We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly Peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Islazur Mirador de Mayabe
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Holguin
Minden, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Incredibly Peaceful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

After the bustle of an oceanside resort, arriving to Villa Islazur Mirador de Mayabe was like arriving to a piece of heaven. This quiet 24 room resort, boasts incredible views, nice spacious rooms, and tasteful grounds. It's proximity to Holguin allows for the cultural experience of the city without having to stay in the city. After a day trip into Holguin, returning to Villa Islazur felt like returning to a mountain cabin retreat. If you are looking for a quiet resort with a more Cuban experience, I highly recommend Villa Islazur Mirador de Mayabe.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cynthia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    33
    36
    5
    3
See reviews for
14
34
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

I have tried hard to give this strange hotel 3 on the rating scale - it was possibly a charming hotel many years ago. I am sure the staff were unaware of how seedy it had become in comparison to the standards available for ordinary travelers elsewhere in Cuba; they were cheerful and enthusiastic - it feels cruel to be so critical. It was not helped by arriving on a Sunday when there was a weekend special deal for locals to eat, drink and sleep for an all inclusive cheap rate - consequently the pool area was overrun by over excited revelers and the disco music obliterated any opportunity of enjoying the spectacular setting. It was difficult to retreat to the threadbare rooms and read or relax because the sound was deafening and the two rooms we had taken only had one functioning light bulb each. The bathrooms fared little better. The staff were as helpful as they could be both at reception and in the bar/restaurant. Food was fresh, basic and cheap. Bar prices were the lowest we found in Cuba. This is a very reasonably priced hotel and quite possibly we got what we paid for - with a little attention to detail and a whole army of people to restore the grounds, this could be sensational - the location is magnificent. It is one of the few half decent options in the area so if you want to explore all of Cuba, you will come to no harm and with a sense of humor, could enjoy a one night stop-over.

Room Tip: Request one of the more recently refurbished rooms - I dread to think what the others are like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Portcred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Don't be decieved by the wonderful view and the pool. Rooms poor with cockroaches - we had to put a bin over the drain. Food tasteless and rather an unpleasant feel about the place. I wouldn't recommend this hotel for families or for doing anything more than a stop over to or from the airport.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel for families or for doing anything more than a stop over to or from the airport.

The band in the restaurant were lovely!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank helen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landmark, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

The view is totally spectacular. The lobby and restaurant look nice with the open thatched roofs, etc. The rooms weren't too bad either, but of course there were many issues. The AC did not work even after a guy came and fiddled with it. The shower head was not mounted to the wall, creating problems. However, the place was clean. The breakfast was OK.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank truenorth76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
652 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

The location of this small resort outside Holguin is excellent, the views are spectacular, out towards the mountains and over the valley below, but, unfortunately, that is just about where the positives end. The pool area is pleasant and busy during the day with local families but the rooms are decidedly poor. Ours was dirty, there were lightbulbs missing and the whole place had an area of neglect. The food was no better than average and the service in the bar was friendly but painfully slow. This was amongst the most disappointing places we stayed at during our two week trip around Cuba. It's a shame as the chalet area and the aforementioned views promised so much more than we got. The donkey was around, we didn't see it drinking though thankfully.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Howellsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

The Mirador de Mayabe was on an attractive site with a swimming pool and friendly staff, but the whole catering system was dire.

The menu is limited and during out stay was made even more so by the absence of the published chicken, prawns, salad (only cucumber), fruit and finally, on two days, there was even an absence of bread. The staff were obviously embarrassed at having to serve such an inadequate selection. The breakfast menu was a joke: bread (on a good day); bread and butter (obviously worthy of a separate entry); toast; toast and butter; scrambled eggs with ham/cheese/onion; omelette with ham/cheese/onion etc. Fruit juice was not even offered, and the yoghurt on the menu was never available. Our last breakfast of fried eggs was served with small dry crackers as there was no bread.

The food here is shameful. The managers of Islazul hotels have much to learn.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JePaRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Its a really relaxing place to go. They remodel the pool, painted all around & added swings to the bar area, i don't recommend eating at the bar, they usually have chicken , & fries, or pork steaks, nothing to die for & not worth the money, I would say pay for the entrance which I think it might be 4 cuc - not sure , & then eat at the restaurants they have, its definitely worth going, the city looks beautiful from up there. the only downside is that is really far from the city, & also the rooms are really old fashioned .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YalilyLastra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holguin
40.4 mi away
Villa Pinares de Mayari
Villa Pinares de Mayari
#7 of 10 in Holguin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
22.4 mi away
Islazul Villa Don Lino
Islazul Villa Don Lino
#4 of 4 in Rafael Freyre
3.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
69.1 mi away
Roc Santa Lucia (Ex Gran Club)
Roc Santa Lucia (Ex Gran Club)
#1 of 4 in Playa Santa Lucia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Islazul Villa El Bosque
Islazul Villa El Bosque
#9 of 10 in Holguin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
2.5 mi away
Villa Cayo Saetia
Villa Cayo Saetia
#6 of 10 in Holguin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
30.3 mi away
Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Islazur Mirador de Mayabe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Islazur Mirador de Mayabe

Property: Villa Islazur Mirador de Mayabe
Address: Alturas de Mayabe, Km 8 | Mayabe, Holguin 80100, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Holguin Province > Holguin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Holguin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Villa Islazur Mirador de Mayabe 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa Islazur Mirador de Mayabe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Islazur Mirador De Mayabe Hotel Holguin
Villa Islazur Mirador De Mayabe Cuba/Holguin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing