We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Icy cold, bundle up, snow drifts are sometimes a problem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apache Trail Scenic Drive

Apache Trail Scenic Drive
Book In Advance
More Info
$117.00*
and up
Apache Trail and Dolly Steamboat One Day Van Tour
Ranked #77 of 1,804 things to do in Arizona
Certificate of Excellence
Salzburg
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Icy cold, bundle up, snow drifts are sometimes a problem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

It is icy cold up there, but so beautiful. We had a problem in a snowdrift with our car, were stuck up there in the snow, even with a SUV.
The region is very beautiful!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Palmcove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    348
    86
    13
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely Worth It!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

We were only in Phoenix for a few days, but still managed to drive the entire circle. It was worth it! After reading some of the great reviews, I wanted to see it too. I took lots of pictures, but you can't capture the beauty. If you are vacationing near Phoenix, you should try to take a day to enjoy this beautiful drive. We also stopped at Goldfield and Tortilla Flat (for hot Chili), but the most memorable part of the day was the views. Our 5 year old son even enjoyed it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JS2488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Come drive the Apache Trail”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

The Apache Trail is a 45 mile circular drive, it was a stagecoach trail that ran through the Superstition Mountains and was named The Apache Trail after the Apache Indians in the area. Of the 45 miles of trail, most of it is paved and in good condition, there is a 22 mile section in the northern part of the route which is unpaved, but is perfectly drivable preferably in a four wheel drive though. If you are confident driving please do attempt this part of the trail as it it so spectacular, a real treat. The trail can take as long as you want to explore, although a day would be preferable to see all the route and stop at the trailheads.

As an amateur photographer, I would recommend driving the Apache Trail anticlockwise for a number of reasons, firstly the sun is in the right location for photos, particularly for The Supersition Mountains near Goldfield which you will probably reach late afternoon. Also Goldfield town doesn't open till 10am, so if it's your first stop on the list it may be closed. Finally reaching Tortilla Flats is preferable late afternoon, so that you can enjoy their 'Killer Chilli' and the saddles you sit on in their authentic bar having lunch.

There are scenic stops all along The Apache Trail, with parking lots, information, paths and restrooms. I would recommend stopping at Tonto National Monument to explore the 13th/14th and 15th century cliff dwellings situated in the rugged terrain of the Sonoran Desert. Make a stop at Roosevelt Dam, which is quite spectacular and the start of the unpaved section. Along the route make stops at the beautiful Apache Lake, the scenic Fish Hill Creek which looks over an expansive landscape, desert plants and geological formations. Head to Tortilla Flat for lunch, Canyon Lake to enjoy a 90 minute narrated ride on the 'Dolly' steamboat. Finally head towards Goldfield- the valleys only authentic ghost town, where you can pan for gold and witness a gun fight. Here enjoy a 'cactus' ice-cream and watch the sunset behind the stunning Superstition mountains.

This is one of the most scenic drives in the Phoenix area- what are you waiting for?!!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank JoForbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“needed more time....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

So, we had 6 hours to "kill" before going to see the diamonbacks play that evening, in town only for 2 nights to see the ballpark and then back to the midwest, we tried to see as much as possible while there. being from the flat corn country, we loved the scenery, it was incredible. we didnt do the entire trail, only went out as far as the little town of tortilla flat and ate at the restaraunt. great chili, holy cow...very hot...fun place. we spent some time hiking and a lot of time in goldfield ghost town, my son loved it. some may say it is cheesy, but really a great historical piece. For the owners of the shops in Goldfield, a bit of advice....please smile, talk and welcome your customers. too many grouchy people. lol. all in all, I would suggest to drive this scenic trail, just to see the mountains and lakes, etc... its not very dangerous, but i do warn, do not take your eye off the road on this trail, it could be easy to do while wanting to soak it all up. but, enjoy and stop and get out when you can.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank My-Honest-0pinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
213 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Spectacular Scenery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

We didn't complete the whole drive and turned around at Tortilla Flats, but what we saw was spectacular. It's like a forest of saguaro cactus. The Superstition Mountains are very interesting and not at all like the mountains where I live. My husband took many photos of cactus, rocks, and mountains. Next time, we'll plan for more time so we can do the whole thing. Some of the restaurants were closed because it was Thanksgiving Day.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DoubtingNag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Apache Trail Scenic Drive also viewed

Apache Junction, Central Arizona
 
Apache Junction, Central Arizona
 

Been to Apache Trail Scenic Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing