We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel in Trinidad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Trinidad
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hotel in Trinidad”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

I am a Tour Manager who often travels to Cuba with my groups. I have stayed at the Iberostar in Trinidad many, many times and they are always very courteous, and quite friendly. Leo, the manager has a keen eye for attention to detail and welcomes my groups with wonderful hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar.com

Helpful?
Thank Trish O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear guest:

Thank you very much for your nice comments regarding your stay with their groups at our hotel. We are very pleased to hear that it has been, as usual, entirely satisfactory.

We hope you will continue to favor us with their trust we assure you that both Leo, who personally thanks you for your mention, as the entire team will do our best to make your stay with us an unforgettable memory.


Once again I do thank you for sharing with us your kind notes.

Looking forward to host you in the near future,



Carlos Lázaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    887
    331
    49
    14
    13
See reviews for
158
786
48
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
158 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights on a 2 week trip around Cuba. It was by far the nicest hotel that we stayed in. The building is beautiful both inside and out. Unfortunately for us there was a festival in the square on our first night, the hotel were extremely apologetic about the noise, it was absolutely no problem, we were in Cuba !

Our transfer from Havana took 4 hours and when we arrived the cocktail and refreshing towel were gratefully received.

Our room, 110 was gorgeous with a terrace with a table and chairs on it. We had a huge Super King four poster bed, really nice bathroom with nice toiletries (the bath was huge, you could almost swim in it) nice touches like a pillow menu. There was an in room safe (free) iron and ironing board, slippers and gowns.

Free Wi-Fi in the beautiful lobby area with a fountain and comfy sofas
The breakfast buffet was quite good, (Iberostar Parque Central by far the best breakfast). Service was excellent, Reception, bar and restaurant. We had some tapas in the bar on one evening and it was very nice, not expensive.

The hotel is immaculate throughout and our room was clean, however the cleaners forgot to clean the bath, no big deal it only took a moment to clean it, they were probably preoccupied arranging the towels into an elephant and leaving little notes 

The hotel was in a good location about 10mins walk to the old town, the streets are all cobbled you will need appropriate footwear. The locals were very helpful and smiley, it was quite nice not to be hassled every 10 seconds !

We took a taxi – 10 CUC to Ancon beach, about a 10 minute drive, lovely beach, we paid 2 CUC each for a sun lounger and parasol. There is nowhere to eat at the beach apart from a snack bar attached to one of the hotels. They had cold beer and ham and cheese sandwiches, perfectly acceptable but don’t head off there if you want a meal.

I would 100% recommend the Grand and would love to return one day.

Room Tip: I emailed the hotel a week before and requested a room with a terrace, this was allocated to us and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annabelle040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear guests:

It is really nice to read the detailed feedback you had placed at this Webpage. We do appreciate the time you had taken to share your valuable impressions to other users.

We are also glad to know that you had a pleasurable time at our outlets, andyou have encountered our service, food and facilities completely satisfactory.



Do not hesitate in contacting us if you are planning to come again to Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad

With best wishes,



Carlos Lázaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We had a wonderful two night stay in this hotel. We had been booked as part of a package through 'The Holiday Place' and had arrived in Trinidad from Havana. First of all Trinidad was a beautiful town with lovely locals. We weren't hassled in Trinidad in the way that we were in Havana. This was a much more relaxing location.

The Hotel itself upon arrival looks Superb! Greeted by warm and friendly staff and treated to a welcome wet towel and drink. We were checked into our room which was really large and had a great view across the square. (Particularly recommend room 201)

The hotel was permanently clean. The bar and waiter staff were engaging, friendly and hospitable.

We went out of season, so the hotel on an evening was fairly quiet. There was lovely evening entertainment if you ate at the restaurant in the evening; or if you enjoyed a drink or two before heading out.

We were guided by door staff to the old town which was maybe a 5 minute walk from the hotel. All sights in Trinidad were easily reachable.

I would highly recommend the walking tour and sugar cane tour.

Room Tip: Try and ask for a room overlooking the square. It does provide a very attractive view. You may hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear guest:


Thank you for your valuable feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your visit to Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed our hotel facilities.
Staff members appreciate to know that their efforts have been recognized, thank you for highlighting the high service that you received during your stay.

We are keen to welcome you again to the Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad and I remain at your entire disposal,

Carlos Lázaro
G. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prudhoe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We were on a seven day tour of Cuba and stayed two nights at this hotel, it was very good rooms clean and comfortable, food in restaurant was good, great Mojitos in the bar. Enjoyed our stay, its central to the city. would go back again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lesxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear guests:

We swould like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for having taken the time to share with us and the rest of the online community your impressions of your stay among us.

We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay, and we wish you to have the opportunity to visit us again in a near future.


Yours sincerely

Carlos Lázaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
378 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We went to Cuba on a private tour and our Agency made reservations to this hotel considering it the best in the town of Trinidad. They were absolutely right! Recently renovated, elegantly decorated, clean and quiet, a walking distance from Old Town of Trinidad, exactly what we needed.We had paid wi fi in our room but not as expensive as the Iberostar in Havana.Nice large room with view to a Plaza, very good breakfast, cool reception, helpful staff! I don't know the price since it was included in our package but could not ask for more!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimtraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear guests:

It is really nice to read the kind comments you had placed at this Webpage. We do appreciate the time you had taken to share your valuable impressions to other users.

We were delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and that you have encountered our service and installations excellent.

Once again we do thank you for sharing with us your kind notes.

Looking forward to host you in the near future,


Yours sincerely

Carlos Lázaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Excellent but doesn't quite deserve its 5 stars I think. Unfortunate that there were alterations in progress while we were there which restricted enjoyment of hospitality. The breakfast room had been moved to the dining room - too small - and the bar area was halved and dingy with a big curtain screening off the renewal work. So it was empty most of the time as it wasn't convivial. We dined in house the first night and the food and service was good but the music unbearable. We nearly left. I didn't know that a single clarinet could be so loud and bloody annoying! All highbrow stuff and no Cuban flavour. So we didn't eat there again. No music in the bar. Breakfasts not as good as some 3 star hotels I have stayed in in Cuba. I think again the alterations may have had an impact on food service. I think all beverages had to come from the bar. No coffee or hot water in breakfast room - it had to be ordered and delivered to your table. Hot water arrived lukewarm. Only hard boiled eggs on buffet. Other cooked requests on demand. Hot buffet food never hot. Staff everywhere so service is superb. Very clean, front desk is friendly and helpful. Great shower, oodles of hot water (not so common in Cuba), Free wi-fi (that's unusual) but in Cuba it's glacial! Very handy location and lots of good restaurants in easy walking distance. Very safe to walk at night but lighting maybe not the best. The manager is seemingly always in reach and seems to be constantly on the prowl for ensuring that service and standards are maintained. I saw him tuning up various staff on a few occasions (but discreetly). Nice man. We had a room facing the square on the second floor. Beautiful room.
Can definitely recommend this hotel. Trinidad can be a bit rough so staying here might be just what you need to keep your sanity intact.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the square for the view - but be warned - the square can be noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank essl20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Guest:

I have read with interest the kind and detailed account of your impressions as our guest and I thak you for the time you have taken to write them.

I wish to inform you that repair works in the restaurant could not be postponed any longer (the hotel has been running 8 years to nearly full occupancy and if we want to keep our facilities in perfect condition, they need continual maintenance)thus we have taken advantage of that period of least occupancy to accomplish them.

The change of location of the restaurant has been consciously planned to try to minimize the possible negative impact in services. Despite all our efforts in this direction, it is a fact that you did not feel satisfied with the food service and therefore I am beging you to accept my deepest and sincere apology. I wish you had let us know this reasons of discomfort in situ and surely we would have found a solution to them. Right now I can only reiterate my excuses and assure you that if you grant your confidence again will not disappoint you.

We really appreciate your comments and constructive criticisim, since especially these help us greatly in our efforts of achieving excellence in Service, that for us as hotel and for our Company Iberostar is the major premise.


Yours sincerely

Carlos Lázaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

The only premium and high end hotel to my knowledge in the historic city of Trinidad. It is situated in the heart of the City. Hotel is well maintained with all the luxury amenities expected from a hotel of this calibre. The prices are pretty high. If you like the beach, I highly recommend the beachfront hotels, Hotel Ancon or Brisas.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HasithP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear guests:

Thank you for your valuable feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your visit to Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed our hotel facilities and I appreciate as well the time you had taken to share your valuable impressions to other users.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad


Sincerely


Carlos Lázaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinidad
181.3 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 79 in Havana
3,299 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hotel Los Helechos
Hotel Los Helechos
#7 of 11 in Trinidad
218 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Ronda
Hotel La Ronda
#2 of 11 in Trinidad
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
122.5 mi away
Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba
121.8 mi away
Sanctuary at Grand Memories Varadero
179.2 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 79 in Havana
1,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad

Property: Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
Address: Calle Jose Marti y Lino Perez, Trinidad 62600, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Trinidad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Trinidad de Cuba is a 5-star hotel in the heart of Trinidad, a gorgeous town characterised by its elegant colonial architecture.The Iberostar Grand Hotel is perfect for couples and adults. A lower age limit of 15 has been set to ensure total rest and relaxation for our guests.The Grand Hotel guarantees visitors a truly extraordinary holiday, at any time of the year, getting to know the culture, the cuisine and the people.The Iberostar Grand Trinidad strives to bring together the great interest that there is in all things Cuban and a wide range of top of the range leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Trinidad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing