We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snowy Lake Tahoe experience”
Review of Lake Tahoe

Lake Tahoe
Book In Advance
More Info
$55.00*
and up
Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie II
More Info
$80.00*
and up
M.S Dixie II Sunset Dinner Cruise
More Info
$50.00*
and up
Lake Tahoe Circle Tour Including Squaw Valley
Ranked #107 of 8,939 things to do in California
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This spectacularly beautiful resort lake, with over 70 miles of shoreline, offers two "faces:" family-style on the California side and high-rise casinos on Nevada's side.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Snowy Lake Tahoe experience”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Have recently visited Lake Tahoe from Australia to experience a real snow moment. Had the best of three world in 3 days. First day drive around the lake to view Emerald Bay and panoramic views across the lake and into Sierras, day two while on paddle steamer there was a snow storm and made it a winter wonderland and day three from the 18th floor of the hotel to view the mist over the lake, the alpine mountains followed by a gondola ride to visit Heavenly slope for white powder snow and the buzz of the eagerly awaited snow fall. Just awesome Lake Tahoe - thanks.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 54Barb2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    443
    97
    12
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I'm not an especially spiritual person, but standing at the edge of the lake and taking in the mountain views felt like something of a religious experience. The views alone make the trip here a must... Tahoe might be heaven on earth.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Natasha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Holly, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
688 reviews
252 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Drive Around The Lake For Beauty!”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Drive clockwise, take your time, enjoy the overlooks, and appreciate the beauty of the area! We saw a bear so keep your eyes open for wildlife! Most of all be respectful of others and if your goal is to speed around the lake, please don't. The road is winding at times and don't drive it after drinking or if your driver is not alert. Wonderful experience!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Piseu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
114 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Worthy of all its fabled splendor”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Water, sky and mountains are in glorious syzygy here, and the energy of Tahoe will certainly infuse you as you drive this area. If you are in the Reno-San Francisco corridor, this is a great diversion and something that must be seen. This area abounds with restaurants and recreation. Driving along the lake is exhilarating.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank karmaswimswami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Lake Tahoe!”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

My daughter and I took a trip to Lake Tahoe during our visit to a wedding in Nevada City, CA. We LOVED the view "oohing" over the entire drive around the mountains and as we circled the Lake. Emerald Bay was gorgeous and as we stopped along the pull offs all around the lake I think we took at least 25-50 photos at each stop. We made a stop at one of the Visitors Centers and the man there told us that if we wanted to see wildlife to stop at Taylor's Creek where we would see Salmon spawning and possibly see some bear playing in the creek. We ended up backtracking about 30 min. and so glad we did.We walked the trails, saw thousands of salmon, lots of ducks, a beaver, woodpeckers, and then on our drive we saw a few coyote. Disappointed we didn't run across any bear we met a lot of neat people on the trail and they'd seen the 2 cubs and momma bear several times. We just weren't in the "right place at the right time". We even ended up staying the night in the area so we could go back the next morning. Gorgeous! Would recommend highly!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wunder123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Tahoe also viewed

California, United States
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing