We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$100
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
$68
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$57
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Islazul Villa Don Lino(Rafael Freyre)
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Pernik(Holguin)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (5,614)
Filter reviews
5,614 results
Traveler rating
4,048
1,059
360
105
42
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,048
1,059
360
105
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal serviceel patiooutdoor showershow tablethe mediterranean restaurantjunior suitepool restaurantbutler servicejean marcrs beachrs restaurantmain beacha la carte restaurantsroyal sectionlobby barprivate beachhour room service
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4,587 - 4,592 of 5,614 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2006

My wife and I stayed at the Paradisus 3rd - 17th June 2006 and had an excellent holiday.Could find no fault with the hotel the food in both the buffet and the a-la-carte was good and variied international drinks were available at all times the rooms were large and clean the beaches were all clean and the tropical fish could be found just off shore and the hotel grounds were beautiful and well tended.

What made this holday so good was that the staff were all so pleasant and seemed to enjoy the job and would always try to speak to you whatever they were doing.

The only things that slightly spoiled the holiday were the drunken behaviour of male CANADIAN wedding guests who took over the pool area and proceeded to get drunk, loud and foul mouthed .One night a group of these louts even broke into the pool bar and took the contents to drink even though the hotel had a 24 hour bar.

Work was also going on at the main beach and on days when drilling was taking place the noise was pretty horrendous but a quiter small beach was available..

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank roybi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paradisusri0de0r0, General Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2014

Old review, thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2006

We went here fo our honeymoon, booking it last minute and then spending a few days worrying about our choice. However, it really is a wonderful place, with amazingly brilliant staff, services, and surroundings.
The beach is like something out of a dream, the snorkling is beautiful - we saw an octopus - and the gardens are full of brightly coloured butterflies and hummingbirds.

We spent two days at the spa, were the massages are very well done and very relaxing. Going to the spa you get to spend the whole day there and for some reason a lot of people just came for their treatment and left, we spent two whole days undisturbed with the pool, jacuzzi's and beach as if it was our own and got up to whatever we wanted served on by the staff so if its your day at the spa get there in the am and dont leave as the sunsets from the jacuzzi will last in your memory.

The food was good, the japanese restaurant being he best by far, when we got there our eyes buldged at all the choices, but inevitably at the end of two weeks having to eat in any one place it does get a bit tiresome. The best food was at the beach bar which shut in our first week.

The only bad parts of our holiday were some of the other guests, as other people have mentioned. Some of the wedding parties appear oblivous to the other guests and for such a big hotel can really make there prescence known - and thats the brits and the canadians. However if your lucky enough to avoid them in the restaurants and sit in the bottom area of the pool you will not notice them to much. Its still a far far cry from going to the med with regards to loud tourists but I hope that the influx of wedding parties does not send it that way. An idylic paradis is what this little part of cuba should remain.

Now i am back a hammock in the garden is just not the same, cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
27  Thank Ivycottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paradisusri0de0r0, General Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2014

Old review, thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Ottawa, Canada
126
Reviewed June 16, 2006

We just got back from PRDO (May 21 - June 4) and WOW!!! What an amazing resort. We got married the first week, traveling with a group of 16 family members and friends and had the 2nd week to ourselves for our honeymoon.

Our wedding day (May 24th) was like a dream! Odalys, our wedding coordinator took care of every little detail. Even though there may be other weddings on the same day, you are truly made to feel like a king and queen...

Ladies, if you are getting your hair done, bring bobby pins and accessories. The stylist did a great job, but it's quite difficult without the necessary supplies.

If you are seeking something a little more "extreme" than getting married, do try the skydiving!!! Thanks to our new friends Mike, Lisa, Amanda & Kayla's experience, we decided to try it ourselves and loved it!

We will definitely go back to this resort and we already miss the friendly staff that are always ready to accommodate you.

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
26  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paradisusri0de0r0, General Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2014

Old review, thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2006

I must concur with all the positives about this hotel. Food great, fantastic meals in the A La Carte ...particularly the Japanese. Sushi, Prawn Tempura & the Tepanyaki were to die for. Fantastic selection in the Buffet restaurant - all you can eat ...any way you like it. The Patio & Mediteranian restaurants also superb.

Pool is GR8, but can get quite busy, take a tip....go to either Playa Esmeralda or one of the beaches, close to the Spa....they are like something from a Bounty advert. One of them is used by the locals, especially at weekends and can get busy, but the others are deserted.

Staff are vey freindly and most of them speak very good English. Cubans earn a paltry sum in comparison the average weekly/monthly wage in the UK and rely on tips to survive....they will also drop very subtle hits towards the end of your holiday for your t-shirt/sunglasses etc.... designer brands & sportswear are simply beyond the reach of most Cubans....be warned, they dont give up easily

Tonga fun pub is OK, but gets vey humid if there are more than 10 people in it. Most night activity is around the "lobby bar" which is open 24 hours. Strawberry Daquiri's & Pina Colladas are a pre-requisite. Try a Banana Mama .....we called them "Stinky Pinkies"....mmmmm lovely.

We did the one day trip to Havana. very long day and if you have already been, nothing much has changed. It still looks like Hiroshima or Nagasaki after the Americans dropped the A bomb. It's a must see though, but would recommed the 2 day trip as the Tropican Nightclub is apparently a sight to behold.

Catamaran trip is not really worth the money as they take you to the reef just offshore from the hotel....save yourself £70, get a snorkel set & a pair of fins from the activity hut in the hotel and do it yourself. Swimming with Dolphins is an experience we will never forget.....highly recommended.

Hotel grounds are well maintained and everything is spotlessly clean. Security guards patrol at night, but I think this is a ploy to keep everyone in a job as crime in Cuba is virtually non-existant.

In summary....the best all inclusive hotel in the area and within easy reach of most "trips".

If I was to offer one critisism, it is that when the bars get busy, the Cubans sense of urgency to supply you with a much needed "thirst quencher" doesnt exist....unless you flash a couple of Pesos.

Take Sterling or Euro's, but you will find vey little to spend them on apart from Cigars & Rum.

In our opinion 10/10.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
56  Thank Greyfriar1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paradisusri0de0r0, General Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2014

Old review, thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2006

I have visited many 5 stars inclusive resorts in Cuba, Mexico, DR and Barbados and this was definitely my favorite. The grounds are beautiful and immaculate. The water was bath temperature, the beach was lovely. The restaurants were most definitely a cut above other resorts I have visited. All in all I thought it was a great holiday and I plan to return.
The only negative comment I would make (and this is completely out of control of the hotel) is that some of the guests were poorly behaved - drunk, loud, rude and inconsiderate of the staff and fellow travellers. I am ashamed to say that one of the groups was from Ontario Canada and they behaved like yahoos. The young Brit party wasn't any better.
Maybe some of you will recognize yourselves in this review and amend your behaviour accordingly when holidaying again. There are lots of downscale resorts that are perfect for the boorish party hearty types and its a shame that they chose the Rio to let off steam.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
44  Thank MaddyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paradisusri0de0r0, General Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2014

Old review, thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews