We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it - but top tip for you”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Holguin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Holguin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2008

We returned Saturday. Had a fantastic time, not much to grumble about and we are v fussy. Everything everyone else says tells the story so wont go on anymore about how lovely it is. We did pay extra for the superior suites and they were fab. Ours looked over a lovely garden and had an outside shower which we used all time so would definitely recommend them.

Positives
- everything everyone else says, its really fab and has the best gardens we have seen anywhere and we have travelled loads

Negatives
- would agree about reserving sun beds by pool bit of a pain getting up early but if needs must. Also disco music drove you mad after a while!
Beach - we found a bit too windy for us and also had a funny smell at times.
Bathrooms - agree they could do with a bit of tlc

Top tip
No one mentioned to us before and haven't noted in the reviews that there is a definite loo roll shortage in Cuba! Not at the hotel, but if you venture outside and need the loo be prepared to be handed one sheet on entry or have none at all (ie the airport, bars & restaurants etc.). I took one with me once I left PRDO everywhere I went, especially in Havana.

We are going to return next year and hope they don't change a thing before we get there!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank jcpoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paradisusri0de0r0, Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2016

Old review, thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,450)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,210 - 4,216 of 5,450 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2008

We stayed 28th Feb - 14th March

We have just returned from the Paradisus and can honesty say it was amazing.
Flight:
We flew with First Choice and was thinking of upgrading but was glad that we didnt in the end. Good legroom food ok and for airline. Entertainment good.
Airport:
The airport at Holguin was no hassle and got through very quick which was good. I think we were the only plane that had landed at that time. Change some money at the airport so that you have some change for the bell boy when you get to the resort.
Accomodation:
We stayed in a junior suite which was really nice we had no complaints. The room does smell damp when you get in but light the insence candle when you go in and this will get rid of smell.
Food:
The food was amazing especially in the Al a Carte restauarants my best has to be the Japanese do ask to be seated on the table where the chef cooks as it is good fun. Do email the hotel before you go to book in advance this will guarantee your places.
For lunchtime do try the Santa Maria at the beach this is nice as they have a band that play cuban music which is lovely.
Pool:
The pool area is lovely but if hotel is full as it was in our second week you would be hard pushed to get sunbeds. I had to get up at 7:30AM to put my towels down. I do not like doing this as you should not reserve your beds but you had no choice it was a case of if you cant beat them join them. The jaccuzzis were great especially the one that over looks the beach, and yes you do have a bootle of champers waiting for you. (well its Cava really but still great)

Me and my husband whould laugh every time you hear the corks pop as that all you would hear around the hotel .
Beach:
The beach was amazing to, the snorkelling was brilliant it was just like being in a aquarium and it this was just on the shoreline. Do use the Hobie cats as well as this is All inclusive as well and great fun we tipped the guy (3 pesos) Do try to find the secluded beaches Walk around the rocks on the first beach and you will be like Robinson Crusoe on your on beach its Great.
Spa:
we do not go in the Spa but other people has and said it was good. There is a good gym as well.
Staff:
All the staff were brill so friendly always smiling. The entertainment team where great as well. We gave them alot of our CDS as we were fed up with hearing David Gray everytime we went past the activity centre. So if you hear Phil Collins or Take that when you past the centre it was us Sorry!!! if you dont like them.

If you want to take things out for the staff we took things like hairbands toothpaste soap sanitary items for the maids instead of money tips as this items cost them a lot of money to get.

Talking to the staff they said the hardest thing for them to buy is shoes you will see a lot of the staff would be wearing shoes that are to big for them. If you have shoes that you dont wear at home bring them out and I am sure that the staff would make good use of them.

Entertaiment:
The night time entertainment was good, you must go to the beach party as it was a lot of fun. There is a lot of daytime entertainemt to if you are willing to join in. If you like cycling do the tour from the hotel to Guardalavaca it up hill some of the way to beware. Dani took us from the entertainment team he was good.

I could go on and on about this holiday but I wont just enjoy you will not be dissappointed.
We would like to say hello to all the nice people we met John & Val, Angie & Simon, Pete & Janice, Sharon & Paul
Hope the wedding goes well for Sharon & Paul we wish we could have been there.

I would good back next week if I could, there are many peolple that come back year on year that says it all about this hotel and Cuba itself.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank ang-al123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paradisusri0de0r0, Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2016

Old review, thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2008

This is a beautifully run, lovely hotel. The food was wonderful, the staff both friendly and very efficient and the pool and beach great. They could do with some extra loos in the gardens and in the beach area and the rooms will maybe need a slight makeover within the next year or two, but we couldn't fault it in any way. Fantastic value.

However, don't go there with the Mickey Mouse airline known as Cubana. They were a nightmare. Virgin fly there, as do some tour operators like Thomas Cook and First Choice.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank EssexSenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paradisusri0de0r0, Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2016

Old review, thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2008

the hotel was okay but not great we have stayed at much nicer hotels for cheaper we went for a wedding and as it seems so did every other person there it was a wedding factory line. If you are into imperssonal rushed weddings this is the place for you the wedding we attending was so rushed 'cause there was another wedding right behind us waiting for their turn. The rooms were clean and the service was good. we had a trantula in our room twice (no fault of the hotel) I mean of course you might get that on occasion being the location we were in. but we were on the ground level if that had anything to do with it. It is not a party resort it is a sip and drink type of resort they cut my husband off only after two drinks (all inclusive?????) he obviuosly wasn't even drunk. the beach was yucky like a lake varadero beach is much more nicer. The food was pretty good LOVED the japanesse restaurant wouldn't come here again

  • Stayed: November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank maddie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paradisusri0de0r0, Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2016

Old review, thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2008

We based our choice to stay at the Paradisus solely on the good reviews we'd read on Tripadvisor and they turned out to be so true.

Positives
=======
* Warm welcome on arrival with cold champagne.
* Quick check in and helpful luggage men take you to your room by golf buggy
* Nice spacious rooms (ask for a top floor on a corner of a block)
* Rooms well equipped with everything you need including mini bar. Always nice and cleaned daily.
* Beautiful surroundings throughout the hotel, well tendered gardens, public areas always clean
* All staff so friendly and welcoming, nothing is too much trouble. They also don't expect a tip but are very grateful if you do.
* Unlimited good quality drinks, anything you want.
* Food very good quality for an all inclusive. At the end of the two weeks we got tired of eating for the sake of it but didn't tire of the quality as you can vary it as much as you want.
* Japenese - excellent. Mediterreanean - good. Cuban - good. El Patio - average. Buffett - good wide selection but if eating hot food get something grilled/cooked in front of you as it will be cold off the 'hot' plates.
* Entertainment was good. But you could also find a quiet corner to chill if thats what you preferred.
* Beautiful pool area and swim up bar. Food in both the pool snack bar and the restaurant on the beach were excellent.
* Towel change as much as you want. Always plenty of beds.
* Beach was absolutely beautiful with loads of beds. Sand like powder and the fish were fantastic to see. If snorkelling is not your thing you can still see how exotic the fish are as they swim round you. Don't worry they won't bite you.
* Weather was great even when overcast. Got a great tan straight away where I normally take a few days to turn.


Negatives
========
* Bathroom and room decor a little dated but nothing that would spoil your holiday
* Toilets in lobby bar did not resemble 5 star quality.
* Restaurants we're often only half full (especially Japenese) when reservations advised they we're full.
* 'Hot' Food in buffett was often cold. Would recommend at breakfast to get your eggs flipped over by the chef or opt for an omelette which they cook in front of you. Same on an evening, get something cooked especially for you off the hot plate. If you follow this tip then you won't be dissapointed .
* Location - not alot round the hotel. Guardalavaca was only 2k down the road but not much there. However plenty of excursions on offer. Also loads of activites and excursions run by the hotel.
* Bungalows - met people who paid £800 to stay in one of these and I had a look in one and didn't think they we're worth it. They we're actually smaller than our room but had slightly nicer updated decor and an outside shower.


Summary
========
We really enjoyed our holiday and would definately recommend it to people who fancy Cuba. I think you would struggle to beat this on Cuba. We actually both said that we had a better holiday than our honeymoon in Malaysia. We met some great friends who made the holiday more enjoyable but if you did want quiet time with jusy your partner and a book then there is so many areas to the hotel this was possible. The Cuban people are the friendlist I've met (especially Michel in the activity centre). We got friendly with a guest who liked to dive who said it was fantastic and free for his tank to be refilled after each dive which would usually cost a fortune. You don't have to tip but I would encourage it if you appreciate the service they have given you as they really need it cos they are so poor. Also would recommend taking some toiletries, pencils, clothes out as I think they actually appreciate these more than money.
I would defo return to this hotel if I go back to Cuba but unfortunately we love to experience new places everytime we go on holiday but one day maybe in about 20 years! You will defo enjoy it if you go.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
17  Thank keano6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paradisusri0de0r0, Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2016

Old review, thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2008

Just been back for a week of Paradisus!What a nice hotel at a beautiful spot.We found the place we were looking for: Quiet(no kids under 18 allowed),great food(especially considdering it's all inclusive),best service(we still can learn something from cubans),
good entertainment(at the right moments),large rooms(could be updated a little and the airco smelled),and a great beach!!

Starting with quiet: When you have a busy life it feels really nice to relax completely at a holiday,so without screaming and running kids at the pool or the buffet.
And the spacious gardens gives you the feeling that you are in the resort with only a couple of other guests.
But also the restaurants:never crowded,always a clean table available.

Great food: I have a Wine & Champagnebar myself in Amsterdam Holland and have been working in the hospitality industry for about 25 years,including 5 star hotels so I think I know what to expect.But if you can choose in the buffet restaurant out of 9 different carpaccio's of fish(!) for a starter, or Paella in 4 different ways for a main dish,that goes way above my expectations!
And the beach restaurant(including Roberto!) is great. Beautiful view,nice food,good service,great music.
I would only do a 'catch of the day' or 'grilled of the day' or something to keep the menu more exciting.
The a la carte restaurants are just good.

Best service: Allways a smile,always friendly the Cubans in Paradisus try to make your holiday special!I never heard a NO!

Good entertainment: When you want entertainment there is plenty,when you want to relax nobody bothers you with games, music,funny costumes or something.
The shows in the evening are great and professional! A little more cuban style or carribean style would be even better.

Large rooms: Paradisus has only suites and junior suites.We stayed in a junior suite and those rooms were large!everything we needed.
The bathroom need a update and the airco to be cleaned,for the rest a nice room , nice patio.

Great beach: The resort is right at the sea with a beautiful white beach.Enough shade,enough beds and great beach service.
Always clean.
Nice rif just in front of the resort.

Over all: We were looking for nice weather,great location,good service and great food and we found it all!!

Robert & Maddie

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
14  Thank winelover2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paradisusri0de0r0, Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2016

Old review, thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2008

The Paradisus is a beautiful all-inclusive, five-star resort for adults only. That means there are only a few couples younger than 50, which was all right with us. Food: Much better and more variety than we expected, having been in Cuba some years before.
The resort features six restaurants; the only one that was sub-par for us was one offering Japanase cuisine. (They have no sashimi , they use smoked salmon for the sushi, and they serve fried rice). The restaurant by the pool has genuine Italian-style oven-baked thin-crust pizza, and the beach resturant has great fish for lunch. (All the restaurants seem to overcook the fish, so tell them not to when ordering.)
Accommodation: The rooms are large and deluxe, with balconies in a series of two storey building surrounded by ocean and well-landscaped gardens. TV features HBO and Showtime. The upgraded suites are in duplexes.
Staff: Tremendous, friendly and at your beck-and-call.
Spa: we had massages in huts built over the ocean. Very relaxing.
Beach: Nice white sand, sheltered from the wind, with a small snorkeling reef rght off the beach -- the quietest we have been on because of the older clientele.
The entire resort, inlcuding the beach, is disabled-accessible with ramps, except for a few steps up to the room.
The evening entertainment , a song-and-dance troupe, was somehwat uneven, but pleasant.
All in all, a great experience for a restful week.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank ShannonPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paradisusri0de0r0, Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2016

Old review, thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holguin
369.2 mi away
Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba
2 mi away
Hotel Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca
269.5 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Trinidad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.2 mi away
Villa Islazur Mirador de Mayabe
368.6 mi away
Iberostar Varadero
Iberostar Varadero
#2 of 64 in Varadero
7,004 reviews
2.4 mi away
Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel
Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel
#2 of 3 in Guardalavaca
4,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa

Address: Playa Esmeralda, Crta Guardalavaca, Holguin 007, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Holguin Province > Holguin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Holguin
Price Range: $230 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Bahia de Naranjo Natural Park, in Playa Esmeralda, on the northern coast of Holguin province. Five-Star Ultra All Inclusive Eco-Resort with 354 rooms. Conceived only for adults aged 18 years or more. Maximum comfort and perfection in its private Royal Service area for a fabulous experience in a world apart. Recommended for weddings, honeymoons, incentive trips and wellness/spa. Guest Rooms 354 rooms: 254 Junior Suites, 24 Luxury Junior Suites, 16 Luxury Junior Suites Ocean View, 2 Suites Deluxe, 36 Master Junior Suites Royal Service, 14 Master Junior Suites Ocean View Royal Service, 6 Master Junior Suites Luxury Royal Service, 2 Garden Villas Royal Service. Dining: 8 Restaurants (A la Carte, Buffet), 5 Bars. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Paradisus Rio De Oro Hotel Holguin
Paradisus Rio De Oro Resort And Spa
Paradisus Hotel Guardalavaca
Rio De Oro Paradisus
Paradisus Rio De Oro Cuba
Hotel Paradisus Rio De Oro
Paradisus Rio De Oro Resort & Spa Cuba/Holguin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing