We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must see: youthful, parties, happy, and clean.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Holguin
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A must see: youthful, parties, happy, and clean.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

First off, people need to cool their jets. Blau is an amazing resort in Cuba (coming from someone who has seen other resorts). You can't go to a three star resort in Cuba and expect to see a five star mexican resort with people carrying you around like a goddess.

I'm giving you an honest review.

The best part, I went on reading week and it was not over crowded. Some resorts pack a TON of guests in and your experience is annoying because it is so busy.

Due to all the activities and restaurants, Blau was busy but NEVER crowded.

There is no struggle to get beach chair because they have staff there, with a stack of beach chairs, that you simply walk up to and tell them where you want to sit and they bring you chairs there.

They have free snorkelling, disco (excellent music), salsa lessons, bingo, beach volleyball, bochee ball, which some are awarded prizes before the beginning of their evening shows.

Their shows are hilarious and entertaining. The staff is super helpful and friendly. One named Leo saw me sitting in the lounge with my legs burnt and he brought me his personal Aloe Vera because the store was now closed.

I also visited the doctor for my burn and she was super helpful for I was seen as soon as I walked in and given lotion.

The maids stalk your fridge with beer, and water every day (which is great). The buffet has a lot of options and they always have a different theme.

If you tip the gardner, he will bring you a coconut with the top cut off so you can enjoy come fresh coconut water.

The rooms were always cleaned well and when you arrive, you might not think you have power in your room but you have to put your room key in the slot next to the lights for your room to have power.

I had an allergic reaction when I was at Blau (I am allergic to dairy and I wasn't being careful enough) and the doctor came to my room at 4:30 a.m. and the front desk called my room every few minutes to make sure I stayed awake till he arrived. Super efficient and super helpful.

What ever you need the staff will get it for you, and if you are worried about the food you have options, the surf and turf down by the beach, the snack bar with burgers and fries, or the italian restaurant that is open for lunch with calzones, pizza, or pasta (I got my pizza without cheese). The buffet also has a grill section, and steamed rice (I lived off these two items). They have an excellent salad bar, and often had delicious sandwich meats.

For breakfast the omelet bar and the fruit were amazing.

The rooms were spacious, but the beds were a little hard (more like not really broken in).
Our shower was a little different. It had the removable shower head where you could take it off the stand and use it. Something I wasn't use to.
Every room has a balcony which was awesome.

The coffee and expresso was awesome (I take mine black).

There were a lot of young people there (20+) and a lot of older folks who loved to party with us. It was a great atmosphere.

Room Tip: Eat lunch at the italian restaurant mmmm the best. Get a coconut from the gardner. Go snorkellin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juelsx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    929
    1,336
    464
    165
    87
See reviews for
773
1,146
174
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (647)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

we left nova scotia to go to the hotel Blau Costa Verde from 13th feb 2013 to 20th feb 2013 we went with friends it was their 6th time there our 1st and we where extremely pleased with the hotel we stayed in block one near the gardens a lovely quite spot not too far to walk to things beach pool ect the food was brilliant our friends said it had really improved this year . our room was clean no sign of bed bugs the mattress was a little hard so put the brown blaket under the sheet that sorted the problem out plenty of great trips to go on we went on the jeep safari i am 49 and my husband 57 and it was awsome it also include speed boat ride a horse ride and lunch but if you want to ride your own jeep remeber to take your drivers licence the staff are so friendly and any little problem they are willing to sort out no problem the beach guy Abe is a good man always has a smile on his face the snorkiling is fantastic so if your lkkoing for a good hotel and a fantastic beach you cant go wrong we would book this hotel again and construction nearly finished the new rooms pool ect look amazing well done Costa Verde

Room Tip: block one was so peaceful and not far too walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank annette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casares, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from 2 weeks at this hotel, and there are good, bad and ugly points.
GOOD
The pool, grounds and beach are excellent. The pool area is clean and spacious with a swim up bar (when there is a barman) and plenty of loungers. The grounds are well kept and nice to walk around. The beach is one of the best I have been to. Shallow clear water is ideal for kids and great free snorkeling and water sports, With the beach bar and the entertainment team playing Cuban music it was pure pleasure. The evening entertainment is very good, and the water ballet is excellent. Get your seat early for this. The pizzas in the Italian at lunchtime are excellent and the beach restaurant was great for lunch.
BAD
The rooms are very, very tired and look unclean even though they are cleaned daily. Although the staff are great, there seems to be a lack of something often there is only 1 barman running the main bar and the pool bar, and it can be a challenge getting served. The hotel ran out of Vodka one day butter another. Although the food was varied and plentiful it was often cold. The selection was "interesting" Brussel Sprouts" for breakfast! And the Italian and Cuban restaurants are definitely NOT "A la Carte" When it rains there is nothing to do, and no facility to accomodate anything.
UGLY
Twice I had food from the 24hr main bar and both times I had the runs the next day. A complaint to the customer relation concerning one of the staff received scant attention and no follow up despite the fact the staff member had insulted my wife, when she had asked for her pasta to be remade as it was burnt. Tipping, although I believe in tipping it has become almost compulsory in Cuba now, almost to the point where you feel it is being demanded for every little thing.
IN GENERAL
This could and should be a lovely hotel but it misses by a fair way. It is not 4 star, 3 at best. We did have a good holiday and Danane our Thompson rep was excellent. A special mention must also go to Leo, Jonney and the entertainment team, who work very hard keeping us all happy. Do go on the Island paradise trip and the jeep safari 2 great days worth every penny. The building work is almost complete and does NOT interfere with the holiday. Would I go back to Blau? probably not.

Room Tip: Rooms in block 2 are probably the quieter ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A1SSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort is rather a small resort compared to others in Latin America. However, they are in a middle of constructions to enlarge the resort. The construction is unnoticeable sound-wise and they mark their zones. I've gone to this resort in February 2013 and I've observed that most of the tourists are 45+ years old. Of course there are families and teenagers, but not that much, which means that the ambiance is really relaxing over there. Going to Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort wouldn't be the stereotype Spring break trip.

Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort is situated near Playa Costa Verde, but tourists cannot visit the neighboring hotel freely. If you wish to visit Playa Costa Verde that shares the same Playa Pesquero, you would need to go the reception or at the Public Relations Desk an authorization for the visit and you will have a working member accompanying you to the other hotel. There is only one buffet "La Arcada" and 3 à la carte restaurants: La Cascada, Trattoria II Ponticello, and Sol y Mar. All of the à la carte restaurants are open air places. Reservations for à la carte restaurants are done at the Public Relations Desk, next to the reception. It closes at 3:00pm. We can choose 3 à la carte restaurants per week. La Arcada has a terrace and offers a nice variety of meals at breakfast, lunch, and dinner time. Food in Cuban resorts doesn't taste great compared to other resorts in the Latin America; although there's a variety of food, your choice is still limited. The food tastes a bit washed out; the flavors are not concentrated enough. What's interesting is that there is live music at the buffet depending on the day of the week. Blau Costa Verde also has Laguna Azul snack bar that is open 24 hours and it offers any drinks you'd like to order and fast food like hot dogs, hamburgers, sandwiches, and fries. Their ketchup tastes like BBQ sauce (which is different and good actually), but you won't have ketchup with your fries everyday because they might run out of it. If you want to order Tequila, you should ask for gold Tequila (a better quality taste). The service is slow; there are not many bartenders or waiters and they're not really good at keeping track of who's coming first or not. They also have really long shifts (16 hours), so it might be obvious that their customer service is not as effective as it should be. The Italian à la carte restaurant Trattoria II Ponticello is open during the day too and there's no need for reservations; they offer many kinds of pizza at lunch time.

The pool is between the snack bar and the theater for night shows. There's also a bar in the pool. At the left of the theater, we can find a place with workout machines, a ping pong table, and a pool table. In front of this place we can find the gym. Next to the gym there's the kids' entertainment place. The discotheque is open air and small. The bar at the discotheque doesn't offer any kind of drinks; only beer, tequila, rum, and vodka. There are no such drinks like piña colada, mojito, margarita, etc. Unfortunately, they don't play a lot of Cuban music at the discotheque; it's mostly international songs to accommodate tourists' taste. It's kind of sad because they play Cuban music during the day, but there's no dancing going on. At the discotheque, you can ask the DJ who's on the upper floor to play whatever song you'd like. The stairs are behind next to the bathroom.

We can find bathrooms in the lobby next to the stage, at the snack bar, behind the Sol y Mar restaurant, and at the discotheque.

There are two bars at the beach. The main one is right next to the place to change our beach towels. There's no need to present a card for the exchange; it's only necessary to give your dirty towels in exchange for clean ones. It is very important to remember to leave your beach towels in your room when you check-out or else you'd have to pay extra fees.

There is a Bureau de change in the lobby to change your money into CUC (Cuban convertible pesos). It opens from 8:30am-5:30pm. You need to present your passport every single time you change your money otherwise the line-up will get even longer for you. You can also change your money into CUC at the reception, but you will receive less due to service fees.

There's a room where we can use the Internet. There are 3 computers, but only one functions. You'd have to buy a card to access Internet at the reception; it's 6 CUC for 60 minutes. You have no choice, but to buy that card. However, you can use your minutes every now and then during your staying. Do not forget to log out from your session when you're done using the Internet or else it will keep charging your Internet credits. Also, you should expect that their Internet is slow. It's better to buy the Internet card than a calling card. The calling card charges 2 CUC per minute. It's crazy, so go with the Internet card.

Next to the Public Relations Desk there is a room where you can leave your luggage when you check out (obligatorily at 12:00am), but it doesn't cost you anything.

Rooms are clean enough. There is a safe deposit case in each room. It's a bit difficult to open the doors. You have a mini-fridge with only drinks, and no snacks. If your bottle of water is half full or more than that, they won't give you a new one. Same thing goes for soaps, and towels. Depending where your room is, I recommend to hang your availability sign (red; not to bother at the moment, and green; to clean the room asap) on the door and to insert the end of the paper between the door crack or else the wind will blow it away. There are no bed lies in the room; whatever bites you get on your body comes from mosquitoes. They are unavoidable. My OFF and After Bite products weren't even effective enough. I easily have 20 mosquito bites on each leg and arm -literally.

A lot of tourists have recommended to get Legendario 7 años rum in Cuba, but there's none in Holguin. You'd have to go to Habana, which is 9 hours from Holguin and taxis cost a lot. If you are interested in buying cigars, cigarettes, and alcohol, do your gift purchases once you arrive at the International airport of Holguin on your way back to your country because the same products are less expensive. Whatever gift you buy (art crafts in wood/any material, cigars, cigarettes, alcohol, coffee, even lighters), you should put all of them in your luggage or else they will throw them away at the International airport of Holguin. You cannot have these objects in your carry-on bag(s).

The entertainment team seems to be great. However, the members don't always work together; they are separated in different fields/parts of the resort for different activities. For dance classes, there are two at 12:00-12:30am and at 4:30-5:00pm. There is a board of daily activities hung on the wall next to the buffet La Arcada, but they don't follow precisely what they have published. You can always have private dance lessons with an animator, but you'd have to talk to him/her (and it's free).

There's an aquatic center on the beach where you can reserve catamarans, surf boards, etc. There is also a diving center situated a bit farther than the discotheque; you'd have to walk a bit (6-8 minutes).

There are security guards everywhere in this resort, but they are really friendly. I believe that they enjoy conversations with tourists to practice their English and/or French and their company because they have to stand in their zone looking for 16 hours. Their shifts are just insane. If you feel lost, you can ask them anything and they'll help you. Blau Costa Verde is a really safe place to be.

There are a few desks in the lobby where you can check out for excursions. With Nolitours, the excursions actually vary from $44.00-100.00.

The beach is nice. The water is clear. You should bring sandals to go in the water because there are rocks. You can go bare foot and it's not that bad, but it's better to wear sandals to prevent any injures.

Blau Costa Verde is a nice place to go. However, I don't think that it's appropriate for everyone because there's something that bothered me is that there are a lot of smokers in the resort and it seems that they can smoke everywhere. Although it's forbidden to smoke at the bar, people who smoke at the snack bar without sitting at the bar is just the same thing. Having a smoking environment is not the best when there are children around.

Maybe the service quality is not the best that I've seen, but the Cuban's kindness is memorable, which changes our perspective on the trip. They are sympathetic and friendly. I wouldn't necessarily have this resort/place on the top 5 of my traveling list, but I think I could go back one day. It's worth for a first visit and that's all I can say.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank missMondai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baden(outside Toronto)
Level Contributor
123 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Start off by saying been to most Carribean Islands.
We travelled week of February 11th with our 2 & 4yr old children.

Overview, resort was very nice, food I found great for Cuba, staff was good.

Rooms - Very spacious, staff accomodated us by putting in single bed & crib on top the two double (Cuban) size beds. They were clean. As for decor if this is your concern it would be comparable to two star in Canada and in need of updating.

Food - Great buffet, always someting to find. People at the stations were great. Breakfast make your own omelettes, bacon, cereal, hot chocolate, fruit all the necessities. Lunch we never once made it to buffet the Pizza is amazing at the Italian restaurant and ate it everyday but one. The other time was the beach restaurant which is fairlly new, the grilled chicken leg was fantastic. Supper we did the Beach restaurant and Cuban restaurant, both were excellent. As side note we waited day to reserve and could not get into the Italian. Buffet was good, always something to eat.

Pool - Excellent for kids & adults

Kids club - Staff was amazing. Not much to it, but kids loved to have break from sun to just colour or do blocks.

Entertainment - WOW!! Blown away at a couple shows. I've stayed at over 10 all inclusive resorts over the years and this one had an amazing show at the pool. I'm not saying anything else, its a must. Beach show was great too.

Overall loved it, we'd go back in a minute.
With the expansion not sure if it would be ideal for family as it will be spread out. Can't wait to hear the reviews when it opens.

Room Tip: Take ketchup & salsa as food is bland in Cuba.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank qtpiede19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King City, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

My boyfriend and I traveled to this resort from Jan 5 - 12, 2013. We had an absolute BLAST. We were a bit weary heading to Cuba after hearing a few nightmare stories from friends, but we had a small budget and went with open minds. (I should mention that we are 27, are very easy going travellers, and are mostly happy with a simple roof over our heads).
The Blau Costa Verde is a perfect resort to go if you don't have the funds for the more lavish islands. Yes, the beds were a bit hard, but after reading a review on here before we left, I laid out the extra bed pillows and slept like a baby - the endless cocktails and sun throughout the day usually induce a heavy sleep anyway!
The staff were AMAZING - super friendly and always made you feel comfortable. After creepy experiences with staff in a few other places I have traveled, I was happy to never once be made to feel uncomfortable by staff members or vendors.
The beach is beautiful, and as mentioned in many other reviews, the snorkeling is awesome!
Beach space was never an issue, and the water was always calm as the resort is in a bay. That being said, where the water meets the sand can get a bit rocky at times, but there are places you can go in that are clear.
The construction was not an issue at all, and although I got a few bites while there, I never once saw a mosquito!
The buffet food was ho-hum - nothing spectacular, but nothing horrible. I avoided some of the weirder looking things, and avoided the salad bar. I tried to order freshly made items from the grill and I felt fine the whole time. The omelette lady in the morning is the best - SO sweet. The Italian restaurant is amazing - we had the pizza almost every day for lunch. I should mention that my boyfriend got the fettuccine alfredo one day, and was ill the rest of the day/night (Who orders a creamy sauce in Cuba?! lol)
The bartenders are amazing - if you are sweet to them, they will make you anything! A traditional Cuban Mojito or the lemonade from the beach bar are my personal recommendations. Bring your own mugs/insulated cups - the bar cups are small!
We had a room in the 3 block, which overlooked the lobby bar/entertainment area. It was definitely loud, but again, we are heavy sleepers and easy going travelers so it didn't bother us. Plus it was a closer walk to/from the bar ;)
We rented a scooter for $25 and rode it into Holguin. While the scenery was unbelievable and it was definitely an experience, I wouldn't recommend it. Before starting out, we didn't realize that it was 55/60km from the resort! If you are going do the scooter thing, definitely go into Guardalavaca - it is much closer and apparently beautiful. If you want to go into Holguin, take the bus tour or rent a car. Sitting on the back of a scooter for 100km+ round trip is NOT ideal. My backside was ACHING and the main road has everything from horse & buggies to high speed dump trucks. Scary!
The nightly entertainment is great - we watched almost every night.
All in all, it was an amazing, relaxing and FUN week! We met some great people, and truly enjoyed our vacation! We will definitely go back!

Room Tip: Apparently the 1 block rooms are very quiet, but also quite far from the main area. We had 3204 (i t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank KVS4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

This place was great! I was blown away. The staff are amazing, so friendly and helpful. As a young female solo traveller I felt safe at all times. I can't wait to go back! Having the dive shop right there was beauty, roll out of bed and on the dove boat geared up within 10 mins! Thank you Blau!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank Kimmer22Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holguin
2.5 mi away
Memories Holguin Beach Resort
Memories Holguin Beach Resort
#3 of 4 in Rafael Freyre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,581 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Playa Pesquero
Hotel Playa Pesquero
#1 of 4 in Rafael Freyre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,464 reviews
4.4 mi away
Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Playa Costa Verde
Hotel Playa Costa Verde
#2 of 4 in Rafael Freyre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,236 reviews
4.0 mi away
Sol Rio de Luna y Mares
Sol Rio de Luna y Mares
#1 of 3 in Guardalavaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,543 reviews
226.0 mi away
Memories Paraiso Beach Resort
Memories Paraiso Beach Resort
#12 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort

Property: Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort
Address: Playa Pesquero, Holguin 0000, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Holguin Province > Holguin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Holguin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort is located on the seafront next to the fine white sandy beach of Playa Pesquero in eastern Cuba. Our Holguin resort is surrounded by luscious tropical vegetation. At Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort the natural environment is fully incorporated into the resort. Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort offers spectacular views from our rooms over 36 000 m2 of gardens and natural vegetation. Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort offers (with extra charge): Souvenir shops. Car and moped rental. Taxi service. Parking. Laundry service. Medical services: nursing service in the hotel and medical visits on request. Bureau de change in reception. Massage services. Hairdressers. Special dinner. Weddings. Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort ALL INCLUSIVE: Breakfast, lunch and buffet dinner. 2 á la carte restaurants per week, reservations are required. *Dress code long trousers. Local beverages and select international brands. Non-motor water sports. Sporting activities: volleyball, basketball, tennis, aerobics and snorkelling, daytime and evening entertainment programme including Spanish lessons, dance classes, and nightly shows. Minibar. Teatime. Discotheque. Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blau Costa Verde Beach Hotel Holguin
Blau Costa Verde Cuba
Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort Cuba/Holguin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing