We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Week in Paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Holguin
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Relaxing Week in Paradise!”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

From the moment we arrived, we felt welcomed. The staff was very friendly and greeted us with a welcome glass of champagne. The only suggestion I would make is to perhaps put an additional staff member on the registration desk to move things along a little quicker, but otherwise it was not too bad and once we got to the desk, the staff was quick and efficient. The resort grounds were beautiful and our room was very clean and in a very good location (building #36) about half way in between the lobby and the pool (but a little closer to the pool and beach area). Our maid Yolangis was lovely, very friendly and greeted us with a smile each morning. She took good care of us by ensuring our room was clean and well stocked each day. It was nice to have beach towels in the room upon arrival. The pool was very nice, clean, with lovely views of the ocean, although it could use a little paint refresh. No problem ever getting a lounge chair in either the sun or shade. The bartenders were great and took good care of us at the swim up bar. The beach was also amazing - clean with beautiful white sand beach. Everyday staff helped us procure loungers under an umbrella and we spent hours in the crystal clear, warm water swimming, looking at all the colourful fish and occasionally feeding them bread. Lots of coral, so great for snorkeling, but also lots of sandy areas for swimming. The food was also very good. The first day we arrived at noon and they were having a pig roast on the beach, which was amazing. We loved the a la cartes - the food and service was very good and we also had no trouble and enjoyed the service and food at the buffet as well. Lots of variety and the wait staff was very friendly. The nightly entertainment was also very well done. The young entertainers worked so hard and were very talented. We enjoyed a couple of water ballet events which were amazing and one night there was a circus, which was very entertaining. We also went to the YHI Spa and enjoyed a very relaxing couples massage by the ocean, which was amazing. The staff took very good care of us and pampered us with drinks and a lunch by the ocean on the deck. Our Sunwing Rep Madeline was also wonderful, answered all of our questions, and helped us connect with our daughter who was on vacation in Holguin at a resort about five minutes away. On a daily basis we would run into Carlos, who seemed to be a customer service manager, and he would greet us warmly and ask us if we were enjoying ourselves and if we needed anything. The extra special touches we received at Paradisus Rio de Oro really made this a special vacation to remember and I would definitely recommend it and go back again. However, I would like to try the Royal Service next time as I heard so many good things about it and perhaps go for nine days in order to really feel relaxed. Thank you Paradisus Rio de Oro for an amazing vacation!

Room Tip: Second floor suites experience less bugs. Corner suites have larger balcony and additional window w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pellewis25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paradisusri0de0r0, General Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear pellewis25,

We are very glad to read you had such a fabulous stay with us recently, thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers in TripAdvisor. We appreciate your suggestion, and we truly hope to have you back, so please, do not hesitate to let us know as you make plans to repeat your holidays as we will love to help in any arrangements you might need.
Receive our warmest regards, especially from your maid Yolangis, the team of bartenders, of entertainers, Carlos and your Rep. Madelaine. We will all be waiting for you!

Sincerely yours,
Lorenzo Rubio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,760
    960
    311
    96
    36
See reviews for
371
3,689
135
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pincourt, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

This was our third time back to PRDO and as usual we were not disappointed. There is a new food and beverage manager, Carlos, and he could be seen everywhere. We were very impressed by his hands on approach to ensure service and quality was top notch.
First and foremost the reason we continue going back is because of the people. The staff is outstanding and they bend over backwards to ensure you have a great vacation. The food continues to be one of the best in Cuba, but I have to admit the lobster was not what it was just 6 months ago. In two instances it was over cooked. The buffet continues to provide variety and the themed restaurants are focused on great service and good food. The pool side restaurant has an outstanding spicy thin crust pizza that must be tried. The pool side restaurant staff is extraordinary...They greet you like you were close family. The rooms might be a little dated but they were very clean and the beds comfortable.
The pool needs repair and for those going in July be warned that the pool will be closed for repairs from mid July to mid August.

Margaret & Andrew
Montreal

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paradisusri0de0r0, General Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Margaret and Andrew,

It was a real pleasure to have you back at Paradisus Rio de Oro. Thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers in TripAdvisor, and please, do not hesitate to contact us when you start booking your next stay in this, your home away from home.

Sincerely yours,

Lorenzo Rubio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We visited Paradisus Oro on our honeymoon 2 years ago and came back on our anniversary this year 19th May and we found the resort still lovely and friendly although it was a little bit more tired in the room ( junior suite ) and the pool but this did not put us off and we believe the pool is being redone in July and the rooms have started to be refurbished. Entertainment has improved since we last visited and the staff remembered us especially George ( pool bar ) and the girls in the pool restaurant. The room was spacious and spotless, food was varied and plentiful but could be labelled better or have the correct food in them, our favourites were the Japanese and El Patio. A day at the Spa cost £50 each but was well worth it for the day which consisted of a massage, foot spa, sauna, steam room, lovely beach, pool and views. We will defiantly go again and would recommend the resort to friends. The only improvement which we can offer is to tidy up of the resort a bit and sanitising gel to rub on your hands before you go in the buffets and restaurants.

Room Tip: Higher corner rooms to enjoy the sunny outlook and avoid any bugs ( wife`s choice )
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paradisusri0de0r0, General Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear David H,

Thank you so much for posting your review and for letting us know that you fully enjoyed your second stay and such special celebration as your wedding anniversary.
We truly hope to have you back, all our staff and I will be very glad to welcome you! Thank you for being part of our big family!!

Sincerely yours,

Lorenzo Rubio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harlow essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I don't normally do reviews but felt the need this time'
Abs amazing holiday' staff were genuinely friendly and very happy and help full and nothing is too much trouble,they really do want you to have the holiday you wished for.
None of the staff expected a tip but you often feel that you want too tip. 1peso is around 60p and we found that this didn't break the bank and although we tipped different people everyday it was much appreciated.
Rooms are getting tired but are extremely clean and are being refurbished in stages due to the hotel being open all year, swim up bar is a great place to meet new people and we certainly met some really nice groups, especially the wedding party from aisle of sheppy ,luck, Sarah etc.
Swimming pool floor is in need of returb and this is happening in July, but it is well looked after and clean.
Beach is stunning but take swim shoes as the sand is mostly made of coral and sections of the beach entering the sea is rocky and difficult to walk on.
The resort is huge and there are many golf buggies darting around to take you around if needed.
We went 13th may -28th may , we had rain almost everyday but it lasts around 20 mins then its hot and sunny again, storms happen at night.
Food in main buffet was very good as was the al a carte resteraunts book these via email at the hotel to Pablo before you go or on the first day you arrive as they get booked up very quickly, the Japanese was great, the show table was different as they cook it in front of you.

Trips....
We did the half day sea lion and dolphin show, its better than Florida as it is more personal and very good value
Marlin Deep sea fishing was a nice half day out but beware of the season for marlin or you could be dissapointd and may be better reef fishing with the onsite fisherman,
Also went into guadlavaca on horse and carriage to buy some tat, beware of the toilet situation , if you get caught short the public toilet is not a nice experience buying paper before you use the loo.
I could go on and on about this hotel but in all honesty it was faultless,stunning grounds,fantastic staff,great food,great place to relax,
Big thankou to all the staff especially the food and drinks manager Carlos,truly gifted young man who obviously has a passion for making you meal experience the best it can be by constantly viewing,testing and overseeing the general layout and prep of the food.
We had such a fantastic holiday we have decided to put mexico on hold for next year and have already rebooked the prdo for next may.
If you like to be spoilt and enjoy relaxing don't hesitate to book this hotel.

Room Tip: Block 38,39,40,41 are all central
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Dean Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paradisusri0de0r0, General Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Dean Q,

Thank you very much for taking time to review our resort. We appreciate very much having had the opportunity to have you with us for your last holidays, and truly hope this is just the first of many more stays in our haven of peace!
We are looking forward to welcoming you next May!!!
Sincerely yours,

Lorenzo Rubio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We have visited Paradisus Rio de Oro five times. We return because the scuba diving is included and the diving staff have become friends. The first time we went, the diving centre was on the beach at Paradisus; unfortunately it is now a bus ride away - but it isn't a problem. Otherwise, we also return for the very friendly staff, excellent service and good food. The New Years Eve party is always good fun. Royal Service is excellent.
Once I was ill and the hotel director himself took me took the local clinic, for which I am very grateful. There is always a bottle of rum in the room but the last time there was a bottle of champagne, which we hope will be awaiting us again on our next trip - hopefully Xmas/New Year.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LucR59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paradisusri0de0r0, General Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear LucR59,
It was a real pleasure to have you in Paradisus Rio de Oro for the 5th time! Thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers in TripAdvisor. We were so sorry you were ill, but I was glad to have the opportunity to help and I would do it again anytime!
We look forward to your 6th time this Xmas/New Year!
Sincerely yours,
Lorenzo Rubio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed in Royal Service at PRDO for an all too short, but very sweet long weekend, Easter Weekend, 2014.

Given the short duration of our stay (four days) - with one night of hard driving rain that kept us inside, opting for room service instead - we unfortunately didn't get to the Spa, the buffet, most of the a la carte restaurants, do any excursions, or venture too far from the Royal Service side, for that matter.

But that's just fine by us.

Being in Royal Service, we had everything we wanted, and more. It all starts when you get off the bus and get your first view of the sea over the infinity pool, tempting you from just beyond the lobby, and it continues until that sad moment that you board the bus and say goodbye to paradise.

ROOM: Large, clean and modern, stocked with a walk-in closet with very good storage, your safe, beach towels, etc. Beyond that is a good sized bathroom, with a big tub and seperate room for the toilet (and bidet, if that's your thing). Just outside is the outdoor shower that everybody raves about, and for good reason. While it may not be to everybody's taste, we loved it. There was also a big, flat screen TV, that came in handy when the rains came and we opted for room service.

BEACHES: While we didn't spend too much time at the main beach, Esmeralda, it was a very good one, for sure. It wasn't crowded at all and had some really good spots to go swimming in the clear, turqouise water. Most of the time, we opted instead for the smaller, more private RS beach, with personalized service that included drinks chair-side, and at least once, food ordered up and brought over from the snack bar. We could have spent the whole weekend there and it would have been A-OK by us. If you're an early bird (which we are not) you can also get yourself down to to the even smaller, more private third beach. No personal service on this one though, but some good private beach time.

FOOD: Here is where we're limited to the RS Restuarant, where we had our first dinner as well as breakfast every morning, the Japanese restuarant, and the room service menu. All were very good, in their own way. The RS was quiet, like everything else in RS, and had great food, and good selection. The Japanese was entertaining (our chef played the role of "Japanese" chef well, with tongue planted firmly in cheek) and the food was very good, and filling. Room service was speedy and pretty good too. Try the chicken sandwich and the burger.

ROYAL SERVICE: In two words: worth it. Did I mention the quiet? This resort-within-the-resort is well worth the price of admission, for the quiet alone (if that's what you're after). The rest of the resort, with its entertainment, multiple restuarants, bars and huge pool is never too far away, but it's always a pleasure to retreat back to the peace, quiet and personalized service offered to RS visitors.

Thanks PRDO, for an unforgettable, though albeit quick stay. We will be back (and hopefully for more than four days next time).

Room Tip: Royal Service is worth it for the quiet alone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlohaYYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paradisusri0de0r0, General Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear AlohaYYZ,

We have enjoyed very much reading your review about your recent stay in our Royal Service, and we have let our staff know, as they are the ones who deserve all recognition for their great work. Thank you so much for sharing this pleasant experience with other travelers in TripAdvisor.
We truly hope to have you back many more times in our slice of paradise!

Sincerely yours,

Lorenzo Rubio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

What a wonderful week we had at the Paradisus Rio de Oro near Guardalavaca, Cuba. We flew Air Canada Vacations from Ottawa to Holguin via Montreal. This was our first time at this hotel or with this chain of resorts and it will not be the last. The site is beautiful not too big with very friendly staff and great accommodations. We upgraded our room to a deluxe suite which is basically a semi-detached accommodation with exterior shower enclosure. It reminded us of Fiji where we stayed in similar accommodations.
One thing that always brings us back to Cuba is the people and their warmth. Being a spanish speaker I am advantaged in that I can have conversations in their language, however, all of the staff speak a very good english.
The various restaurants and buffet were all very adequate and the food was plentiful and fresh. This is Cuba and given how they operate with hotels, the hotel is at the mercy of what is available from the distributor company (Cuban Government run). If one chooses to go to Cuba, then Gastronomy should not be the driving force. Not that they cannot prepare great food, its just that they are somewhat limited in what they can have access to. Paradisus is part of the Melia chain of hotels and this company is very much involved in ensuring the hotel maintains its high standard. During our stay we met with an employee from the head office who is spending a year at this resort overseeing things. His name is Carlos and is very open and accommodating.
Another reasons we return to Cuba is the talent of local artists. The music, dancing and shows are always top notch and much more so than places like the Dominican Republic. I can live with the food situation, the people and culture are what has us going back.
In terms of star rating, This resort is definitely a cuban 5-star, but in comparison to other resorts all around the world i.e. the real 5 star resorts, they would rank a 3.5 as would ALL of the cuban resorts as it is impossible for them, given the government restrictions, to reach a total 5 star level...for now anyways. I think that given the freedom to choose and import from wherever they could, Melia and Paradisus would be up there with the top tier resorts in the world.

Room Tip: There are NO ocean view accommodations except two private villas but they rent in the $700+ range pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paradisusri0de0r0, General Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Christian L,

We are very glad to know you enjoyed your stay in our resort so much and thank you for sharing your nice holiday experience.
Let me point please, that if there was something that was not available during your stay, you can be completely sure that it is not at all due to the Cuban Government limiting anything, as they together with Melia chain, work very hard to offer visitors a tourism of quality, safety and sustainability, and we are all very glad that you had spent such a great time in Paradisus Rio de Oro, which we hope is just the first of many stays in the years to come!

Best regards,

Lorenzo Rubio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holguin
230.0 mi away
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
#1 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
2,990 reviews
368.9 mi away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
4.4 mi away
Hotel Playa Pesquero
Hotel Playa Pesquero
#1 of 4 in Rafael Freyre
7,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sol Rio de Luna y Mares
Sol Rio de Luna y Mares
#1 of 3 in Guardalavaca
5,641 reviews
2.0 mi away
Memories Holguin Beach Resort
Memories Holguin Beach Resort
#3 of 4 in Rafael Freyre
1,640 reviews
367.0 mi away
Paradisus Princesa del Mar Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa

Property: Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa
Address: Playa Esmeralda, Crta Guardalavaca, Holguin 007, Cuba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Holguin Province > Holguin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Holguin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Bahia de Naranjo Natural Park, in Playa Esmeralda, on the northern coast of Holguin province. Five-Star Ultra All Inclusive Eco-Resort with 354 rooms. Conceived only for adults aged 18 years or more. Maximum comfort and perfection in its private Royal Service area for a fabulous experience in a world apart. Recommended for weddings, honeymoons, incentive trips and wellness/spa. Guest Rooms 354 rooms: 254 Junior Suites, 24 Luxury Junior Suites, 16 Luxury Junior Suites Ocean View, 2 Suites Deluxe, 36 Master Junior Suites Royal Service, 14 Master Junior Suites Ocean View Royal Service, 6 Master Junior Suites Luxury Royal Service, 2 Garden Villas Royal Service. Dining: 8 Restaurants (A la Carte, Buffet), 5 Bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA and Prestigia so you can book your Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Rio De Oro Resort And Spa
Paradisus Rio De Oro Hotel Holguin
Paradisus Hotel Guardalavaca
Rio De Oro Paradisus
Paradisus Rio De Oro Cuba
Hotel Paradisus Rio De Oro
Paradisus Rio De Oro Resort & Spa Cuba/Holguin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing