & long. If you love to be in the woods on clear trails among some of the the most majestic creations on earth, some still upright, some fallen that you can walk through - this is a place you will relish. Pack a lunch - there are picnic tables.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank daljulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
286 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“What a nice park!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

We could not see very much of Yosemite so we went to this State Park. What a surprise! This park was great. I wish we had a lot more time to enjoy more of it.

Helpful?
Thank Don224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
99 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Great substitute for Yosemite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

The federal government did its best to ruin our vacation. We had our heart set on the Mariposa Grove in Yosemite. With that being closed, I desperately searched for an alternative and found this park. Turned out to be a great experience. We found no problems with the attendant at the front gate. Too bad the new visitor's center was not open yet as it looks to be very nice. We only had time to hike the North Grove which was spectacular. These trees are a bit smaller than those in Yosemite I am told, but are nonetheless spectacular. We spent about 3 hours on the North Grove trail. We saw some deer, pretty birds, and a forest that felt enchanted. It only seemed to get better with each corner we turned. Be sure to hike the entire North Grove loop. You won't regret it. It's a bit far from anything else. Nearest food and gas are in Arnold but a lot of things were closed being the off-season. We ate dinner in Angel's Camp which also had few options available but had a very charming downtown.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank rogerm001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calaveras Big Trees State Park also viewed

 

Been to Calaveras Big Trees State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing