We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such a peaceful and beautiful place to visit.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salt River

Salt River
Book In Advance
More Info
$144.90*
and up
Full-day Salt River Whitewater Rafting Trip
Ranked #893 of 1,811 things to do in Arizona
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This river, which flows through the Phoenix area, offers boating, tubing and whitewater rafting opportunities.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Such a peaceful and beautiful place to visit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

The Salt River is such a beautiful place to hike and watch for wildlife. We went there to find the wild horses but didn't find any. We did get there around 1:00 pm. Several different people said, they had seen the horses in the morning. Not too disappointed as there was much beauty all around us. After hiking along the river, we stopped to rest and were sitting by the rapids listening to the sounds of the river. Some old men were fly fishing to the right of us and we were taking in a small piece of God's beauty. Red tailed hawks and several types of herons were flying past us as we were gazing at Four Peaks in the distance and admiring the golden reflections cast onto the river. It was very peaceful. We were there the last day of January so the temperatures were nice. Remember to always bring water while hiking, you just may end up walking further than you thought you were going to. If you park your car, you need to buy a Tonto Pass. You can now get them online. We bought our pass for six dollars at the Baja gas station. We will definitely return to the Salt River and try to find the wild horses.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lori W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cedros, Jaliso Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Salt River Wild Horses”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Rather than rafting, tubing, kayaking or any other mode of float transportation go early in the morning and see the marvelous wild horses of the Salt River. These animals are a historic treasure!! See "Sale River Wild Horses" web site for fantastic photos and viewing information.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
13 Thank senorapeggyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Tubing down the river was awesome!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

For $15 per person, you can rent a tube & get a ride to the start of the Salt River tubing experience. Bring sunblock, old flip-flops, some food & beverage, & a small cooler that can fit in a tube (rent an extra for $15) & float down this scenic site in Arizona. Spend a few hours relaxing, observing, & enjoying people, sights, & sounds all around you.

Helpful?
1 Thank Teach2travel07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fun for the Family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

There were a lot of people saying: "Don't go. There's no water - the flow is low. The water is stagnant. You'll be stuck with a zillion people for 45 minutes at a time." We went anyway and had a great time. Granted, the water wasn't flowing quickly in many places, but the scenery is beautiful -- think floating by while desert canyon walls soar above you and wild horses drink by the river a few feet in front of you.

Yes -- there is a lot of drinking. Yes -- there is a lot of flirting between 20 somethings - though I didn't see more than that. People were pretty respectful in general when they see kids. My 11 and 13 year olds had a grand time and were not offended by anything. After we exited the water, there were two alpha males verbally going at it, but it didn't come to more than that. And there are a ton of sheriffs around to ensure that the fun stays fun.

I will say that the tubing company tries to get people to throw their trash away and even provides every group a trash bag -- however, there are still creeps out there that throw the trash in the river. At one point when you look down in the river there are hundreds of beer cans. I hear that they clean this up annually, but that was a disappointment.

You can tube without going through the shuttle company, but then you'll need two cars --one parked at the entry point and one parked at the end point. For $15 a pop, you'll get a tube and the shuttle. You really can't beat that.

So like everyone else says: bring your sunscreen, water/beverages in a cooler, a camera and your sense of adventure. You'll have a good time.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Admom27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Salt River Adventure”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

My favorite thing to do when visiting Arizona is to tube down the Salt River. I have participated in this activity for several years. I am finding that with each year, more participants are turning this into a drunkfest. The overall activity is worthy of 5 stars. The fee is nominal (around $10-15 to get transported to the river and provided with a tube and return transportation to car lot). The scenery as you float down the river is breath-taking. At times, you move along very slowly. Then, the thrill of white water carries you swiftly, but, never feeling threatening or extremely dangerous. The cool river feels good in contrast to the hot AZ sun.There are opportunities to stop and picnic if you choose. Although the river is supposedly monitored, it is not uncommon to see people littering, getting drunk, urinating in the river. Without the rif-raf, this would be the perfect adventure. Until more serious monitoring is done, be wary.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank pillow4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt River also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Salt River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing