We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun filled day out”
Review of Matanuska Glacier

Matanuska Glacier
Book In Advance
More Info
$249.00*
and up
Matanuska Glacier Ice Fall Trek
Ranked #71 of 788 things to do in Alaska
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A glacier on which visitors can walk.
Springfield, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun filled day out”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We had planned to do Ice climbing for our 3rd anniversary and it would be our first time. We were quite apprehensive about our trip. We had Reese and Scott as our guides, they eased our way into the climbing experience. Both of them were very professional and friendly. Reese was an excellent photographer as well, which was a added advantage. He took great pics of us climbing, which made our trip even more memorable. We were safe and had a great day. We would definitely recommend mica guides to our friends and would come back for more climbing.Great Job Guys!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mini1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    54
    15
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
383 reviews
167 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Unique experience, hiking on a glacier!”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Recently hiked on the Matanuska Glacier with MICA guides. Wouldn't have done it any other way! Safety was the #1 priority. We wore crampons & helmets. Our guide kept her eyes on us at all times, with the boundaries well defined. Very memorable! A highlight of my trip to Alaska.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank snowy_and_sunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, Indiana, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highlight of our AK trip!”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

When we first began planning our trip to AK, my husband's main request was to get on a glacier and we were referred to MICA Guides. MICA guides Reese and Malcom provided an excellent experience for our ice climbing adventure. Neither my husband nor I had any climbing experience, but we felt both safe and empowered in our first climbing trip. Our guides did an amazing job encouraging us and challenging us throughout the day so that we both achieved better climbs than we had imagined. The views during the whole day were breath-taking and awe-inspiring and our guides shared all kinds of information about the Matanuska glacier. It is an experience we will never forget and is one we would highly recommend to others!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“flyus4”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Our family of 4 went ice climbing on Matanuska Glacier with Mica Guides. It was definitely the most unique experience we had during our Alaska vacation! Our 20 yo son was the only one in the family who had had any prior climbing experience and yet my husband and I (ages 63 and 58) had so much fun under the guiding hands of Matt and Phil. What we enjoyed the most besides the absolute beauty of the glacier was how flexible the guides were to all our different levels of climbing abilities. When my husband and I got tired of climbing it was nice to have the option to sit back and watch our boys have a blast scaling the glacier. We all loved using the crampons!!! Thanks Matt and Phil!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank flyus4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
1,121 reviews
746 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 587 helpful votes
“Easy Access & Nice Glacier for Trekking- Use a Guide”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We visited Matanuska Glacier with Planet Earth Adventures and MICA Guides- I HIGHLY recommend using a guide for the right equipment and general safety. We saw a few people out on the ice with young kids and without crampons or safety equipment; pretty dangerous.

This was our first glacier we visited in Alaska, so while it seemed imposing, it really isn't a huge glacier (especially when compared to Denali National Park and Inner Passage glaciers). What it lacks in size, it makes up for in ease of access- you can drive within a few hundred yards of it. It is under 2 hours from Anchorage and the highway has nice views along the way. The main road closer to the glacier feels pretty narrow, but as long as the driver is driving and not sight-seeing, it is safe.

The glacier itself is only accessible across private property/RV park and the business office collects a per-person entrance fee as you cross through their gate. The road is really rough but passable; I saw a couple cars parked at the glacier that made the short trip (probably rentals!). The glacier is 26 miles long and like all glaciers, it is filled with crevasses; most trek on the first mile or two. Don't expect to find a "visitor's center," restrooms or souvenir shop here- this attraction is not developed.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank JT_Turner3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matanuska Glacier also viewed

 

Been to Matanuska Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing