We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in Cuba”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Trinidad
Certificate of Excellence
Jaco, Costa Rica
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Luxury in Cuba”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We splurged on this hotel. It was the most expensive room of the week we were in Cuba and we stayed at a number of TripAdvisor top rated lodgings. It was luxurious: from the bidet, complimentary toiletries to the slippers and robes that are provided.

The rooms are large and had a sitting area with a couch as well as a lovely terrace, with chairs a table and potted bogenvelia, facing Céspedes Park. Our room had a king bed and our friend's room had two queen beds.

As with so many public parks in Cuba, many people congregate in the park to socialize and escape their hot, small apartments so there was noise from the park until the wee hours of the morning. For us this was not a problem and did not detract from our experience. The hotel is well located and an easy walk to the historical centre of the city. We had a car and the only parking is on the street in front of the hotel under the watchful eyes of the doorman.

As noted by others the buffet breakfast was lavish: they even served smoked salmon. My only problem was, in a country where the citizens experience few choices in their diet, the breakfast seemed decedent. I asked the management if the wastage was distributed in some way to others and was told "sometimes"; however I have my doubts.

If you want accommodation that is equal to any luxury hotel in the world then this should be your choice in Trinidad; however choose it realizing it is just that, a 5 star hotel that could be anywhere in the world.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janandgreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear guests:

Thank you for your valuable feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your visit to Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed our hotel facilities.

Allow me to reiterate our gratitude for choosing Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad and for taking the time to share your comments with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad



Carlos Lázaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    904
    334
    51
    15
    13
See reviews for
164
797
49
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

near enough perfect and the breakfast is to be seen to be believed.Balcony was a nice plus -staff superb -wifi in lobby ( couldn't get it in room ) -as good as the very best hotels you would find anywhere in the world. ( Cocktail to welcome was a nice touch too ).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear guests:

We are deeply pleased that you have come to Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad for your vacation and that you have encountered our service and installations amazing.

Thank you very much for your nice notes on your stay with us. We look forward to welcome you and your family soon again.

Wishing you a lovely day,



Carlos Lázaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two nights during our People to People Tour of Cuba in mid-May. This is probably one of the best hotels we've ever stayed in, truly five star! When our group arrived the hotel manager met with us in a conference room to greet us, provide us with a map of Trinidad, and explain everything about the hotel. This attention to detail was evident everywhere in the hotel and among all the employees. Our room was spacious, modern, very clean with a great bathroom. The turn down service included a towel heart, rose petals, and chocolates. The buffet breakfast was excellent. Staying at this hotel was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Austin_TX_Door
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear guests:


Thank you for your valuable feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your visit to Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed our hotel facilities.
Staff members appreciate to know that their efforts have been recognized, thank you for highlighting the high service that you received during your stay.

Allow me to reiterate our gratitude for choosing Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad and for taking the time to share your comments with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad



Yours sincerely

Carlos Lázaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a private tour of Cuba. The hotel is in a good location for sightseeing around the old city. The hotel rooms are excellent, spacious and well-appointed, and the lobby and other facilities are equally good. The service was very efficient and friendly.

Breakfast and snacks in the hotel were very good. We had dinner in the hotel one evening which was disappointing in that 2 of the meals served were uncooked and cold. Particularly disappointing as its restaurant is supposed to be one of the best.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BucksTraveller2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear guest:

Thank you for your valuable feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your visit to Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed our hotel facilities.
Staff members appreciate to know that their efforts have been recognized, thank you for highlighting the high service that you received during your stay.

On the other hand, I sincerely apologize if your dinner at the restaurant was not as satisfactory as the rest of the services, but I assure you that If you had told us the issue, we had found an immediate solution. Nontheless I have discussed it with the involved department heads,in order to rectify and improve our standards, and to reach for a perfect service.

Allow me to reiterate our gratitude for choosing Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad and for taking the time to share your comments with us.

Best regards


Carlos Lázaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

This is a western standard quality hotel in Cuba.
Breakfast is the best Ive had in Cuba.
I did not eat any other meals here as I like to go to paladars, but I hear the other meals here are excellent too.
Rooms were very good indeed, and all staff friendly.
Free wifi in lobby is very unusual in Cuba and nice to have.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Trinidad.
Take earplugs as outside can be busy until late.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afurjuney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear guests:

We want express to you our gratitude for taking the time to write the comments about your experience at our hotel. It is very nice to know that your stay at our hotel has been entirely satisfactory. We also thank you very much for your recommendation of our hotel to other travelers .

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel or to any of our Iberostar resorts.


Yours sincerely

Carlos Lázaro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed there mid April 2014.
Excellent rooms, delicious food.
Free Wifi in the lobby - a luxury in Cuba.
Staff friendly, helpful, professional.
Would go back and recommend anytime.
There was a downpour and we found umbrella in the room that was helpful.
No extra charge for use of safe in the room.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank apoptosis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear guests:

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and wish to thank you very much for your gracious comments.

Do not hesitate to contact us when you decide to come again to our Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad or to any other Iberostar.


Yours sincerely,

Carlos Lázaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed here for two nights as part of the pearl of the carribean tour. We had a front facing room but were not as fortunate as others in the group who had a balcony. No problem we shared theirs for drinks. We had all our meals in the hotel which were all delicious.
There was free wi fi which was a nice change in cuba.
There was plenty to watch out of the window, especially as it was a Saturday night!,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrendaCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear guest:

It is really nice to read the positive comments you have placed at this Webpage. We do appreciate the time you had taken to share your valuable impressions to other users.

We are also more than glad to know that you had a pleasurable time at our outlets, and that you found our food offerings deligthful.

Once again I do thank you for sharing with us your kind notes.

Looking forward to host you in the near future,



Yours sincerely.

Carlos Lázaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinidad
8.0 mi away
Hotel Los Helechos
Hotel Los Helechos
#7 of 11 in Trinidad
224 reviews
181.3 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 79 in Havana
3,373 reviews
122.5 mi away
Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Ronda
Hotel La Ronda
#2 of 11 in Trinidad
178 reviews
121.8 mi away
Sanctuary at Grand Memories Varadero
177.8 mi away
Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad

Property: Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
Address: Calle Jose Marti y Lino Perez, Trinidad 62600, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Trinidad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Trinidad de Cuba is a 5-star hotel in the heart of Trinidad, a gorgeous town characterised by its elegant colonial architecture.The Iberostar Grand Hotel is perfect for couples and adults. A lower age limit of 15 has been set to ensure total rest and relaxation for our guests.The Grand Hotel guarantees visitors a truly extraordinary holiday, at any time of the year, getting to know the culture, the cuisine and the people.The Iberostar Grand Trinidad strives to bring together the great interest that there is in all things Cuban and a wide range of top of the range leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Trinidad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing