We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“paradise at the paradisus 19/2/2013”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Holguin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Holguin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2013

have just returned from a 2 week stay at the paradisus the whole experience was perfect from the time we arrived till the farewell from the cuban band that got onto our coach to serenade us goodbye, the staff are all so freindly nothing was to much trouble to them, reconmend the swim with dolphins trip and the island paradise trip to castros island via catermaran well worth the money, the restaurants were all excellent as were george and louis from the swim up bar,advise to take plastic pint beer and wine glasses as you get served small plastic cups around pool, gentlemen have to wear long troussers for evening meals ,my only very small gripe was that the swimming pool floor needed some attention (a lick off paint) but dont let that detract you from anotherwise perfect holiday

Room Tip: we stayed in 3721 perfect location on ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paradisusri0de0r0, General Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2015

Old review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,502)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,600 - 2,606 of 5,502 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013

Surrounded by a national park, this spacious resort and elegant spa is likely the most uncluttered and relaxing premium destination in Cuba (the most romantic wedding options we've seen too). No traffic, no high-rise, no kids or rowdies. Ride 5 km to Guadalavaca in a cart train, a '59 De Sota, a horse & buggy or by foot or bicycle. You have a choice of 4 beaches with loungers, palapas and pool beds aplenty, 5 bars, 5 gourmet restaurants, 2 lunch bistros & a buffet that bests 'a la cartes' almost everywhere else. Ever stayed where the included 'house' wine list may have 10 to 14 selections? A nice touch is the ability to book restaurant reservations on-line weeks ahead of your arrival. Games, lessons, sand, pool, salt water and court sports, yoga, tai chi, (snorkelling, diving, tennis & horseback riding are included) ( NOT included this year were the wonderful 2 to 3 hour local off property excursions, like the Boca de Sama fishing village). A mesmerizing mix of entertainment : ballet, opera, synchronized swimming, classical, acrobatic, magical,, ethnic, traditional, chic, modern and caribbean. A music & dance culture (rumba) permeates the day then blossoms into multiple evening venues and spot performances culminating with a Showcase Presentation at the night club style theatre: exciting and spectacular displays of talent which rival those of Havana or Santiago. Take in smooth latin jazz, violin virtuosos, guitar troubadours, salsa bands, piano bar, disco, or a beach party. But maybe a quiet moonlit surf garden stroll is for you. Or simply request a courtesy electric cart and just retire to your bungalow with all-night room service. A PRDO legacy we've noticed, is to continually attract an impressive international company of gracious and engaging loyal repeat guests. Q. ~ Why do we return every year? A. ~ It has to be the many caring, remarkable Cubans working tirelessly to please that makes this such a special place! Claremente ! Este es un lugar muy extraordinario !
Posting a few photos as well.
Videos that celebrate and acknowledge this resort and destination
are posted on: RIOdeOROtvCUBA channel on YouTube.

Notes to management:
Avoiding the obvious bathroom upgrades & 'non-included internet' access here are a some suggestions to work on and earn another
half star ( 5 ***** + ) as well as a some pats-on-the-back and encouragements:
1. Wonderful to have cappuccino everywhere on the resort, but you should consider offering a 'decaf' version especially at night.
2. Continue to develop a tennis program with lessons. Assign a dedicated pro or coach. Schedule a regular drop-in clinic and organize some tournaments, so that people can find others that play. You have such great courts, a feature high on our list. And because the courts are far flung, a water cooler or mini fridge should be close at hand.
3. Bars at a world class destination should be stocked to serve 'Caesars'. This is the 2nd most popular hot weather salty drink after 'Margaritas'. Two years ago we brought a supply of clamato juice from Canada and served caesars to the Managers at the staff Christmas party, leaving ordering info and Motts scanning codes with food services to forward to Toronto. This year, on one cold and stormy day and after a little 'kitchen raiding', we made several rounds of Havana Club hot rums at the Lobby Bar and again later at the Royal Service Bar.
4. The locally produced and Cuban favourite non alcoholic drink 'Malta' should be offered at the bars, restaurants, and stocked in the room mini fridges. A pledge was made 2 years ago to introduce this unique nutritious beverage.
5. Some of the resort staff don't seem to get anything to eat from leaving home at 5 or 6 AM (early bus ) until after 1 PM. Hope this has been addressed.
6. The satellite TV cable english channel 'Global Toronto' is an embarrassment as it does not represent Canadian values but rather repeats and mirrors American programming nearly 80% of the time. NFL in lieu of NHL. Please consider replacing it with a CBC english service. No wonder the rest of the world thinks we are just Americans from farther north.
7. Sol Melia needs to re-think the room rate policy for guests who stay extra nights through no fault of their own. Flights cancellations, airport closures,
buses that don't arrive, and severe weather result in the hotel charging full
rack or walk-in price to clients who paid a substantially lesser per diem for the previous one, two or three weeks. Two couples last December who had terrific holidays will not ever return or book this chain again because of
inconsiderate gouging, inflexibility and no ability for local management to exercise discretion.
8. On the whole, 'live' music was the best it's been in years. Nice to see the quality veterans featured once again: Orlando, Sonia, Fofi, the versatile Vladimir, Alex and Manuel (Ecos), both the trios from the El Bohio and the clarinetist. But the Mediterranean restaurant needs to have the spanish guitarists return. At least, silence the cheesy soundtrack that spoils the atmosphere.
9. Hats off to all the splendid dancers, the great choreographers and the two energetic salsa combo orchestras who fashioned some memorable fun.
Special mention to the dance pros and entertainment staff who demonstrate, tudor and teach in the Disco at dinner hour. (We always have to change our reservations on those evenings )
10. Finally, 'kudos' to Delmis' animacion team and Eddy's attendants on bar duty. The Beach Party dedicated to celebrating Marc and Suzie's wedding day was possibly the most outrageous super party of the last five years. Can't remember when so many guests showed up for a single function. We hope you appreciate and treasure your splendid core of dedicated employees in all departments and provide them with the tools, resources and rewards they so richly deserve.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank WestCoastRicardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paradisusri0de0r0, Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2016

Old review, thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

A friend and I have recently returned from this resort. I was there about four years ago
and was recognized immediately by many of the staff. A wonderful feeing.
We found our room to be more than adequate and the cleaning staff very friendly as were
all the other staff whom we encountered .Service at the restaurants was exceptional.
The varied themes at the buffet added to the experience.
Often a complaint about Cuba is the food. Not so at this resort, The food is very good
and varied.

The general manager was often visible encouraging staff and guests alike. He truly takes an interested in pleasing resort guests.

In the evening guests are evening rather than very casual wear which enhances the atmosphere.
Entertain seemed to begin around 6Pm and also was varied. Very nice.

Returning guests are treated very well and made to feel somewhat special.

When we return again to Cuba, we will go no where else other than this resort. It has many returning guests which is certainly understandable.

Ross and Janet

Room Tip: We enjoyed being a bit further away from the entertainment area but any room would be good. This res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ross S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paradisusri0de0r0, Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2016

Old review, thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I write this review mid flight on return from 2 weeks at the Paradisus rio de oro and having had a wonderful time want to provide an honest and accurate review. I am 26 years old and my partner 24, our flights with Thomas Cook have been very good and for a change when returning home check in and security at Holguin airport took less than an hour. On arrival to the hotel we were treated to a glass of champagne and a cold face cloth, a nice touch after 24 hours on the go. Our room 4217 was exceptionally clean with useful amenities including iron, mini fridge, and safety deposit box. Your fridge is stocked daily with soft drinks and local beer, our maid was lovely and made sculptures out of towels which is something we have never seen before. My only criticism of the room was our bathroom was slightly out dated and in need of a refurb, this said everything worked and was immaculate.
Having thrown our shorts on we headed out to explore, the gardens surrounding the room blocks and the more expensive deluxe junior suites are beautiful and immaculately maintained. After a short walk we stumbled on the pool area which is simply stunning, plenty of sun beds not too crammed in together. Like most holiday resorts it says not to reserve your sun beds, of course people always do and to get your preferred spot which we did most days, I was at the pool for 7.30 - 7.45 with maybe a quarter of the loungers gone mostly with parasols and all the quilted chill out huts. We spent most our days chilling round the pool, the beach and sea which are all breathtaking with plenty of room. Special mention here to Jorge & George who take drinks orders on the beach and pool and bring them to you, its these small touches that make this place so special.
The staff are all terrific, during the day we dined at the pool restaurant for lunch, the set up their and efficiency is incredible with nothing being too much trouble, Norge and Disney the bar waiters and all the waitresses who I can't remember by name are a pleasure - thank you. The staff in the main lobby bar made our stay all the more special, we spent most our evenings sat at the bar before and after our meals. A special mention too Manuael , Raimundo and William - thank you, you made us most welcome and on some occasions a little rough in the morning! The atmosphere in the bar and restaurants is superb with a real traditional feel, we met lots of people of which we have made some great friends. 
The food in the main restaurant in the mornings for breakfast and evening meals is plentiful and to a high standard with lots to choose from, again the staff here are superb with nothing being too much trouble. There are four other restaurants to book which were all excellent the A la cart patio being a favourite. If you miss a meal or simply want to stay in your room and relax the 24 hour room service adds a touch of luxury.
To summarise we are both well travelled having stayed at 5 star resorts, yes the rooms are slightly tired but that's is no reflection on how beautiful and amazing this hotel is, everything is wonderful and its unbelievable to think you can fault anything other than this. Most of the hotel guests had stayed here before, one guest i understand had been 7 years running... its easy to see why! If your looking for paradise at a great price then this is the place to go... it's superb and we shall be revisiting in the next couple of years.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
9  Thank Hayley236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paradisusri0de0r0, Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2016

Old review, thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We chose the Pariadisu Rio De Oro has was my wife's 65 birhtday and were not disiappointed. I have little to add to previous reports which are, in the main, very comprehensive and accurate.

We travelled with Tompsons from Gatwick staying the Best Western Moat House the night before with 15 days covered parking - excellent value. We put our bags in the day before but had to check it on the day of travel - no big deal. The flight was fine as we were in Premium seats. Our arrival at Holguin was surprisingly without a hitch and we were through Passport Control within minutes and lo and behold our luggage was off the belt and waiting for us. Within minutes of arriving we were on our way to Guadalavaca by taxi - a one hour journey.

Arrival at the Hotel was smooth and we were in our room within 20 minutes. The room was clean, spacious and kept very tidy throughout our stay. We did experience 4 cockroaches (dead) in our room but that may be because we ALWAYS spray the room with Raid Ant and Cockroach killer. The fridge was re-stocked each day and clean towels were always in the bathroom. The twin beds were comfortable. Yes the bathroom could do with a little tarting up but was completely functional. Overall no complaints about our room.

The pool area was excellent although a little short of cover. The area was clean and tidy but the main pool looked a little tired but completely functional. The pool bar was excellent with waiters roaming round the pool to collect and deliver orders. Pool towels were in the room on arrival and could be exchanged as necessary. There was no pressure to enter into any animation events. The only complaint really was that if you wished to go sailing then you were only able to be a passenger - the beach lads sailed even if you were an experienced sailor.

The main bar area was outstanding and the service was of an equal standard. The restaurants were very very good. The choices in the main buffet were wide and varied and well presented. Overall again excellent.

We had an excellent stay and would strongly recommend it to fellow travellers. Our journey back to the UK was tedious (overnight travel always is). On the other hand we were through passport and other controls at Holguin in a matter of minutes. Likewise we were through Gatwick quite quickly.

In sum, we were not diappointed with this holiday and like many such Hotels the staff were outstanding. They were always cheerful and most helpful - nothing was too much for them.

Room Tip: Take mosquito killer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank BLSHuntingdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paradisusri0de0r0, Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2016

Old review, thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We were married here in September 2010 (sorry for the late review!) but overall our experience was incredible!!!We had stayed here 2 years previous as well, so when we decided to elope, we both agreed it would be the perfect place to go back too. From the moment we arrived at the resort, the staff couldn't do enough for us. As this was our second visit here (and due to the wedding) we were upgraded to a suite, which was lovely. Our first day, we met with the wedding planner who quickly and efficiently ran through all our options. She was very helpful, and everything came out beautifully! (even better then we expected!)
The food here was above average for Cuba I would say, there was always a great selection and as a vegetarian I never had a problem finding something to eat. At the a la cartes, if I just mentioned I was vegetarian, they would whip something up just for me without any hesitation. On our wedding night, they prepared a beautiful and delicious wedding cake for us. It was more then we expected, and they allowed us to take it back to our room to snack on later (which we did!!)
The grounds were beautifully kept, the whole resort was gorgeous.
Overall we loved our second stay here and would return again in heartbeat.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spankie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paradisusri0de0r0, Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2016

Old review, thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We came here in 2008 and liked it so much we had to return to celebrate my husband's 60th birthday. We had asked for a corner upstairs room in a similar area again which we were given and the staff could not have been more accommodating. I know some reviewers criticize the decor and moan that the bathrooms need updating, but for heaven's sake you don't live in the bathroom and they are perfectly clean and adequate. The rooms are huge and well equipped. One small thing - it would be nice to have some sort of milk product to enable you to use the tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

The food as ever was amazing especially the al a cartes. My favourite was El Patio. You do need a wrap in the Mediterranean as the air con is a trifle cold in there. If I had to moan at all it was that some of the food in the buffet restaurant could have been hotter but apart from that it was great. Smoked salmon and sparking wine for breakfast - who can knock it!!!

The entertainment in the evening was very professional and varied and worth staying up for.

The restaurant and bar staff were lovely, especially Dannyris and Jorge in the beach bar and Elizabeth, Roberto and all the staff in the beach restaurant. They will do anything for you and nothing seems to be too much trouble. The trio Echoes who played in the beach restaurant most lunchtimes were great and even serenaded us off in the coach when we left to go to the airport. Such a nice touch.

I think the availability of branded alcoholic drinks has gone down slightly since our first visit but this didn't spoil my enjoyment of the holiday.

The diving is included in the cost of the holiday but the dive centre which was on site on our first visit is no longer there so you have to be transported to a neighbouring hotel for the diving which meant my husband was away for at least 4 hours everytime he went diving.

All in all a brilliant 2 weeks (despite a break in the weather in the middle) and I wouldn't hesitate to return.

Room Tip: The corner suites have a side window and bigger balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Trundlie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paradisusri0de0r0, Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2016

Old review, thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holguin
269.5 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Trinidad
369.2 mi away
Blau Varadero Hotel
Blau Varadero Hotel
#3 of 64 in Varadero
7,076 reviews
29.2 mi away
Villa Islazur Mirador de Mayabe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Hotel Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca
370.4 mi away
Iberostar Bella Vista
Iberostar Bella Vista
#13 of 64 in Varadero
519 reviews
368.6 mi away
Iberostar Varadero
Iberostar Varadero
#2 of 64 in Varadero
7,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa

Address: Playa Esmeralda, Crta Guardalavaca, Holguin 007, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Holguin Province > Holguin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Holguin
#1 Luxury Hotel in Holguin
Price Range: $230 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Bahia de Naranjo Natural Park, in Playa Esmeralda, on the northern coast of Holguin province. Five-Star Ultra All Inclusive Eco-Resort with 354 rooms. Conceived only for adults aged 18 years or more. Maximum comfort and perfection in its private Royal Service area for a fabulous experience in a world apart. Recommended for weddings, honeymoons, incentive trips and wellness/spa. Guest Rooms 354 rooms: 254 Junior Suites, 24 Luxury Junior Suites, 16 Luxury Junior Suites Ocean View, 2 Suites Deluxe, 36 Master Junior Suites Royal Service, 14 Master Junior Suites Ocean View Royal Service, 6 Master Junior Suites Luxury Royal Service, 2 Garden Villas Royal Service. Dining: 8 Restaurants (A la Carte, Buffet), 5 Bars. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Paradisus Rio De Oro Hotel Holguin
Paradisus Rio De Oro Resort And Spa
Paradisus Hotel Guardalavaca
Rio De Oro Paradisus
Paradisus Rio De Oro Cuba
Hotel Paradisus Rio De Oro
Paradisus Rio De Oro Resort & Spa Cuba/Holguin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing