We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing in the sun”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Holguin
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Relaxing in the sun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

The resort is nicely spaced out and we were impressed by the staff and the quality of food. It is worth while to upgrade to the PLUS section, adding a few more bars and ala cartes. All in all though the resort was beautiful to stay at and we would return.

Room Tip: If you get a choice, sections 16, 17 and 18 are the nicest locations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Steveandelda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,983 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    929
    1,336
    466
    165
    87
See reviews for
773
1,146
174
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (648)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

Having been to Holguin a number of times and stayed at better and poorer rated resorts, we fully appreciate the need to manage expectations, however, we sincerely regret staying at the Blau and will never stay at a Blau resort again. Why this resort is apparently popular is a complete mystery - there are many others with much better value.
We opted for the Plus Section inclusion and this was a real waste of money - neither the Sunwing rep nor the Blau rep could identify some of the supposed benefits. And with the exception of the VIP bar, there is nothing exclusive about it. As to Blau management - they seem to operate the resort on the premise that 'once you are there they need not care.'
It is hard to imagine that a resort can mess up something as simple as scrambled eggs - the Blau version was little more than yellow slop. If you like salads, at the Blau that means without lettuce - which showed up 1 day out of 7. Overall the food was poor to just plain bad - with a la carte restaurant descriptions being a trip to fantasy world - 'black forest cake' was vanilla sponge cake with chocolate sauce and 'scallops in cream' was a congealed rubbery goo. As to drinks, how they are made changes from bar to bar and will just as easily not be available because they don't have all the ingredients. At the beach bar they had no glasses, so whatever limited drinks they had you needed to find your own cup or glass.
On the service front, if you have a problem, the only response from the resort is 'we tell the responsible about it' and then you can just wait. It took 3 days to just get water stocked in our fridge.
While the beach was nice, if you want to go into the water, definitely bring water shoes because almost the entire water edge is jagged rock.
On a positive note, and as a saving grace, we had great weather and both the resort and our room were very clean.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welland, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

My husband and I were guests of the Blau Costa Verde Plus, Suite 27202 from April 10th - 24th. We are regular travellers to Cuba and normally choose adult only venues. We have previously stayed at Royal Hicacos, (formerly Sandals) and the Paradisus Princesa del Mar in Varadero, Iberostar Ensenachos, (formerly Royal Hideaway) and the Royalton in Cayo Santa Maria, the Paradisus Rio de Oro in Holguin and our new favorite the Melia Cayo Coco. We chose the Blau as our daughter and her family including our twin 17 month grandsons were travelling with us for the first week so we needed a family friendly resort. We got a great deal out of Toronto and the new Plus section with it's own pool, exclusive restaurants and VIP bar sounded ideal. Having never before booked a Cuban 4* we had little to no expectations going in and were thus very pleaseantly surprised at how well everything turned out.
We thought our room in Block 27 was well situated as it was never a long walk to get to where we wanted to go. Our room was spacious with more than adequate closet and storage space. The mini fridge was re-stocked daily and extra water was supplied when we asked. We found the bed to be very comfortable. Balcony was a good size but as it got full afternoon sun, it was simply too hot to enjoy in the late afternoon.
With the exception of one day when we decided to try the Beach Grill, breakfast and lunch was taken in the main buffet. Although service here was a bit slow due mainly to limited staff during a time when the hotel was at full occupancy, we found no fault with what was on offer. The daily soups were delicious, and though lettuce was lacking there were other salad offerings. Loved the guava and papaya from the fruit bar and the ice cream was delish. We opted to order from the cooking stations and though there was a bit of a wait to get your eggs or entree made to your order it certainly didn't differ from other resorts we have visited. Tables were being cleared and set up in a timely manner and eating utensils were always clean.
We were lucky to get seatings in all the a la cartes both weeks we were there. The only disappointment had to be the Plus lobster dinner as the lobster was very mushy as if it had been thawed in hot water before being added to the grill. Otherwise we enjoyed our meals in the Gourmet, Spanish and Cuban restaurants. The Italian served up some good food but service here was extremely slow as again it seemed as if there were not enough staff to handle the volume of guests.
We spent most of our time at the new Plus pool and yes you did have to get there early if you wanted a place in the shade. They really do need to erect a few more shade structures. Once some of the vegetation grows in this may not be such a problem. The pool bar was a lovely area to quench your thirst and escape from the sun for a bit. Bartenders were very friendly, efficient and quick to serve. Wait service to your loungers was a bonus.
The beach was more crowded than others we have visited but still a nice place to cool off. Though it was a bit pebbly we never had difficulty entering the water. Towel service was great as were the beach bartenders. Having the shower located just off the beach was much appreciated by those of us who need to rinse off the salt water after a refreshing dip.
Our favorite hangout soon became the VIP bar. Sonnelly and Eduardo were so much fun and made some really good specialty coffees and drinks. Despite how busy it often was, service was always excellent.
In summation we had a really good holiday. Somehow the Blau Costa Verde just grew on us and by the time we had to start getting ready to leave we were seriously talking about a return. The Blau Costa Verde is a solid 4* property and a great value for your money.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronnie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

We stayed at Blau Costa Verde from April 25th to May 2nd in the Plus section. When we arrived, we were greeted by a gigantic cockroach on our front door (stay away from room 28301) as well as other bugs flying around. Yes, this is Cuba, and some bugs are expected, but I have been to Cuba before and never saw anything like this. Literally 10 flying cockroach-like bugs and one huge definite cockroach within 5 minutes of arriving... Disgusting. Block 28 seems to have this problem at the corner rooms on the third floor because they are wide open to the trees and wildlife (swamp) behind them. That aside, we changed rooms, and the 2nd floor in Block 26 is MUCH better.

The rooms are functional at best. The toilets smelled, but the A/C worked well. The rooms were not cleaned that well, and there were often stains left behind on the floor, especially in the hallways. The beds are concrete level hard, so be ready to wake up with some leg and back cramps. Also, there are no irons or ironing boards in the non-Plus rooms, which I think is really cheap of the hotel.

Block 26 is pretty close to the VIP pool so I would recommend that one. The VIP pool is big and offers enough loungers that no one is ever without one. Shady spots are few and far between and so you have to get there early to get one. The water was nice and the pool and wet bar were both kept clean. Bartenders were very friendly and attentive. There's always keep one thing in mind, though... The service level is not what you are used to in Canada. You may wait 5 minutes before getting a drink. That said, they will serve you with a smile on their face and call you their friends. Very nice people.

The buffet food was really hit and miss. The ham and cheese sandwiches, pizza, omelettes, and pastas were all great, but we got tired of all of this within 3 days. Lunch and dinner buffets are not really themed and they only change up a few of the items daily. My other issue with the buffet is that you can sit down at a table that you think is clean (ie, new glasses setup with napkins) and find dirty cutlery... Just keep an eye out for this. On the plus side, neither of us got sick once this trip!

The Gourmet (Lobster and French at Paradis restaurant) a la cartes were really good. The lobster had a lot of flavour and was both tender and cooked well. The Spanish a la carte was not so great, and the building it was hosted in smelled of manure.

Entertainment was done very well. The water show was amazing, as was the Latin show. The dancers were very talented.

Overall, if you've been to Cuba before, you know what to expect. Don't go expecting amazing food or quick service or super clean rooms, because you won't get what you're used to in North America. This resort made for an inexpensive, relaxing vacation to enjoy the sun and water, and that's exactly what we wanted. We won't be going back to this resort and will opt for a 5 star next time.

Room Tip: Block 26 is both Plus and close to the VIP pool. 2nd floor inner rooms (ie, your front door doesn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frank0718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

This was our 13th visit to Blau from March 26-April 23. We chose Blau because this was a long stay and we are familiar with the resort, the staff, the area and the local people. The Blau has never disappointed us in the past and we were very happy with this visit, as well.
We opted to divide our stay in both sides of the resort but with Blau Plus priviledges. We spent the first 8 days in Block 6 and the last 20 in Block 16. Decor in both rooms was the same but we had problems with water temperature fluctuations in the shower and poor AC in the first room. Loved the digital AC, great bedside reading lamps, water pressure and the coffee machine in the new room. We had great maid service in both.
We didn't spend a lot of time on the beach but when we did we had no problem finding shade at 9:30am. They addressed the longer walk to the bar by setting up a portable bar farther down. This was done when the hotel was at capacity.
We spend most of our time at the pool in shade, if possible. Spent our first 2 weeks in the garden by the hammocks at the older pool. Once the resort was full this became impossible because there was a severe shortage of pool cots at the old pool. The new Plus pool is very nice and it is cooler as it gets more breeze. May change when the trees grow in. They were erecting more shade while we were there. The Plus Pool Bar is nice and there is also a dry side. This side is open until 10:30 pm and a quiet place for an after dinner drink or coffee. There was also chair side service most days.
The poolside snack bar has doubled in size. That meant the Cuban Restaurant had to be moved to the the beach side buffet in the evenings. The Lobby Bar is always a nice spot in the evenings and there is table service in the breezy upper lobby. They also use the portable bar (rum based drinks only) during the evening entertainment for speedier service. The VIP bar is very nice and Eduardo, Junior & Sonnelly do a great job. The drink menu is extensive and premium alcohol. The only problem is that it is way too small. Seriously needs an expansion. Maybe an outside patio?
We have never had a problem with the food at Blau. A buffet is the same everywhere but there was a large selection and spices and condiments available. The Italian and the (Plus) Gourmet Restaurant were our favs. The Cuban is a big disappointment and used to be our favorite. Can't comment on the Spanish because we never went. The A la Carte tickets say long pants for men but they also accept Bermuda dress shorts. When the buffet was busy they would seat you. That way you got a clean table. There is a new Food & Beverage Manager from a larger resort in the DR. He is working hard to pull it all together and it was evident. My husbands special birthday dinner in the Italian was spectacular. The staff outdid themselves.
The Front Desk Staff was always friendly and efficient. A smile goes both ways. Barbara in public relations has been very busy with weddings. With Yulacet and Anabel as assistants things were going smoothly.
The staff at this resort are exceptional. It is difficult to be efficient and social when you are busy but they manage to pull it off. You seldom come across a rude staff member but that cannot be said for the clients.
Recommendations:
Enlarge VIP Bar
Repair all latches on public washroom stalls
Repair Out of Order toilets that have been such for 4 years
Supply hand towels or better hand driers
More Pool Cots (Stacked to the side like the beach)
A maintenance checklist for all rooms before they deteriorate
Keep light bulbs in stock
Coffee Bar on Plus side. Placed in open center would also unify the new section (where original pool was supposed to be)
Pass out small maps at check-in with operation hours of bars and restaurants on back
All Travel Groups need to be consistent with their room categories
We will return to Blau. It is still our favorite resort in Cuba and can only get better with a little effort. The new Blau General Manager and the new Food & Beverage Manager are making a concentrated effort.

Room Tip: Block 16 & 17 close to new pool and beach but 28 closer to all other ammenitites
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TequilaNovaScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

We travelled to the Blau Costa Verde Plus through Air Transat April 12 to 23. We paid for the upgrade to Plus in order to get in the new section, have an exclusive pool, pool bar and the VIP bar. Much to our disappointment the hotel was not enforcing who used the exclusive facilities so we paid extra but those who didn't also got to use the facilities. We even saw those who were not "plus" in the VIP bar.

The rooms in the new part didn't seem very new. The drapes were falling off, there was not stripping around the door so the bugs and ants could come in, and the light outside the door was out and ceiling tiles were missing. The room pictures on the travel company sites must have been take on day one. The beds were hard and had plastic backed matress covers which made you sweat. The room AC worked well so we were pleased with that.

The hotel expanded the number of rooms but they didn't expand the beach facilities. The beach was absolutely packed with people....loungers were close together and three to four rows deep. The main pool was busy and the "exclusive" pool was very nice with a separate swim up bar section so you didn't have to swim in that part with the partiers and those that never leave the pool even for the bathroom despite consuming alcohol. The towel game was in play every day. If you didn't put your towels on chairs by 6:30 in the morning you couldn't get a palapa and shade. This went for the pool or the beach.

The food was not very good. Best meal of the day was breakfast where you could get fresh cooked eggs. The pizza in the Italian restaurant at lunch was good and the ice cream was good. Other than that it was edible but not something to write home about - but expected for Cuba.

We met one couple who travelled with Noli Tours and they were in building one - they were told they had to put their toilet paper in the garbage - not flush it down. They upgraded to the plus section.

The weather was perfect, the drinks in the VIP bar were great and our tours were fun. Snorkeling and the hobbie cat catamaran ride was great. Nightly entertainment was well done most of the time.

We found that the hotel could have been cleaner. There was dirt and dust under the beds, the hallways were dirty and some of the public bathrooms always smelled like urine. The public stalls are also designed very small and are uncomfortable to use.

We would not return to this resort but instead would pay the money to go to a 5* resort.

Room Tip: We were in Bldg. 26 - close to pool and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sambez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mississauga
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

BCV. What can I say,,, 2 trips down in 3 months. Can you tell I love the place!! My reviews stand the same as my January post,, food great! Beach beautiful!! People and staff are awesome!!!! We travelled this time for 5 days 4 nights via sunwing from Toronto,, check in was easy,, rooms were beside each other block 2. I can't say enough on how hard staff and entertainment work here,, from the maids to the chefs servers bartenders and the entertainment staff,, and let's not forget the security around the resort who's always looking after the tourists!! Our stay was great weather was hot lots of activities on the beach and around the pool,, Wednesday nights is their beach party. Don't miss it, the evening shows were good,,, would love to see more of the entertainment team do their thing on stage I always find those shows pretty funny,, shows end around 10 30 and shortly after the diso opens till 2. Great music at the diso the dj does a great job of keeping a mix of music. My personal preference I love the Spanish music and could go all night dancing to it. But unfortunately there are some that like to listen to the same old music that's on our radio back home!! But like I said the dj does a good job Of mixing it up,, I don't have any complaints in regards to the hotel and my stay. People when traveling to Cuba take in the culture and music and enjoy where you are,, enjoy the simplicity of life and you can't go wrong ,,,, entertainment staff hard workers with a smile on their face always!! Handro ;) marybel,, Dariel,, micheal And the others miss you guys and will be back soon. Besos

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank pinto9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holguin
2.5 mi away
Memories Holguin Beach Resort
Memories Holguin Beach Resort
#3 of 4 in Rafael Freyre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Playa Pesquero
Hotel Playa Pesquero
#1 of 4 in Rafael Freyre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,469 reviews
4.4 mi away
Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Playa Costa Verde
Hotel Playa Costa Verde
#2 of 4 in Rafael Freyre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,240 reviews
4.0 mi away
Sol Rio de Luna y Mares
Sol Rio de Luna y Mares
#1 of 3 in Guardalavaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,545 reviews
226.0 mi away
Memories Paraiso Beach Resort
Memories Paraiso Beach Resort
#12 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort

Property: Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort
Address: Playa Pesquero, Holguin 0000, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Holguin Province > Holguin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Holguin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort is located on the seafront next to the fine white sandy beach of Playa Pesquero in eastern Cuba. Our Holguin resort is surrounded by luscious tropical vegetation. At Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort the natural environment is fully incorporated into the resort. Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort offers spectacular views from our rooms over 36 000 m2 of gardens and natural vegetation. Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort offers (with extra charge): Souvenir shops. Car and moped rental. Taxi service. Parking. Laundry service. Medical services: nursing service in the hotel and medical visits on request. Bureau de change in reception. Massage services. Hairdressers. Special dinner. Weddings. Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort ALL INCLUSIVE: Breakfast, lunch and buffet dinner. 2 á la carte restaurants per week, reservations are required. *Dress code long trousers. Local beverages and select international brands. Non-motor water sports. Sporting activities: volleyball, basketball, tennis, aerobics and snorkelling, daytime and evening entertainment programme including Spanish lessons, dance classes, and nightly shows. Minibar. Teatime. Discotheque. Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blau Costa Verde Beach Hotel Holguin
Blau Costa Verde Cuba
Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort Cuba/Holguin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing